• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

best phone / service

Reba

Lurker
Oct 30, 2010
Hello,

Wondering if I can get some unbiased advise before committing to a 2 yr contract -- I just moved to an area where I cannot get any type of internet other than dial up or wi fi. I am a total beginner with the whole tethering so pardon my ignorance...but what is the best plan / phone if I want to be able to use my phone to connect all wi fi devices including my computer, wii (for downloading movies from net flix), etc. I do not want outragous bills. If it will cost more than $105/month then not interested as I can get a wi fi plan from cricket and android plan and have both unlimited for that price.

were do you live? i see you mentioned cricket which I believe is Canada so I cant help too much on the plans, but if you plan on using your phone to tether, and you know, be a phone, Id recomend going with a GSM provider.

Just for a quick perspective from a Verizon employee, the cheapest a customer could get what you wanted without rooting their phone, it would be around 90$, if you wanted unlimited everything and tethering it would be close to 150$. not to mention the cost of the phone. Although for something like this I would recomend Rootuing your phone and using the root only wifi tether app, that way you dont have to pay additional tethering fees and have no cap. which would save you about 20$ additional over those prices.

I cant speak for the other services, and am not sure if my information is even relevent for you, but there it is anyways :p

Upvote 0
Hello,