1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Best practices for managing 3 tablets as a parent. Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eddie2424, Dec 11, 2013.

1. eddie2424

eddie2424 Lurker

I'm new to the Android world. Here is my scenario, what I've done, and what I would like to do.

I just purchased 3 tablets for my kids (xmas presents). I added my Google account to all tablets. I then added apps to the tablets from Google Play store (nice).

I want each of my kids to be able to communicate with me with messaging and email. Because of that, I created each their own Google account (gmail). I then added their individual account to each tablet. Now each tablet has 2 Google accounts.

My problem:
    I don't want my own account to be used in the tablets for email, messaging, calendar, contacts, or anything else. I only want that common Google account so I can use it in the Google Play store.

I would like for each tablet to use the 2nd Google account for email, messaging, contacts, etc. Do I use Hangouts as a way to message me? Is there something else that I could use for messaging instead? My kids don't have Google+ on each of the accounts I created.

Help! What is the best way to structure this and manage it properly as a parent?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. WoohooGuy

WoohooGuy Android Enthusiast

If you remove your Google account from the tablets you also lose any apps that are tied to your account.

If you want to be able to buy an app once and install it on all three tablets then you should make a new Google account, tie all three tabs to that account and purchase the apps. The new apps are now able to be installed on all three of the tablets and share with the kids individual Google accounts.

Depending on the android version of the tablets you may be able to profile the devices so that your account can stay on their tablets, just set to not sync.