1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Best remote access app?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by tuatha, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. tuatha

    tuatha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    166
    42
    43
    Hey,

    Just wondering if anybody could tell me which is the best app for remotely accessing your PC from your phone (android 2.1)?

    I notice there's a few available but I have no idea which to go for.


    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. eRicK89

    eRicK89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Yeah I want the same thing too!! This would be awesome if some help us with some recommended apps. If possible Free, but Paid also can :)
     
  3. tuatha

    tuatha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    166
    42
    43
    Tried out phonemypc. Connects great but it's still quite buggy. scrolling is dodgy and touch commands don't seem to work some of the time.
     
  4. powell

    powell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009

    Aug 14, 2009
    204
    117
    88
    Programmer
    PL
    Personally I use GRemote Pro, great software, it is not free but they have special prices nowadays. Works via Bluetooth on Android >2.0.
     
  5. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    Do you mean remotely controlling, or just remotely accessing files?

    If the first, then in theory all you need is a VNC server running on the PC (I use TightVNC) and VNC client on the handset. The only one I tried (can't recall the name) refused to connect for some reason, but I wasn't bothered as I can't imagine needing to control PC from phone when I have a laptop that does VNC in.

    If you're just after accessing files, then I have found one of the easiest is ftp. I run Cerberus FTP server on my desktop and AndFTP on the phone. This allows me to set user names and logins for my kids, me, other people, with different "root" directories for each and different up and download settings.

    I have access to every drive on the PC. Can't directly open files - you have to download them to the phone first and then open them. Great when you forget a document or want a specific mp3 or something.

    All the above software is free.
     
  6. tuatha

    tuatha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    166
    42
    43
    Remotely controlling. But thanks for the suggestions, also tried setting up a VNC and couldn't get the handset to connect.

    PhoneMyPC would be great if they'd iron out the bugs. So easy to set up and use.

    Might try out GRemote later, thanks.
     
  7. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    I use ConnectBot. With this I can connect to any of my machines via SSH to quickly perform any action. It's free from the Market.
     
  8. cdk118

    cdk118 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    NC
    Just installed phonemypc and it works runs pretty smooth for me.
     
  9. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    I now have my VNC working - TightVNC on the desktop and androidVNC on the handset and works a treat.
     
  10. (G)

    (G) Android Expert
    Rank:
     #308
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    751
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Take a look at Log Me In. You can control a remote computer from both another computer, and your Android phone. I've been using it to control my work Mac from my home PC and vice versa, and so far it works great.
     
  11. androrobo

    androrobo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    May 8, 2011
    3
    0
    5
  12. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    367
    35
    43
    This should also work on an Android tab right?
     
  13. nerys

    nerys Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    105
    14
    58
    I love log me in but I am flat out not paying $30 for that app. OUCH.
     
  14. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,921
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,921
    4,609
    1,108
    Male
    Unified remote if for controlling is what I use. For PPT controls I use PPT remote due to presentor view (the phone shows your notes as well). For remote acces I use Remote PC.
     
  15. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    I use the Sonos app for accessing my music server.
     
  16. Andrew smith

    Andrew smith Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Tried TightVNC. With TightVNC, you need to set up a VNC server on the computer you wish to access remotely.
     
  17. DaveSyd

    DaveSyd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    428
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    428
    62
    53
    Australia
    Good Question...

    I have tried to get this running also using Imperio Pro - but I have never got it to work let alone connect properly through the firewall? Anyone got this one working?
     
  18. AlvarezLuis

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    243
    28
    43
    The proof of the pudding is in the eating, mate.
     
  19. raidjinn

    raidjinn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
  20. colmmcgrath

    colmmcgrath Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    211
    14
    38
    Try the 'GPP Remote Control' app. One of the best remote access app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...