1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

best virtual pc client for xoom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leram84, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. IHateMyTreo

    IHateMyTreo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #61
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,743
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    1,743
    1,327
    323
    Male
    Film/TV Attorney
    Whistler BC and Los Angeles
    Well, it's definitely NOT Splashtop. Works fine within the same wifi network. But what they don't tell you is that it is impossible to use remotely over the Internet if you have a VPN. Had my IT guy work on setting it up, tinkered with router and firewall settings to no avail. Documentation sucks. Splashtop tech support finally said it was a "known issue."
     

    Advertisement

  2. dvandam

    dvandam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    162
    12
    58
    I really want to use LogMeIn because I use it on my desktops, but god**** $29.99 is insanely expensive for such an app in my opinion.
     
  3. leram84

    leram84 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    37
    0
    15
    yeah, and the more i use it, im kinda getting fed up w the user experience... the choppiness and low res makes simple tasks like scrolling through web pages a nightmare (thats on the web desktop version, the xoom actually has a slightly better scrolling experience believe it or not)
     
  4. veccster

    veccster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    473
    54
    53
    Headhunter
    Western PA
    LogMeIn is such an awesome app. Yes, $30 is expensive but it eliminates the need to set anything up. I used to use PocketCloud and it was great but we recently switched to Comcast Business Class and they added a router/modem to our network. Figuring out the ports and IP's and everything else to set up RD was not worth it. I installed LMI and it worked immediately.

    On my home computer, my wife will sometimes sit down and start working on the computer (browsing the internet). She won't even realize logmein is in full-screen and she is actually browsing through my work computer.

    On my Droid Incredible, it works OK. The scrolling is a bit weird and you either move the screen or the mouse. Neither is perfect. Because I purchased it on my phone, I can dl it on my Xoom and the interface looks different. You can click on things by just touching them...the mouse instantly moves to where you touched.

    LOGMEIN...FTW!!!
     
  5. dvandam

    dvandam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    162
    12
    58
    I agree that LogMeIn is a great application and I use it frequently on my desktop to help my dad process reports because it's a lot easier than going to his house to do it, along with diagnosing various problems. However, the fact that the desktop version is basically free and the fact that on a tablet this is more of an application of convenience rather than necessity make the $30 even harder to swallow.
     
  6. veccster

    veccster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    473
    54
    53
    Headhunter
    Western PA
    I hear ya... I want the slingbox app but won't pay $30 for it. I own a business so I can justify the cost easier. Its also a write-off. :)
     
  7. imwjl

    imwjl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    21
    2
    16
    Technology
    I am happy with my Pocket Cloud trials on both Xoom and iPad 2. I care not about sound because I use it for server admin. It has VMware support which might be significant for some.
     
  8. papermonkey01

    papermonkey01 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    154
    38
    43
    Radiologic Technologist
    Pluto
    I cannot for the life of me get pocket cloud to work for me. I get as far as the VNC pw and it tries to connect then fails out
     
  9. IHateMyTreo

    IHateMyTreo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #61
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,743
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    1,743
    1,327
    323
    Male
    Film/TV Attorney
    Whistler BC and Los Angeles
    I had the same problem with Pocket Cloud and Splashtop. LogMeIn at least works. I guess you get what you pay for.
     
  10. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    I had that problem originally- can't remember what I did now. I think I had had VNC installed incorrectly- I re-installed it and made sure I knew the password I had set. Make sure you also have ports forwarded if needed, and firewall openings for the application. Are you using Pocket Cloud's software on your PC for auto detection? There's a tester built into it that'll tell you if VNC or RDP connections will work, it's very helpful.
     
  11. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,078
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    pocketcloud has been updated for tablets !
     
  12. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    Ooh really? Do you get it for free if you paid for the pro version?
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,078
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    i woudnt see why not..... check in the market. i dont have the pro
     
  14. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    Yeah just needed to update it. Awesome much more tablet friendly now!
     
  15. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,078
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009


    do you get sound?
     
  16. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    Well I had Pro before so that wouldn't change with the update. I haven't tried actually, but I've heard the sound won't work because of VNC, not because of the client. What would you want the sound for? Cause just FYI but it's definitely not realstic to watch video through the app if that's what you were thinking.
     
  17. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,078
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    call me what ya want but i do like playing some facebook games.. Also netflix, since there is no app
     
  18. jlaw904

    jlaw904 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Cell phone sales
    FL
    SplashTop with WoLandroid to turn your computer on from anywhere. Works great.
     
  19. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,078
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    woldroid only works on your own network right?
     
  20. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    PlayOn is a *way* better option for Netflix than watching over a remote connections. Have you tried watching over a remote connection? It's just not intended for watching video. You might be able to get away with playing games, but I think even that will be too frustrating.
     
  21. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Great thread guys. I'm using PlayOn now and it's worked well for Netflix, etc. However, desktop support would be grand. However, it sounds like Wyse Pro and LogMeIn aren't quite there yet. I'm using a Xoom and Win7 Ultimate 64bit. It's that 64bit that usually causes problems. I'll have to test them out over the weekend and see how things go. Will report back.
     
  22. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    nycebo, I have win7 64 bit as well, and am using Pocket Cloud with no problems. What problems are you having?
     
  23. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    None so far. Haven't tried it yet. I was just giving the customary hrmpf when talking about expectations getting some programs to work on 64 bit boxes.

    Here's hoping all goes well tonight or tomorrow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...