1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root BEST way to back up my Thunderbolt for BAMF upgrade?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daniel178, May 2, 2011.

  1. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Hello all,

    Sorry for the n00b question, but which is the BEST, most COMPLETE way to back up my personal data, if I want to update from BAMF 1.3.2 to 1.6? I want to do a clean wipe, then install 1.6, and then restore my files/data, including: photos, videos, installed apps, phone contacts, SIM contacts, Facebook links to contacts, downloaded live wallpapers, downloaded ringtones, downloaded documents, etc., etc.

    Should I use HTCSense.com to back up? Verizon? An app? Which is the best/most complete/easiest?

    Thank you!!!
    :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. McLabia

    McLabia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,213
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    1,213
    234
    173
    Male
    Working...
    City of Sharks to the City of Live Music!
    Things on your SD card with no need to backup: photos, videos, downloaded live wallpapers, downloaded ringtones, downloaded document.

    When it comes to apps, I use titanium backup and restore my apps from there.

    Sim contacts are saved to your sim card.

    Things associated with your sync: Phone contacts and Facebook links to contacts. I would reccomend using HTCSense.com to back up these contacts, however for the most part youll have to redo most links.

    Das Bamf removes verizons contact sync app.
     
  3. BzB

    BzB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    521
    106
    93
    i use mybackup pro and it works great. whatever you use make sure you only restore apps and data. don't restore settings and the like as that may pull over stuff that's not compatible with the new rom.

    also make sure you do a nandroid for good measure in case the update goes fubar somewhere along the way.
     
  4. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    titanium and nandroid is all you really need i think
     
  5. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Thank you!
    I have titanium backup (free) is that ok?

    Could you please give me a step-by-step on how to nandroid?

    :thinking:
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Read THIS
     
    The_Superhoo likes this.
  7. McLabia

    McLabia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,213
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    1,213
    234
    173
    Male
    Working...
    City of Sharks to the City of Live Music!
    Yeah, free is fine. While the Nandroid backup is mandatory imo, you cant pick and choose things from the backup. Its a full on restore when you do it so dont think that itll give you portions back of what you had before.
     
  8. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Thank you for all the new replies!!

    McLabia or anyone:
    How do I back up with HTCSense.com? I logged in to the website (on my PC) but don't see any option to see/backup my contacts...? Or is this only done via the phone itself?
     
  9. McLabia

    McLabia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,213
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    1,213
    234
    173
    Male
    Working...
    City of Sharks to the City of Live Music!
    Your phone will sync it. Go into your phone, then sync contacts with your HTCsense. That should load everything up. Atleast thats how it worked for me.
     
  10. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Um, could you be a little more specific with this part:
    Like, maybe a step-by-step? Sorry!
     
  11. McLabia

    McLabia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,213
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    1,213
    234
    173
    Male
    Working...
    City of Sharks to the City of Live Music!
    http://www.htc.com/www/SupportViewNews.aspx?dl_id=1073&news_id=918
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    when im gonna flash a new rom,all i do is run a sync with gmail to make sure i capture any new contacts,and then run a batch with titianium backup to backup "new apps and versions".

    my texts fill up to the point i gotta empty them every couple days anyway if i wasnt changing roms :eek: i personally have never understood why folks care about taking texts and call logs to the new rom.

    when you sign in to gmail on the next rom all your contacts and calander will come back. you caN then use titanium to restore "missing apps+data"(note that this is APP data,NOT system data) after the market finished restoring what its going to.

    then you just gotta place things on homescreens,configure email,facebook,etc, and set ringtones. easy as pie :D
     
  13. daniel178

    daniel178 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Thank you!!

    Tried HTCSync, and although it seems to work fine, it seems to be more for moving/syncing stuff from the PC to the phone. I guess something else would be better for making a backup of the phone itself (ie, TiBackup or MyBackup)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...