1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Best way to organise my contacts?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by justjax, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. justjax

    justjax Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    London
    I have all my contacts on my SIM and I really want to edit and better organise them. At the moment, I have seperate entries for each persons home, mobile, work, etc. Can I combine all numbers for a person under one name? Also, I really don't like them being on the SIM as its quite limiting in terms of name length, etc.

    What is the best/optimal method for doing this? I have Outlook, so should I sync with Outlook and then edit them in outlook?
     

    Advertisement

  2. justjax

    justjax Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    London
    can anyone help?
     
  3. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    I would use Outlook, it's easy to edit.
     
  4. nacatomi

    nacatomi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    502
    82
    78
    Just use Google Contacts. They can hold all the information you want and then you'll also have an online backup you dont need to sync with your PC (its all done over the air) and if you move to another Android phone they will automatically sync down. You should be able to sign into your gmail account and create\edit your contacts on your PC to make it a little easier. Then in the phonebook you can hide your SIM contacts and only show google ones.
     
  5. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    481
    87
    53
    standup comedian
    NL
    agreed. get yourself a gmail account to store your contacts and/or calendar. always accessible, always up to date, no chance of losing your data and easy to sync.
     
  6. JustAUserName

    JustAUserName Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    I would also have to recommend the GMail account option.

    I have a contact for each person, and within that everything associated with that person - so work email, personal email, mobile number, home number etc.

    It's easy and quick to sort that out on-line using a PC, then sync your phone to your gmail account and it drags all the info in, easy peasy.

    Then when you click a contact you will be given an option of which number to use. You can also set a default option.

    The GMail account is also useful for synching the Calendar and Task List (with an app such as GTasks)

    Plus if you loose your phone at any time you'll have a backup of your calendar/tasks/contacts all on-line and up-to-date.

    You can also export all your contacts from your GMail account as a CSV file and import it into another mail application if that takes your fancy.

    :)
     
  7. charlies99

    charlies99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    46
    10
    18
    I was going to export my Gmail account after I had synced it with my phone and then tidy up my duplicates etc and reimport into gmail.

    I have a problem though that when you open the CSV all the mobiles with a leading zero drop the zero.

    How do I reimport contacts if the numbers are all wrong ?
     
  8. nacatomi

    nacatomi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    502
    82
    78
    Thats what happens when you open a CSV in Excel it tries to do clever things with formatting. You should be able to set the column as a text column not number.

    Right click the column letter --> Format Cells --> Choose text.

    This should stop it from stripping the leading zeroes.
     
  9. justjax

    justjax Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    London
    Thanks all, I'll give google contacts a try this evening!
     
  10. mercurystar999

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    56
    0
    35
    Sorry to butt into your thread but i'm getting my phone on Wednesday and i thought i'd get things ready.

    I have tried to set up google contacts but it seems that you have to have your phone to do it, is that the case?
     
  11. JustAUserName

    JustAUserName Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    You can set yourself up with a google account, get your contacts sorted out, then when your phone arrives sync your phone to your gmail account and it will download all the contacts.

    :)
     
  12. justjax

    justjax Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    London
    Okay, have I done something wrong. I went into HTC People and Imported my contacts from the Sim to Google and its copies all 115 contacts, but then when I log into Gmail and look under contacts I only have two that were previously on the account (don't really use gmail). What am I doing wrong? I'm gone into settings and accounts & Sync and the Google and selected sync and its appears to sync calender, contacts and mail, but again when I check my google contacts in gmail they aren't there?
     
  13. applefruit

    applefruit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    Edinburgh
    How long did you give it to import? Give it a few minutes. Sync manually, then wait for the sync status symbol to disappear.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...