1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Best way to update ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 00mcd00, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. 00mcd00

    00mcd00 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    So I am debating installing the current ShadowRom, but I read on their website that the new version is slated to come out sometime next week. I've never updated a ROM and don't have ROM manager premium, so I was wondering how easy it is to update a current ROM? Can you just flash over your current version or do you have to do a full wipe? Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dymmeh

    dymmeh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    55
    8
    16
    It depends on the changes the ROM dev has made between versions.
    Generally you can just flash over the existing ROM with no worries.
    However, there are times when a full data wipe is required (major changes to the ROM).

    Most times the ROM developer will let you know to wipe or not..
    Plus, titanium backup is your friend :)
     
  3. 00mcd00

    00mcd00 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Really does ROM manager tell you when you should wipe or not? I thought that dialog box came up every time. And I have Titanium Backup donate version, but it's just easier to flash over you know lol. Thanks btw.
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    If you are installing shadow rom you should wipe everything including the dalvik cache and you have to install an AOSP kernel, ROM MANAGER will not tell you if you need to wipe it will be stated on the ROM developers webpage or forum etc
     
  5. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    forgive me, as im a little newer to rooting, but why do you have to wipe everything?
     
  6. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    It prevents configuration issues when swapping between roms
     
    rcrott1 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...