1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [BETA]Cyanogen!! Landed!!! :) Go get it![Updated 7/12/2011]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by emaN resU, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. cheesebeard

    cheesebeard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    101
    12
    38
    Massachusetts
    Derp, don't see why that wouldn't work.
     

    Advertisement

  2. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Not sure but you can't put a file into an .apk file (which is basically an zip file). You can only put a file in a directory.

    Also, unless I did something wrong, OMBG's power_profile.xml is exactly the same. :thinking:
     
  3. cheesebeard

    cheesebeard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    101
    12
    38
    Massachusetts
    Yup, it seems it is. Exactly the same in fact.
     
  4. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    I've been a flash-a-holic today. Went from Miui to revnumber's unofficial cm7 but left because of the Netflix issue. At lunch I flashed Liquid Gingerbread 2.6. Left it because I kept getting my launcher wanting to close or wait. Was told that CM7 nightly 40 didn't have any wifi issues or Netflix problems...so currently I'm on it. So in the span of 10 hrs I have been on 4 different ROM's and set each up from scratch. I was bored at work. If the new miui release fixes a few things I'll be back to it.
     
  5. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    I've been poking around some other threads and it looks like something in the official nightlies broke Netflix because it doesn't even work on the latest official.
     
  6. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    239
    94
    53
    The latest unofficial broke netflix. I'm was on it to try out the"battery fix". I'm now on the latest official to compare battery life. Netflix works just fine for me.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    I think I'm going to sit tight with #60 for awhile. ;)
     
  8. Android_LIFE

    Android_LIFE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    710
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    710
    89
    88
    Male
    DJ/VJ/Video Remixer/Producer/Computer Programming
    OC California
    "Just got a confirmation that 2nd-init is functioning on the DX GB kernels. Just need to do some fix-ups. Blog post is in the works."
    @cvpcs on twitter
     
    Trooper and Airmaxx23 like this.
  9. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Sweet....
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Cool beans.
     
  11. Android_LIFE

    Android_LIFE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    710
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    710
    89
    88
    Male
    DJ/VJ/Video Remixer/Producer/Computer Programming
    OC California
  12. Android_LIFE

    Android_LIFE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    710
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    710
    89
    88
    Male
    DJ/VJ/Video Remixer/Producer/Computer Programming
    OC California
    From ^^
    "Now that we have a proper 2nd-init that doesn't give a crap what kernel it's running on, the next step is to determine a good upgrade path from the existing CM4DX to the new variant with an updated kernel. This will involve LOTs of testing, and updating libraries and files, which could take a bit to determine, but should be on the horizon.

    Who knows, maybe we'll get lucky and updating the libs will fix some of the existing camera problems? (maybe? please?)"

    Glad to hear 2nd-Init has evolved and that a proper 2nd Init has been developed to work on any kernel.
    Great news if you ask me. =)
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  13. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    I'm interested in how Cvcps plans to tackle the camcorder issue. Each OEM has come up with their own solution (since AOSP doesn't appear to have 720p).
     
  14. Rockaholic

    Rockaholic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    380
    27
    63

    I'm gonna tackle it by making a Nandroid of a stock ROM with the blur camera :p
     
  15. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    this is a big one for me...as its one of the reasons ive yet to make the move to a 2nd-init ROM...
     
    Steven58 likes this.
  16. staticfan5525

    staticfan5525 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    32
    0
    15
    I know this was already posted somewhere, but I couldn't find it by searching, and I'm not going to read through 50 pages of thread again... :X

    Brightness slider in the notification bar: why won't it come up, what am I doing wrong?

    Settings-display-brightness-automatic brightness-unchecked
    settings-cyanogenmod settings-display-automatic backlight-enabled unchecked-use custom unchecked
    Settings-cyanogenmod settings-interface-status bar tweaks-status bar brightness control checked

    Is there something I'm doing wrong here? I guess I'm looking for a slider like on miui, is it hiding somewhere and I just have to know where to slide?
     
  17. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    It's not a slider. Place your finger in the middle of the status bar (don't drag the shade down to the bottom, just put your finger on it), and drag your finger left and right to make it dimmer or brighter.
     
  18. staticfan5525

    staticfan5525 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    32
    0
    15

    I don't like that. For one, I have my status bar hidden so I have to pull it down, pull it back up, and then try to find 'the magic spot' that actually changes the brightness! And it seems kinda jerky, and I can't 'see' where the brightness is now! I like to keep it just below medium unless I'm out in the sun. Unless I'm paying close attention I forget I bumped it up and then I kill my battery even faster!!!

    There is a lovely 3/8" strip below the power buttons, above the "notification/verizon wireless" strip that is just BEGGING for a slider!

    :(...
     
  19. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Yep, it's not perfect for sure. I found it adequate, though, once you get used to how it works.

    You can always just configure the widget in the notification bar that controls brightness to use a few brightness levels that you like.
     
  20. krazykaigh

    krazykaigh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    :thinking: Hello everyone, I am a cricket customer with a Huawei. HOWEVER, my friend just switched from using a Verizon Droid Pro to an iPhone 4 on Verizon, and he GAVE me his DRoid Pro. He RESET it to Factory Settings. Now I want to root it, but when I turn it on it goes to the Verizon Activation screen. Does anyone know how to get around that? I have Android SDK on my Windows PC. I can link it to the PC and see what files are on it, but it isn't rooted. HOW CAN I ROOT THIS AND THEN FLASH IT?

    I have rooting experience as my Huawei runs Cyanogen Mod7.:thinking:

    OKAY UPDATE: I went to YouTube, watched how to Hard Reset a Droid Pro R+M+Power, but that just lets you reset the phone, not get around Activation. So, more YouTube and I found if you tap (starting w/upper left) all four corners, like twice in a row, it bypasses the Activation screen. Then I downloaded z4 root 1.3.0 to my computer, USB it onto the Droid and VOILA I have a rooted Droid Pro, that will only connect to WiFi but cannot text or anything else since no service is connected.

    NOW - Who knows how to Flash a Droid Pro to Cricket?
    Thanks

    WRONG!!! Z4 does not root Droid Pro after latest Update. So, I am working with my phone I have tried DoRootWin, Z4Root and I am about to try easyroot. ANY SUGGESTIONS?
     
  21. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    They finally have a proper camera fix that should be included in one of the next Nightlies.
     
  22. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    i dont think anyone else knows much about the Droid Pro here, do a search for their forum :)

    airmax what you talkin bout?
     
  23. LaZeR

    LaZeR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    429
    66
    53
    Internet Manager - Car Dealership
    W. PA
    [​IMG]
     
  24. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA

    You guys have to visit rootzwiki.com more often :D
     
  25. LaZeR

    LaZeR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    429
    66
    53
    Internet Manager - Car Dealership
    W. PA
    I am, I'm looking in the nightlies thread now and can't find anything about it. :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...