1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root {Beta}White Widow and Suave Smush Automatic Updater Beta.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andrizoid, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    I wish I knew java, then I could make this into an actual app. Its something Im workin on in the long term future though. So for now, this is the best I can do. I thought it was a pretty good little work around.

    Some of you know I have a website where *some* of my downloads are hosted. Once I get the rest of them hosted on there rather than multiupload etc. I can implement the actual downloads of the roms. The code is already there, just commented out till I get the direct host.

    Lots of things will be added in the very near future, and Im updating it literally every couple seconds. What i really need from you is feedback and what you would like to see in the next releases.

    Extract this file anywhere on your computer and run the script.

    This is a shell script so it will only work on linux. Sorry windows users, I dont know batch scripting. If someone wants to go through and convert it feel free!
    For now though, you may want to look at Cygwin Information and Installation.

    Andrizoids Updater 0.8.

    Current Features.
    Code (Text):
    1. echo "7 | Choose a rom to download."
    2. echo "6 | Check for reports from Andrizoid"
    3. echo "5 | Donations Information."
    4. echo "4 | Clean up files."
    5. echo "3 | Check your current rom information."
    6. echo "2 | Check most current releases."
    7. echo "1 | Update your rom."
     

    Advertisement

  2. jcase

    jcase Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    361
    261
    88
    Protip, pico has been replaced with nano in most distros. While pico should linked to nano, to be on the safe side I would personally use nano in your scripts.
     
  3. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    thank you. i fixed it in the new version.
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    no interest at all?
     
  5. fenwaynomar45

    fenwaynomar45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    96
    0
    15
    I would love this, I just don't have linux. I hope you can get this working and perhaps have someone make it into an app! keep up the great work!
     
  6. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    most of us are on windows, i think that's why you're not getting responses.
     
  7. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    580
    63
    98
    Yep, Windows here...
     
  8. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    that blows. anyone know batch scripting? i can help convert it.
     
  9. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    ill read up on it and get at you this afternoon
     
  10. ahjee

    ahjee Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    windows here as well but definitely interested in this love the W.W. ROMS and strain haha
     
  11. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    if you happened to be running smash 1.1, and you checked the updater you would see an update coming soon.
     
  12. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    140
    7
    36
    Software Engineer
    Washington DC
    You can get bash shell scripts to work on windows pretty easy. I use MSys for unix tools on windows. I add the msys bin dir to my path and just open a command prompt and type bash to get access to unix scripts :)

    There is also cygwin but I've never liked it that much.
     
  13. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    did it work for running this?
     
  14. CrazyKnight128

    CrazyKnight128 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    123
    12
    38
    This would be awesome if it worked on windows, or you could get it to work on windows. Cuz i love WW and would love to see future updates.
     
  15. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    140
    7
    36
    Software Engineer
    Washington DC
    I'm not home yet but I can try it when I am. If msys doesn't have everything cygwin will that is for sure. If I can compile ffmpeg with it a little script will work :) I'll let you know how to set up an msys or cygwin environment to run it tonight.

    I hate bat file scripting. Bash is so much better.
     
  16. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    140
    7
    36
    Software Engineer
    Washington DC
    A. Install Cygwin

    1. Download the cygwin installer from http://www.cygwin.com/setup.exe
    2. take the defaults till you get to the "packages" screen.
    Leave the default selections and add the following:
    -- /web/wget (you can search wget as well)
    -- /editors/nano (you can search on nano)
    3. once the install is finished double click the Cygwin icon on the desktop and a bash prompt will come up
    4. Type "cd c:" and hit enter
    5. you'll now be on your "c" drive.

    B. Make sure Android SDK is installed properly.

    1. Make sure that the base Android SDK is installed and that the USB drivers are installed and working. I install mine to c:\android-sdk-windows
    2. in the cyqwin window type "cd android-sdk-windows/tools" and hit enter
    3. Plug in your phone and type "./adb devices"
    -- If nothing comes up then you need to get the usb drivers installed and functioning correctly. There are other tutorials on how to do that so follow those.
    - If it works then you are ready to run the script. Extract the Updater from the zip file into the android-sdk-windows/tools directory
    4. type ./Updater

    The only thing that doesn't work is the "clear" command used to clean up the terminal. Cyqwin does not provide a clear utility.
     
  17. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    140
    7
    36
    Software Engineer
    Washington DC
    If you really want the "clear" command to work you can use this. The zip file is just a file with the following command in it 'echo -e "\E[2J"' so you can even create it yourself. Or do the following

    1. Extract the zip file to C:\cygwin\bin
    2. in the cygwin command window type "chmod +x /bin/clear" and hit enter

    now the "clear" will work and the script should run as intended.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. chaM87

    chaM87 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    Would be sweet if we could have an app that would update regularly. Would make White Widow even more popular.
     
  19. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    "Anyone running Windows who is competent at batch scripting, and would like to help get this project working cross-platform should email me ASAP." -Andrizoid
     
  20. Ciggy

    Ciggy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    210
    24
    38
    Cant wait until it's an app and we can just have a widget that lets us know when you updated the rom :)
     
  21. chaM87

    chaM87 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    I know some one who has been writing android apps all summer... If the OP pm's me with an email address I will give it to my friend. After I ask if he would be willing to make an application. If he says he would, then I will give OP his email and they can work on it together.

    Let me know.
     
  22. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    pm'd
     
  23. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    i like this. looking forward to everything you add.
     
  24. funkyfender

    funkyfender Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    124
    16
    38
    Retail
    Greensburg, PA
    Unless I'm mistaken, all this does is download the whole new rom image (if there's a newer version), push it to your sdcard, and reboot into recovery mode, right?
     
  25. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    no.
    it doesnt even do that yet lol.
    this is a super early beta build. give me some time to work on it a bit more-im halfway through a cross country move right now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...