1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Better battery life with LauncherPro

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mbell75, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. mbell75

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    I never thought I could live without Sense but I finally installed LauncherPro and I love it! Dont really see anything I miss much. The scrollable launcher at the bottom is great, as is landscape mode anywhere on the phone and the 3D app drawer. I have also noticed my battery life is even better than it was. My 1800mah battery usually drops about 10% an hour with heavy use and 5% an hour with only moderate use. Its been 4 hours since I installed LP and have used it pretty heavy. Calls, texts, web, live TV and the I have only lost 12% battery in that stretch.

    Changes I made were going down to 3 homescreens and things like Friend Stream, bookmarks and calendar are widgets rather than taking up a whole home screen. That probably saves on the battery a bit I would imagine. Not to mention the phone seems alot faster opening everything.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    I would say it wasn't the switch to Launcher Pro, but the fact that you turned off those widgets that is giving you better battery life.
     
  3. Joppie

    Joppie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    151
    37
    43
    Maybe its just me, but LauncherPro slowed my EVO down to the point it was unusable. It would take literally minutes to add one icon. Any reason why? I love the features of the app, but damn... I can't take the slowdown.
     
  4. mbell75

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    Its slow to open up all apps when trying to add one as a widget but big deal. Once its added, launching it is really fast.
     
  5. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    Can I save my current setup with Sense and all and be able to go back to it if I don't like LauncherPro?
     
  6. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Yeah you can. It saves it automatically. Im using LauncherPro right now but if I uninstall it, my setup with sense would still be there.:D
     
    JunBringer likes this.
  7. kt_91191

    kt_91191 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    I absolutely love LauncherPro. Sense was so slow on my evo for some reason. I installed LauncherPro and everything was amazingly fast. Im so happy with this I will never go back to sense.
     
  8. way2success

    way2success Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    70
    3
    16
    Do we need to uninstall the sense before installing LauncherPro? Is it possible to switch between LauncherPro and sense without uninstalling anything?
     
  9. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Nope no need to uninstall. Yes it is possible, when you first install another launcher when you press the "home" button it will show you which launcher you want to use. You can choose a default with that window. You can always download the home switcher app aswell to make things easier and manages the launchers.
     
  10. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I'll have to give it a try then, though I do really like Sense.
     
  11. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    I did too, but I love LauncherPro more. The animations when closing apps are awesome, the only thing I missed from sense were the sense widgets. But I found replacements in the market.
     
  12. Bat~man

    Bat~man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    224
    29
    43
    What are the benefits from using this? I see some people getting a little better battery life, but my battery is pretty good most days...12-16 hours, so I was wondering if there is any more benefits such as speed or anything.

    Also, I know I will lose the widgets =( but will I lose the weather animations as well since I think it is part of sense? What is "lost" from using it as opposed to gained?
     
  13. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Speed and more options. You can set how many screens you want, you can have a dock with shortcuts, and of course its alot faster. What is lost is the use of the sense widgets and yes the cool weather animation.
     
  14. mbell75

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    Battery life, speed, landscape mode for all screens and 3D app drawer are my favorites. I have the "Beautiful" weather and widgets so I can always see a cool weather animation if I press the weather icon on my homescreen if I want. Cant really think of any Sense specific widgets I miss.
     
  15. kamikazekyle

    kamikazekyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    96
    16
    18
    Something must have goofed on my LauncherPro install. I actually observed the opposite. When I had LP installed, I would loose up to 30% of my battery per hour when the phone wasn't in standby mode (drain in standby was normal). If I had the phone active, even just flipping thorugh the home screens on LP, my battery would jump off a cliff. I thought it was a live wallpaper, but even after removing that I still had the poor battery life.

    When I flipped back over to Sense, everything went back to normal. I can't figure out *why* it would do that. I liked LP, too, but until I can determine why it would murder my battery so fast I can't use it.

    Also, I noted that when I had LP installed, my phone would jump to 100% CPU constantly when the phone was plugged in and fully charged. While this didn't persist once the phone was unplugged, it was odd as hell.

    Anyway, I'm an outlier so don't let that stop you from installing LP if you're thinking about it. It was pretty nice.
     
  16. onilink

    onilink Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    when using launcher pro, is sense still running in the background? how do you disable it? or will sense stop working once you press home and say launcherpro for default?
     
  17. Dose

    Dose Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    93
    3
    16
    Yeah sense runs in the background if u go to manage apps in settings u can stop it.... but since I am trying to figure out which I like best I leave them on...and don't set a default that way everytime I hit the home key and can pick which one opens..... the only thing I don't like on lp is lack of some widgets.... mostly the people and bookmark widgets...and music too...I haven't really found a good replacement for these 3.... but I love the look and dock bar....
     
  18. mbell75

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    How many favorite people do you need? I just added the 3-4 I had on my widget to the icons at the bottom dock of LP. For bookmarks, I just made a folder on my 2nd homescreen and dropped all my bookmarks in there, open it up and there they are. I can also just launch my internet, hit menus and tap bookmarks that way too. I dont need them all sitting there taking up a whole screen. For music, I just have the widget with the music note, tap it and my player opens. Again, no need for a big widget taking up space.
     
  19. mbell75

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    Will LP still work when we get the 2.2 update?
     
  20. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    925
    129
    113
    ChiTown
    1) can you still use the live wallpapers that come with the phone with launcherpro beta?
    2) i saw some videos on youtube of launcherpro where the app drawer isn't 3D. do you have to do something special or download an addon for that?
     
  21. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Yeah you can still use the live wallpapers and 3D drawer can be turned on and off in the options.
     
  22. aschneid

    aschneid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    That's how it was with me when I was just trying it out, but leaving Sense as the main launcher. I made LauncherPro my default launcher and rebooted the phone. Since then it is fine.
     
  23. sweteg

    sweteg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    71
    10
    18
    I made the switch today and am loving it. HTC sense is inactive in the background, but only takes about 12.3mb of the ram. If you kill it in processes, it'll go back to the inactive form if you use something that has sense integrated (dialer, etc; not positive yet what). When it was active before LP, it took up around 44mb. I can't find LP in my active or inactive, so I'm not sure how much space it's taking.
     
  24. PuRock

    PuRock Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    142
    23
    38
    Gaithersburg, MD
    I haven't been able to find the answer anywhere.

    But is it possible to save scenes with Launcherpro? Because I can't do it through the regular channels, which I am guessing is only for Sense.

    What am I missing?
     
  25. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Cant be done
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...