1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"better keyboard" has trouble registering fast typing

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by jwdink, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    Okay, the better keyboard application is better than the stock keyboard in almost every way. but there is one big problem with it that i've found, and that's that it has trouble registering two nearby keys tapped in rapid succession, often registering NEITHER of them. if I try and type "that" with two fingers, I'll often just get "th"-- it interprets left thumb pressing "a" and right thumb pressing "t" as... nothing, I guess.

    Help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Penguissimo

    Penguissimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    272
    86
    53
    I've had this problem too. Any solution, or recommendations for another keyboard that handles rapid typing better?
     
  3. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
  4. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    I'm not having this problem.

    What devices are all of y'all on?
     
  5. Penguissimo

    Penguissimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    272
    86
    53
    Motorola Droid here. I just switched to Smart Keyboard Pro and haven't had the problem since.
     
  6. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Oh ok. I really like SK PRO too.

    I was thinking that it could have been a lack of multitouch on the phone, but from what I can remember the Droid is a multitouch device. Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  7. Penguissimo

    Penguissimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    272
    86
    53
    Nope, you're right
     
  8. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
     
  9. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    oops, sorry. I'm on a droid eris. The phone does have multi-touch support, and so does the application. But checking or unchecking that option in preferences does not effect the problem.
     
  10. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Try Smart Keyboard PRO.
     
  11. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    oh, I think multitouch might only be available in this application when eris gets the android 2.1 update.

    when the hell is that coming?
     
  12. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Not too sure if it even will get the 2.1 update.

    Sent from my Cliq XT using Tapatalk
     
  13. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    But there's a leak of it. Why would they bother developing it that far and not releasing it?
     
  14. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    I wish I had an answer for you. Hopefully I'm wrong.
     
  15. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    mk... but then why do you think they're not releasing it if you admit it makes no sense?

    I'll always be able to get the leak in case they don't end up releasing it, right?
     
  16. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Lol. I don't know. I just simply haven't heard of an official 2.1 update. What do you want me to tell you. Lol. I'm not saying it won't come out. I'm just saying based on the lack of news I've read that I don't think it may. But who knows.

    I don't see why you wouldn't be able to get the leak.
     
  17. jwdink

    jwdink Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    okay, smart keyboard PRO with 2.1 leak seems to support multi-touch, after restart. and is awesome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...