1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Bing Voice Search...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bwangster12, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    The more I think about it, the more I don't THINK I'm upset about Bing being the default on the Fascinate. Other than being able to say "Navigate to Starbucks" right from the search button, what can't it do? I mean for the "Navigate to Starbucks" I can just press the Google Voice Commands widget that I can put on my desktop right?

    I mean, I've used Bing search on the PC and it isn't that bad. What functionality are we missing if I use Bing search, put the Google Voice Search widget on the home screen and then make Google Maps my default?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Miky1

    Miky1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I do the same thing. I'm amazed how good the voice function is. I use it for texting because I still haven't gotten used to the keyboard, even after a week of use.
     
  3. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Yeah outside of the purist's I think many just object to Bing on general principle that Google is not default on an Android phone. Its particularly worse on the SF compared to other Galaxy S's where they didnt bing it or reduce the internal storage by 75% of spec; but those are VZW issues not Samsung.
    Overall yeah [even though I did get rid of Bing in favor of google-everything] I used the Bing a few times and it seemed decent enough.
     
  4. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    I just played with the Fascinate in a VZW store and the thing seemed REALLY SLOW. Pressing buttons took awhile to register, Bing Voice Search seemed to take abnormally long to return results... I then tried an Incredible and a Droid X and both seemed MUCH fast.

    Could this be because everyone is futzing with the Fascinate or something?
     
  5. shazbonk

    shazbonk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    24
    5
    16
    Maybe, but also touchwiz just seemed laggy to me anyway. As soon as I started running Launch Pro everything was way smoother.
     
  6. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    I've had the chance to play with a Fascinate in store a couple of times and then the other night when a friend showed me his. My feelings so far are that Bing Voice Search and regular Search are severely inferior to Google in every way. We were in a somewhat loud bowling alley and I started Bing Voice Search and it wasn't even close to understanding what I said, but Google Voice Search picked it up relatively easily.

    The other somewhat noticeable thing is that any of the Fascinates I've played with seem slow. Like, pressing buttons doesn't load things up right away, pressing the search soft button takes a second to register, it just seems a bit lethargic.

    I feel like I can edit the Fascinate (add Google Nav, add the voice search icon, root if i want to so that I can change the search botton), but the bones of the Fascinate are still Bing. Voice to text for text messages, in browsers... all that is still Bing, which is VERY crappy.
     
  7. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
  8. esn

    esn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    566
    48
    68
    construction
    South Jersey
    Bing Google who cares as long as it does the job! I haven't had any issues with my Fascinate at all and Bing works just fine!
     
  9. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    Yes!! And if you root, and use root explorer, you really can get rid of Bing for GOOD. Google everything works amazingly well on my fascinate and my sister's, also rooted and de-bloated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...