1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Bionic HDMI only putting out 720P

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kingnut, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Even when playing full 1080P content from SD card. Is the bionic limited to 720P output?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    seriously no one else uses their bionic to HDMI mirror?
     
  3. lykofos

    lykofos Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    67
    17
    18
    That's strange. I use HDMI mirroring fairly frequently for Netflix when I'm away from home and for watching movies I put on the SD Card.

    I just tested the Bionic on my TV, which automatically detects the resolution of the device hooked up to the HDMI input, and my TV is always showing 1080p when connected to the Bionic and using mirroring.

    This might seem like a stupid question, but are you sure the TV you're connecting the bionic to supports 1080p? MY girlfriend got a new HD TV for her bedroom from her parents for Christmas, but it was a slightly cheaper model and is only a 720p TV. I found this out when hooking the bionic up to it and realizing I was only getting 720p. Looked up the specs for the TV model number and it only supports 720p and below. I think a lot of people assume that all HD TVs support 1080p, but a lot of the cheaper ones are only 720p.
     
  4. SirEagle

    SirEagle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    712
    81
    78
    Akron, Ohio
    Make sure the TV is set to 1080 also. My newest one was set to 720 from the factory and I had to change the settings.
     
  5. Raynman83

    Raynman83 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    15
    0
    35
    Male
    US Navy Gunner
    Los Angeles, CA
    My 37in HDTV was one of the cheaper models and it only supports 720p...my phone supports higher resolutions than my TV...this phone is stupid cool.
     
  6. desmofan

    desmofan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    195
    13
    38
    Sorry to hijack this thread, but I checked this on my Bionic as well. It is outputting both 720p and 1080p, but the frame rate does not keep up over the HDMI out. On the phone, the picture looks amazing and there is no stutter. Over HDMI out, the picture is not as crisp (on both my 60" HD TV and my 27" monitor), and the frames stutter a lot.
     
  7. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    all of my TV's are 1080P. i dont see how the bionic's would have different native output resolutions. because you are not able to change them in settings.

    can anyone else confirm the resolution they are getting?
     
  8. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    see this is weird because i thought it would change to 1080P. when i play true 1080P content from the phone and mine doesnt. is yours switching to 1080P when your playing a movie?
     
  9. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    wow nevermind. i just tried my other tv and its saying 1080P. my bedroom tv is the one that is showing it in 720P. im gonna try a different HDMI input on the tv and see if i can get 1080.
     
  10. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    mine plays full 1080P smooth man. what are you trying to watch in 1080P? and what program are you using?
     
  11. desmofan

    desmofan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    195
    13
    38
    I just downloaded a couple of test files to my Bionic. The Alexander movie trailer in both 720p and 1080p, and played them simply by opening the files. The signal was very grainy. My TV does not display what resolution teh signal is, so I can't tell what it's actually receiving.
     

Share This Page

Loading...