1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Bitten by the ROM bug!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gonzoguy24, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    Just got done getting Third Wave the way I like it...made a backup and am now flashing Skyraider vanilla (Came from moto droid) and im pumped! I will probably miss sense and go back but I love all the options!!! I do miss being able to just restore data with nandroid backups on droid...made flashing..soo...easy. I am afraid to try this with the Inc...Anyone do this ever?
     

    Advertisement

  2. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    we maybe able to do that in the future when all of the roms are similar thanks to a real rom being released and not leaked ones
     
    gonzoguy24 likes this.
  3. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    Thanks bro! :) Yeah I don't want to mess around with doing that...Glad I did not try to cut corners...Titanium backup for now :)

    EDIT: Made a backup today while at work and so I started flashing skyraider bout...25 minutes ago and all is up and running :) Time to play!
     
  4. drjrdemelo

    drjrdemelo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    I've heard of, and experienced, issues reflashing data from apps when moving from both 2.1 to 2.2 based roms and from sense to vanilla (and vice versa) roms. I agree with yojoe600; once we see some version stability it should become a viable option.

    Just my $.02 :)
     
    gonzoguy24 likes this.
  5. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    Thanks dude...Yeah if i was moving from sense 2.2 to sense 2.2 ROMS I would have considered it but...just not worth the risk right now...
     

Share This Page

Loading...