1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Black Borders on sides of movies

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by teknonoob, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. teknonoob

    teknonoob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Firefighter
    Hawaii
    Need help with converting dvds for my DX. I've been using handbrake to convert my dvds to watch on my DX. I seem to always end up with black borders on the sides of the movies and there is no way to resize the movie using the default movie player. I have found and app called "soul movie" which will fill the screen with the movie, however, when I do that the movie gets stretched and the people look a little fatter:eek:.

    I've tried to follow guides online using handbrake and it converts the movies but I continue to end up with these borders. My picture settings are as follows:
    Anamorphic: Custom
    Modulus: 16
    Display Width: 854
    PAR Width: 854
    PAR Height: 720
    Display Size: 854 x 480

    Cropping: Automatic

    What am I doing wrong:thinking:?
     

    Advertisement

  2. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Black boarders are a result of the aspect ratio being different than what the Droid X's screen is.

    You can't change aspect ratios without cropping out part of the screen or stretching it.

    In all likelihood, what you're watching is movies that have been filmed at a different aspect ratio than the DX screen.
     
    teknonoob likes this.
  3. Jayme

    Jayme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    362
    13
    38
    Near PDx
    I use the real player app. It shows movies full screen. :)
     
    teknonoob likes this.
  4. teknonoob

    teknonoob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Firefighter
    Hawaii
    Am I able to do this with handbrake? I see cropping and it's set to automatic, so the selectable margins are grayed out. If I select custom the options become available. Would you have an idea of what these numbers need to be if it's doable?
     
  5. teknonoob

    teknonoob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Firefighter
    Hawaii
    I'll check that out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...