1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Black screen + glowing button

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cuem, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. cuem

    cuem Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hi everyone !

    I hope someone here can help me out.

    Device : i9000 from Bell, running a 2.2 roms (flashed)

    After powering off and on the device, I got a black screen + glowing button.
    I tried flashing again with 512.pit, still didn't fix this, I've tried over 50 combinations of pit and pda files, the phone doesn't want to respond!
    In Odin, everything seems fine though, it says suceeded.

    After hours of research, I found out that my internal SD card might be messed up, so I tried and followed this guide #7 :
    SOLVED: messed up partitions on internal storage - CyanogenMod Forum - Page 2

    ADB doesn't reconize my device:mad:
    Anyone know a solution?
     

    Advertisement

  2. beer-in-box

    beer-in-box Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    219
    12
    38
    Turkey
    Same happened to me while I was trying to flash something new. I went to recovery mode and formatted my internal SD card. It seemed phone was installing a corrupt update.zip or something like that, that thing was on my phone but there were no way to erase it. So I formatted and flashed again. This time it was working.
    I think it's worth to try?

    I will not flash ROMs for a while :)
     
  3. PeteDee

    PeteDee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    190
    6
    36
    Same thing happened to me and I cannot get into recovery mode, nothing, dead as a post after the splash screen.

    All in all just another brick in the wall.......................................

    What do I do now?
     
  4. cuem

    cuem Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    As long as you can go into download mode,it's not over!
     
  5. TJS22

    TJS22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    29
    1
    36
    You will need to reflash your firmware.
     
  6. cuem

    cuem Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Please READ!!!
    I said flashing again doesn't fix this issue, I even bricked my phone after trying an AT&T rom( stupid me ), I unbricked it with a homemade jig.

    I'm following this tutorial
    [Tuto] FROYO (I9000XWJPA) pour Galaxy S : Installation, root et lagfix | TUNANDROID.com
    It still doesn't help, it boots directly on clockwordmod, and if I follow a simple guide to get back 2.1 official rom from, screen goes black+ glowing button.
     
  7. PeteDee

    PeteDee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    190
    6
    36
    This still doesn't work on a phone that the three button recovery does not work on though, if you can't get into download mode you are screwed it would seem. :thinking::thinking::thinking:
     
  8. sonal2612

    sonal2612 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010

    Dec 3, 2010
    2
    1
    6
    hey the same thing happened to me.i rooted my phone and did one click lag fix .i also installed ext2.i wanted to upgrade to froyo .it is essential that there is no lag fix on the phone in order to update.so i undid lag fix....and i uninstalled ext2.naturally the phone became really slow.but i didnt unroot.for soem reason i had to switch off my phone.when i tried switching it back on .thats all it showed me.a blac screen and glowing buttons.i finally took it to the service centre and got it reformatted. i am stupid enough to go through the whole process again.you know unroot and OCLF.i just wanna know if this sort of thing happens again.is there some way i can reformat the phone myself without having to go to the service centre?...and why did this happen in the first place.lag fix and ext2 seems to be working perfectly for other users.is there something that im doing wrong?.please help.
     
  9. shaahinjjj

    shaahinjjj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    103
    7
    36
    is the phone recognized by your pc when connected to your computer? if yes, youre good. just use ADB to get your phone in download mode. same thing happened to me too. remember you should have all samsung drivers installed before testing to see if your computer recognize the phone or not. most likely it will. mail me if any questions shaahin.flamenco@gmail.com
     
  10. softpinkishlips

    softpinkishlips Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    77
    0
    15
    ive been experiencing this as well. but after reading your solution above i dont think i can do it. im not that techy .....sad
     
  11. barbou

    barbou Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I just got the same problem. I have updated to Froyo 2.2 2 days ago.
    A day later it turned off by itself for no reason.
    On the second day (today) i used the phone earlier and turned it off.
    My phone is not rooted, has never been flashed or unlocked. Did nothing special to it.
    When I turned it back on it could not boot pass the animated screen.
    After several tries to reebot and fiddling with the volume buttons I got the yellow triangular panel with the Android handling a shovel (like a road panel oictogram meaning "Android at work" and the message "Dowmloading... Do not turn off Target!!!". What to do for here ... if I ever get it back.
    Note that I am in the search for a phone plan so I do not have a phone connection rigth now.
     
  12. androidlovers

    androidlovers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    11
    0
    35
    heyy i have the same problem but mine did come on the first few times but when i entered my pattern lock it went blank after a few seconds and this happened everytime i tried, and then i tried vol down and power with battery out and it froze on the s glowing and that happens everytime now? is there anything i can do please help and i have no idea about all the softwares and hi tech solutions, so please helpp !!!!!!!!!
     
  13. Shine.

    Shine. Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    213
    33
    43
    Da 'Rock
    Happened to TWO of my phones, Flash a stock firmware for your area and bring it to your carrier and say you were updating via kies and it shut down! Works everytime
     

Share This Page

Loading...