1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Black Screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zbersch, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. zbersch

    zbersch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    My phone has been rooted simply for the fact of needing a wi-fi hotspot. I have the original droid bought on 10/10. Last night, I was trying to get a custom rom on my Droid, because I noticed that moving in-between the menus on my stock droids firmware was near impossible.


    So I installed RomManager, and tried to install smokedGlass on my Droid. It didn't work the first time and had to recover it via clockworkmod. I still have these recoveries on my SD card.

    Now, I tried it again when I got home for the night. I downloaded the rom via RomManager, and now when I power it on, it shows me the motorola logo, with nothing more. You can see that the screen is backlit, and the phone has power to it.


    What are my options here? I have tried restoring, but to no avail. Also, When I hold the powerbutton + x, it does NOT show up with clockworkmod, just android system recovery.


    I went to verizon already. They are sending me a new droid tomorrow, but I would much rather get my old droid working again if possible.


    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. gallandof

    gallandof Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    did you do a full wipe of data and cache before doing the nandroid restores? if not try that.


    if that doesnt work. you best bet and safest would be to flash an SBF to the droid which will bring it back to bone stock. you will lose all data on the phone but 99.999% this will fix it for you. Just make sure to study how to flash SBF a good deal first.
     
  3. zbersch

    zbersch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    tried an SRB flash...no luck.
     
  4. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    What's a "SRB flash"? Also, that's a good one. It's just like this:

    "call an autoshop and say "my car doesn't work, can you tell me why?" what would they say..."

    but there is still hope. Try the manual method of flashing CWRecovery back to your phone. I have a guide at my site under "advanced guides" that tells how to do it for SPRecovery, all you have to do is go to my 'droid files' and find a CWRecovery file and subsitute that one instead and once done restore you latest working CWRecovery backup.

    After that make absolutely sure that you make a backup AND wipe data/cache between flashing.

    good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...