• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Blackberry to HTC Hero - yay, or nay?

Redflea

Android Expert
Oct 6, 2009
Hi:

Hero newbie here...

I'm currently a Blackberry user (the Pearl, smallest BB made, had it for 2 years), and have decided I want a larger screen and better browsing capability. I use the Blackberry "BIS" service, which means that I don't have wireless sync w/my company's exchange server - I sync contacts/calendar/notes via bluetooth with Outlook on my PC, and get email OTA of course.

So I've been thinking about the Blackberry Storm2 to get a larger screen, etc., but when I saw the news today that the Hero is coming to Verizon I did a double-take. :)

I've done some research and the interface and user customization available on the Hero look just great, best I've seen to date.

My biggest concern is how it will work for managing my Outlook email/contacts/calendar/notes, and multiple gmail accounts.

So what I'm curious about...

1. I have four gmail email accounts - I assume I can set up all four on the Hero, correct? What is the max number of email accounts I can set up on the Hero?

2. I can not sync my Outlook calendar/contacts to Google due to company security issues, so I can't use the Hero's Google wireless sync capability. Will the Hero Sync app allow me to sync Contacts/Calendar/Notes from Outlook to the Hero via USB?

3. If I modify a contact, calendar event, or outlook note on the Hero will Hero Sync sync the modified back the update to Outlook?

4. If I receive an Outlook meeting invite on my BB, it automatically appears on my BB calendar, meeting reminders appear, etc. Does the Hero have the ability to automatically add new meetings to my Hero calendar when meeting invite emails arrive on the phone?

5. Any issues w/setting up a work email account (Exchange) on the Hero? (I do have IMAP access to my work email account.)