1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support blank screen can't do the reboot with vol +power

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrbaffled, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    hi there im a little baffled at this i was sending a text then all of a sudden my screen just went blank tried holding down volume down key and pressed the power button at same time. and tried both keys up and down at same time still no joy only got a ever so slight of a flicker as in white then never returns . even if i timed it right never works. it worked for me in the past it came up with 3 androids then pressed reset but not now .

    if any help could be achieved i would be ever so grateful

    i only get the front 4 little icons on desire hd nothing else no light on touch screen i hear phone rnging and hear textes but cant see a thing .
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Sounds obvious, but have you tried removing the battery, re inserting, then turning on again?
     
  3. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    hi yea i have done all that im kind of stuck to be honest im running out of ideas so came to you guys for advice
     
  4. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    even bought a new battery and new sd card still same
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    It sounds like a hardware fault and you're going to have to call in the warranty unfortunately.
     
  6. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    thing is its out of warranty ,
    i have had this problem before were it goes comes back but this has been 3 days now no idea what to do now
     
  7. RED_

    RED_ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    209
    8
    36
    Student
    London
    They will still fix it if its out of warranty but they will charge you. Don't expect it to be cheap if its something to do with the LCD.
     
  8. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    hi red ill be perfectly honest i dont think it is the screen it was an update i put on it cant mind which one it was called i just remember clicking on the update then all off a sudden after reading a text it went blank on me plus it came up low battery power so put it on charge over night still nothing just a very dull back light which is very dull to see in background it flickers white
     
  9. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    well, if you have a backup handy, and have Radio S-OFF [ACE PVT SHIP S-OFF RL]

    Just use an RUU (since you dont have to see whats going on on the phone to control it) to wipe and reload the phone, then root, and restore.



    If its unrooted, well then you'll loose whatever data that isnt stored on your sd or synced with the various accounts (which is just a time consuming annoyance)

    Hopefully if it is just a software issue (and not the adreno 205 soc or lcd) then you'll be able to see everything once again.
     
  10. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    hi there jsl i would like to give this a bash im with t mobile which ruu would i be looking at if you could help me here thanks
     
  11. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    were you rooted/s-off'ed or no?

    If not, then it's probably this RUU

    http://www.multiupload.com/R2YN3PR63B

    which then [If you want to root] you can use CuBz method to update the 2.37 build to the one that can still be exploited, downgrade to 2.36 (rather than the 1.32) and then root


    If you were rooted and s-off'd prior to the problem (and want to have the ability to root)
    Go for the 2.36.405.8 RUU in my thread here: http://driphter.com/index.php?topic=3867.0
     
  12. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    what does s rooted or off mean please
     
  13. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Rooting your device is gaining superuser access.

    S-Off is related to the rooting process.
     
  14. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    ok im the superuser sorry about that lol
     
  15. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    ok ill try the megaupload first just downloading it the now ill get right back to you if i fail on this one jls
     
  16. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Do you mean you went through the process of rooting your phone? This means that you would have an app called "Superuser" in your app drawer and you would be able to install custom ROM's on the phone.
     
  17. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    hi no i mean im the user of my mobile its a contract phone which has no insurance on it
    the bill is under my brother n laws name which i pay the bill for this phone to him
     
  18. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    In this case, you would have to follow JSL's directions for non-routed devices. I don't have any experience in this though, so can't give you any advice on it!
     
  19. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    Hopefully thats the version that he has on his phone, and it'll simply overwrite the existing software. Thats the latest version i've been able to find for t-mobile uk.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  20. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I thought as much - didn't know 100% though!!
     
  21. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland
    hi jls it came back saying

    the rom update utility cannot update your android phone

    please get the correct rom update utility and try again
     
  22. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton

    do you remember which software version you had before you started getting the issue of the blank screen/flicker? (was the ota update to 2.42? 2.50?)
     
  23. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland





    im unsure do behonest i just remember a thing on top saying update cant mind what it says to be honest jls
     
  24. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland




    i shall do thanks for your time
     
  25. mrbaffled

    mrbaffled Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    39
    3
    16
    scotland



    also forgot to mention on the update rom software it came up saying error 140 bootloader version error
     

Share This Page

Loading...