1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Block a website

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Arun45, Mar 29, 2016.

  1. Arun45

    Arun45 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016

    Mar 29, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Dear all,
    My name is arun.someone bother me and open a perticular website on my mobile.i want to block that website on my mobile from all the browsers.please help...
     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,513
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,513
    13,634
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    KOLIO, mikedt and Mikestony like this.
  3. Arun45

    Arun45 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016

    Mar 29, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    This method doesnot work
    In last step it say....error to save new host file....see some attached screenshots..
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,339
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,339
    8,582
    1,053
    Drafter
    Yeah, I don't think that you can edit the host file without root because it's a system file. Maybe it's possible through adb or terminal emulator or another means; @scary alien, any thoughts on that?

    You may have to resort to a 3rd party app, or check your web browser settings and see if there is an option to block a website.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,282
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,282
    23,583
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Spot-on there @Brian706--as far as I know, you'd need root access or an otherwise insecure hosts file to add/update an entry in there.
     
    Brian706 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...