• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Bluetooth keyboards for Gingerbread (2.3.5)

I'm new to Android devices, but very impressed so far. I just purchased the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 and would like to use a Bluetooth keyboard with it. I bought (and returned quickly) a roll up keyboard that sort of worked for about 30 seconds. I'm now thinking that a one-piece, non-foldable keyboard is the way to go. However, I'm confused. There is either very little information out there or conflicting reviews. I'm now looking at the Logitech BT keyboard for Android 3.0, but I have no idea if it'll work. And, I'm confused. I thought Gingerbread (2.3.5) was the newest OS. So, what's 3.0? Will the Logitech keyboard work on my Galaxy Player? Of course, where I live, there are very few stores that handle any technology, and of those, they either don't carry BT keyboards or it's a very limited selection (only for iPads and other Apple devices). (BTW, I love Apple products, but I think the Galaxy Player is a much better choice than an iPod Touch.)

So, will the Logitech 3.0 keyboard work? Does anyone have any other suggestions (especially for the budget conscious buyer)?

Thanks!

Alright, listen up! The Logitech, or Apple or almost any bluetooth keyboard WILL work technically. I use them with my Flyer running Gingerbread.

There is one thing however, not all keys work right. Caps lock for example, the shift key acts like it does on soft keyboard. Double tap and caps lock. Arrow keys are also messed up.

Edited to add:

DO NOT BUY THAT KEYBOARD IN THE CASE! IT IS USB NOT BLUETOOTH!

Upvote 0