1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Blur Type Dialer for CM7?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xmike, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. xmike

    xmike Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    169
    24
    38
    Loving CM7, but not the aosp dialer. It has no speed dial and I need that as my fiance expects many calls through the day lol. I've tried dialer one and its ok, but I was wondering if anybody had suggestions for a dialer with speed dial. :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    What launcher are you using? I have my wife's number set so that an up swipe of the dialer calls her directly.
     
  3. Prevlin

    Prevlin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    68
    16
    18
    CAD Designer
    Salt Lake City, UT
    CM7 has the ability to add gestures to the lock screen. You can setup a gesture to call your fiance without ever leaving your lock screen. I've got one setup to call my wife. Pretty nifty stuff.

    Just go to CyanogenMod Settings > lockscreen > Lockscreen gestures > build gestures > add > click the pull down and select shorcut or activity then select direct dial and choose the contact. once selected swipe the gesture you want and it will work from the lockscreen.
     
    Steven58 likes this.
  4. xmike

    xmike Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    169
    24
    38
    Using LPP. That's a good idea. I do have it set to do that on lockscreen (love cm7). Just wish I had speed dial for my other contacts though.

    Hey Airmaxx can I flash one of the circle battery icons over the themes in cm7, or will that nut things up? TIA
     
  5. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011

    Feb 17, 2011
    20
    3
    16
    Or try the GO dialer or another dialer app
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    or dl the garkginger theme ;)
     
  7. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    wait...there is no speed dial on the AOSP dialer at all?...i find it hard to believe that...
     
  8. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313

    I've been through the dialer and call settings and can not find anything for speed dialing.
     
  9. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011

    Feb 17, 2011
    20
    3
    16
    AOSP dialer has never had speed dial
     
  10. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,067
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    Yup. Its not a feature on he AOSP dialer. Try dialer one from the market. Its a great dialer.
     
  11. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    bah!...that is an absolutely unacceptable failure on the part of Google IMO...how a smart phone could not have a feature that ive had on every DUMB phone ive ever owned is just flat out PATHETIC...

    one more check mark in the Blur side of of the Blur vs AOSP argument lol
     
    droidfan1 likes this.
  12. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Maybe I'm not understanding what a speed dialer is, but doesn't the AOSP dialer have a "favorites" tab? Is that not a speed dialer?
     
  13. SaurusX

    SaurusX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    179
    35
    43
    I think what Metfanant is referring to is the predictive dialer. That's where you start punching in someone's number or spelling their name and it quickly comes up in a list.

    Dialer One will do what you want, but it doesn't look at slick as the AOSP dialer.
     
  14. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    yes the fav tab is there. Speed dial is where u can assign a # to a contact and thus just have to press 1 # to dial it. not a biggie in my book.
     
  15. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    "speed dial" by definition is...

    long press a button on the dialer...and it calls a contact tied to that number...

    THAT is what speed dial has always been...

    i LOVE the predictive dialer...and will miss the crap out of that...but that is not what im talking about...

    nope, not a biggie...but still pathetic to be missing such a basic feature...
     
  16. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    I guess I can sorta agree, but I rarely even use it so lol.
     
  17. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    i rarely use it as well...however..its such a basic function...its just ive never actually owned a cell phone that has not had speed dial lol...

    im almost positive the original Moto StarTAC had speed dial :eek:

    im sorry...but im just laughing at Google right now...pathetic...
     
  18. friguy3

    friguy3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    25
    4
    16
    THIS is what I really miss. How there is predictive dialer? I think this is the one thing I really miss on CM7. So painful to call someone since all you had to do was start typing their name and poof, up came their number. Tried Dialer One and just didnt like it as much. The Blur dialer, sad to say, was great at this.
     
  19. xmike

    xmike Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    169
    24
    38
    I've been using the lockscreen gestures to call certain people I call a lot, and that has been a really nice trade off. Also set the aosp dialer to go to the call log when it opens and the people I usually call are right there. So, I'm learning to live without the blur dialer, but it would be nice if it had speed dial and predictive dialing built in.
     
  20. rehpyc

    rehpyc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    622
    53
    78
    +1 for Dialer One

    The dialer is the only Blur element I like in which I can't find a better alternative
     

Share This Page

Loading...