1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Boost Hotspot??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by danielmike, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. danielmike

    danielmike Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    155
    41
    43
    Male
    web developer
    Been thinking of getting this phone for a while now.. Finally was able to buy it friday!! I usually root to use teether, but since it has the option for a boost hotspot I wanted to ask you guys if you use it and if so how realible is it and what kinda up an download speeds it has?? Happy that I got a new gs2 and not really ready to root it yet, so if you can help me out with some info it would be much appreciated!! Thanks my android community and friends!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #202
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    the boost hotspot will work as any other. speed and dependability is determined by your service. it will vary at different times and places
     
    danielmike likes this.
  3. danielmike

    danielmike Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    155
    41
    43
    Male
    web developer
    Thanks Kevindroid.. I was just looking for an alternative to root for a little while.. Because this phone seems really responsive without running mod or ram scripts!! Im very impressed and like Boosts GS2..So can I activate it by turning it on inside the app or do I gota call Boost and have them activate the hotspot?? Thanks again!!
     
  4. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #202
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    Your welcome. You can use the computer and activate that add on. You must increase your account by $10. It will activate on your next cycle. I didn't root until I had this phone figured out. For root only there is an apk called framaroot. Enjoy your phone
     
    danielmike likes this.
  5. greg schmeg

    greg schmeg Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012

    Oct 8, 2012
    531
    157
    93
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Ya. Just root ur phone and get WiFi tether app. No need to pay an extra 10$ a month for something u can get for free when rooted. Unless I'm missing something here.
     
  6. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    Some people (Not me) would rather not root their device (hard to understand I know lol)
     
    danielmike likes this.
  7. greg schmeg

    greg schmeg Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012

    Oct 8, 2012
    531
    157
    93
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Dude... that's an extra 120$ a year... root your phone. :)
     
  8. danielmike

    danielmike Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    155
    41
    43
    Male
    web developer
    Lol!! Thanks guys.. I didnt mean i wasnt gonna root it, just wanted to wait.. Thanks for the root info Kevindroid!! Thats good info that I was gona be looking for.. An I also agree with the both you other guys.. Some like this phone without rooting it and rooting to save the money is cool to.. Every phone iv owned I rooted so I could dev without restrictions!! Thanks for replying friends! Peace...
     

Share This Page

Loading...