1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [boost] Join LG Developer request bootloader unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NeoZiggy, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. NeoZiggy

    NeoZiggy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    398
    154
    108
    Male
    Overnight Slacker
    San Antonio, TX

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    #1 NeoZiggy, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  2. dip_spit

    dip_spit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016

    Mar 10, 2016
    24
    23
    28
    You're probably better off asking Sprint, no?
     
    NeoZiggy likes this.
  3. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    732
    225
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    I have to agree with dip_spit here. As much as I'd love to argue this point, it may be better to get a phone that can be unlocked out of the box, like some htc and Nexus models. That's the beauty of Android, there's always some model that can be unlocked. The best anyone can do for this phone is to have the T-mobile/metroPCS model (or an unlocked international GSM model, if there is one), which has twrp and some custom ROMS. If I'd have known that, I probably would've gone out of VM USA. Maybe next time... :)

    Good luck to you.
     
  4. NeoZiggy

    NeoZiggy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    398
    154
    108
    Male
    Overnight Slacker
    San Antonio, TX
    I bought this one the day I lost my LG Volt. I didn't have time or make time to research. It was between this, Volt 2, and a Samsung with 1.5GB RAM. I went with this because of the larger screen and stylus (that I never use unless I'm trying to show off).

    Do you think Sprint would help since we just piggyback off their network? LG creates the firmware for the carrier but would Sprint have the power?

    I keep looking for stuff related to the G4. Isn't that the closest model?
     
    #4 NeoZiggy, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  5. dip_spit

    dip_spit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016

    Mar 10, 2016
    24
    23
    28
    Correct. Sprint has the final say. Also, no, Sprint is borderline assuredly not going to help as they requested the phone to be set the way it is in the first place.

    Yes, the Stylo is closest to the G4 it even says G4stylus in the build.prop
     
    NeoZiggy likes this.
  6. NeoZiggy

    NeoZiggy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    398
    154
    108
    Male
    Overnight Slacker
    San Antonio, TX
    I haven't used kingroot since I bricked before moving SuperSu to /system. Other then that I only used Kernel Auditor and AdBlock.

    I am kind of old school, win3.1/DOS and familiar with Linux. My question is can we obtain and decompile the boot image? I know KR only gives limited root access but if on tmobile a .IMG file gets pushed to replace the boot image why can't we mod it?

    I've searched for a way to manually unlock it and all I can find is booting to fastboot with oem flash unlock commands. I know to root manually it's about finding a way to execute code in a directory with permissions. How is this different and how can it not be done manually?
    Maybe you can shed light in this gray area for me...
     
  7. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
    If I remember correctly it's not something LG can solve anything about. If I'm not mistaken our bootloader is encrypted on Sprint Variants, which is the reason adb reboot-bootloader doesn't work. LG cannot provide a way. Only Sprint could but they've clearly concreted their point with their locked bootloader policy
     
    NeoZiggy likes this.
  8. kdraw44

    kdraw44 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    578
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    578
    223
    113
    Male
    Welder/Pipefitter
    Macon, GA
    Why is sprint so adamant about LG and ZTE boot loaders being locked but not HTC and Motorola.
     
    ScarletRooter, NeoZiggy and jmacie like this.
  9. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
    A friend of mine owns a ZTE (forget which model) but he has cricket wireless, which is a Sprint Variant! Bootloader's completely locked down, Reboot bootloader doesn't work through adb commands or even from the recovery options just like on our Boost and Virgin Mobile Devices. I've never had an HTC device or touched one so I wouldn't know, but that doesn't sound reasonable. Are HTC's cheaper or something?
     
  10. dip_spit

    dip_spit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016

    Mar 10, 2016
    24
    23
    28
    Cricket is an AT&T subsidiary. Cricket has completely done away with all CDMA devices; becoming GSM exclusive. Every HTC I've owned except for like two have been junk. The main problem that we ran into when building CM for them was camera driver issues, bluetooth, finicky wifi, etc. Also, yeah, in my experience they were marginally cheaper than their counterparts. But for that cheaper price you got less storage (barely enough to function), shit proprietary drivers, and the damn HTC Sense crap.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...