1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Boost limits data to 2.5 GB per month

Discussion in 'Boost Mobile' started by lowki, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. lowki

    lowki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    36
    4
    36
    Due South of Hell
    I just found this at the bottom of the boost web page. They are throttling us at 2.5 GB. This is what it said.

    " Sprint 4G (WiMAX) Series: Boost Mobile reserves the right, without notice, to limit throughput speeds when monthly data usage exceeds 2.5 GB. When a Mobile Hotspot plan is purchased, the data usage limit is combination of phone and Mobile Hotspot usage. Connectivity dependent upon compatibility and speeds may vary. Customers will continue to have data access but maximum speeds may be limited to 3G speeds of 256Kbps or below for the remainder of the monthly plan cycle. During this time, customers may experience slower page loads, file downloads, and degraded streaming media. Throughput speeds will be restored when your new monthly plan begins. Coverage not available everywhere."


    In other words, they gut your connection like a drunken fisherman with a trout. " ooh, yeah. Do you like that? How about when I do it like this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    Not a surprise. Now, with 4G on Boost and Virgin, this was inevitable
     
  3. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    I am OK with the throttling. Peeps over-using data are clogging pipelines for the rest of us.

    If you want 100GB of data, PAY for it.
     
  4. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,494
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,494
    3,159
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    For some of us, this is our fastest internet connection
     
  5. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL

    If Boost doesn't throttle data speeds for overboard users (who take bandwidth away from their core Sprint users) they really have 2 options:

    1. Cancel accounts of overeboard users (not realistic as those users could create new accounts) or
    2. Raise prices for everyone (prepaid services are flat rate based)

    I really like the value Boost offers and I am willing to bet the vast majority would be extremely upset if overboard users forced price increases.


    I pay $39.95 a month for 550G of data at around 3.5mbps download speeds (Comcast) and would love to cancel but understand the viability.
     
  6. wcsc12

    wcsc12 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012

    Jun 19, 2012
    20
    2
    16
    Honestly, this didn't really bother me. I mean, I use quite a bit of data per month but I don't tether. My data usage is all just playing games and browsing the net. I can deal with waiting a few more seconds for my mobile web pages to load.
     
  7. illnovah

    illnovah Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hey, could u explain this to me?

    I just signed up for the hotspot add-on for my EvO Design

    I'd like to sign up for NETFLIX and watch movies thru the PS3 but will that highly effect the cap or is the 2.5 for like downloading content only?
     
  8. guyphs

    guyphs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    269
    116
    68
    Well, it just says that they reserve the right to throttle. Don't know if they are actually throttling anyone yet. I use a ton of data and haven't experienced any slowdown. If they do decide to throttle, you'll be limited to 256kpbs for the remainder of the billing cycle. And I imagine that would apply to any data that's coming through your connection
     
  9. cg1324

    cg1324 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    34
    1
    16
    Just wanted to say I have virgin mobile and have used more than 10 gb of 4g and still no throttling. I think I have read that sprint has an agreement with clearwire until 2015 for unlimted 4g WiMAX service.
     
  10. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    I would imagine they don't throttle unless your area is near 'maxing out.'

    Not much incentive to throttle if everyone is happy and the limits of bandwidth are not being tested.
     
  11. rockdoctor1

    rockdoctor1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    140
    46
    43
    I had read (somewhere) they do not count into the limit the data that you pull off 4g. I guess since they pay clear for the 4g access they don't care how much you pull from them.
     
  12. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    Then why isn't Boost offering decent phones instead of overpriced has-beens for 4G?

    The S2 is around $70 more than other carriers and the EVO Design was a laughable image of the EVO V 4G, both sold at $299.
     
  13. ZingBot

    ZingBot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    471
    157
    68
    The disclaimer about throttling 4G data has been in the T&C on the website since they first put that "4G available" thing on the site. I remember seeing it the first day and was rather easy to spot. So they have not been hiding it and did not just recently add it. To my knowledge, 3G data is not throttled or even threatened to throttle.
     
  14. rockdoctor1

    rockdoctor1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    140
    46
    43
    Don't have a defendable answer for you. I would suspect it also has something to do with their contract with Clear plus the pre-pay gives Sprint an avenue to get rid of unsold stock. I wonder if they are trying to charge a premium for the 4g access by charging more for the 4g able phones.

    In honesty, if it wasn't for the shrinkage i would have gone Virgin with the EVO 3D (for quite a bit less in money). All i am waiting for is a descent price on the S2. I do have to say paying for tethering does irritate me...At least with Virgin they give you an extra gig of high speed for the money...
     
  15. kolosus

    kolosus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    923
    341
    113
    PA/NJ Usa
    I tether at work (6 days out of 7) and pull in about 2-3 hundred megs a day. Boost has never given me issues. Granted that some days its busy and I'm not online as much but that's my average. If they throttle I'm not aware of it.

    This might be in the TOS for later when they really start clamping down... Right now its still unlimited and if they're throttling I'm not aware of it... Granted Sprint speed is not as good as Verizon... oh well. I'll be ok.
     
  16. hopedpocketts

    hopedpocketts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #736
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    117
    23
    38
    Male
    NONE
    south west florida
    Throttled now. Just got a text saying i exceeded my data cap. Now limited through put till next Billing period.
     
  17. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,416
    664
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    I noticed on the Boost Mobile webpage under Account Details you can see data usage. It's a link you click on by Shrinkage status.
     
  18. trim81

    trim81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    29
    5
    16
    What's the speeds?
     
  19. trim81

    trim81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    29
    5
    16
    I don't see it on three of our accounts (california)

    None shows data usagd
     
  20. rockdoctor1

    rockdoctor1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    140
    46
    43
    I don't have this on my account either. I only use about a gig a month. Maybe if you don't bump against the cap they don't bother to tell you your usage amounts.
     
  21. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,416
    664
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    Here's a screen shot. I didn't notice until I payed my phone bills the other day. I have 2 Boost Phone's, and have the Data Usage link on the right side of both accounts under Shrinkage Status. When I click on Data Usage, a smaller window pops up detailing my current usage.
     

    Attached Files:

    • data.JPG
      data.JPG
      File size:
      262.1 KB
      Views:
      29
  22. rockdoctor1

    rockdoctor1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    140
    46
    43
    I wonder if it is because you are on an older plan? Mine is $55 4G plan with shrinkage and there has been speculation that Sprint does not really know how much data you pull though Clear... I bet Trim is also on a 4G plan...
     
  23. mrleroybrown

    mrleroybrown Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012

    Dec 28, 2012
    206
    19
    38
    Male
    Goat Herder
    Somewhere east of the mississippi
    No, they are throttling. I've been throttled as of today...and this may not just mean slower speeds...for me it it has meant no speed. Unable to connect to google play or to access any webpages.
     
  24. trim81

    trim81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    29
    5
    16
    I'm on the $50 shrikankge plan with an incognito (non android plan)
     
  25. SulkyAndroid17

    SulkyAndroid17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    333
    145
    68
    Male
    College Student
    Uhmerica
    I'm over the cap by a good amount. I still haven't been throttled. All on 3G. I was thinking it might have been cause I paid my bill before it went into effect. Or maybe not. I suppose I"ll find out later this month.

    And having no speed would mean being capped not throttled. Also I wonder if this is just the same ole throttle tactic with the data folder. If your rooted, try deleting the throttle folder under system/data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...