1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] cyanogenmod

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NyteRukh, May 6, 2014.

  1. NyteRukh

    NyteRukh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    126
    4
    56
    hi as i said im running a rooted boostmobile samsung galaxy s3...brand new to me. and to root the phone i used Philz Touch 6 and right under it it says Clockworkmod v6.0.4.7 now i can find instructions how to install it..just not sure itll work with what i got.

    Also i went to getcm.com and downloaded the installer for cyanogenmod and the installer says that the samsung galaxy s3 is an unsupported device...is it safe to click continue anyways ????
     

    Advertisement

  2. rickpcb

    rickpcb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    448
    265
    88
    Male
    St Augustine, FL

    Philz is clockworkmod. Just touch with more features. Skip the cm installer. Download the zip over WiFi and flash through Philz. Then flash the APN fix. Then gapps.
     
    NyteRukh likes this.
  3. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Look through this thread. You'll want the d2lte builds for the S3. After you've flashed it you'll need the APN fix by MopedRyder.

    CM11- This is the link to the d2lte build. It is what you will need.
    http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=d2lte

    APN FIX -
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6517837

    GAPPS-
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=44417509

    You will also need the GAPPS. I recommend the PA 0-Day mini modular GAPPS. Flash the GAPPS right after flashing the ROM. I would stay away from the Google full package GAPPS. It removes a bunch of AOSP features.

    Steps to flash.
    Download ROM, GAPPS, and APN FIX to phone.
    Boot into Philz.
    Select factory reset. Then choose install a new ROM
    Flash CM11
    Flash GAPPS
    Flash APN FIX
    Wipe cache (optional)
    Wipe Dalvik (optional) - the Factory reset /clean ROM install does this for you. I'm old fashioned and still do both cache wipes. :D
    Reboot
    Profit.

    EDIT: Changed CM11 link. Changed to d2lte build link.
     
    Zayny, NyteRukh and Kreatur3 like this.
  4. NyteRukh

    NyteRukh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    126
    4
    56
  5. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    You're very welcome. There's also a THANKS tab on the bottom of a post. If someone has helped you out, hit that THANKS tab. Thanks :)

    Also, I have updated my post. The CM11 link will now take you to the correct d2lte build page instead of the Sprint builds.
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
  6. NyteRukh

    NyteRukh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    126
    4
    56
    When I flash cm ill get tapatalk:)
     
  7. NyteRukh

    NyteRukh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    126
    4
    56
    probably a stupid question...should i flash the rom...reboot then flash the others, or it doesnt make a difference
     
  8. NyteRukh

    NyteRukh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    126
    4
    56
    ok no need to answer...i answered my own question lol :smokingsomb:
     
  9. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    You don't necessarily have to but I do. Sometimes if I flash all at once I get issues I don't get with separate flashes.
     
    NyteRukh likes this.
  10. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    The only thing I ever really flash together are the ROM and GAPPS. I then reboot and go through the setup process. Boot back into recovery and flash a different kernel if I choose or the Comadose mod.

    I just flashed a ROM last night along with the GAPPS and the APN fix and everything booted up perfectly. That's about as much as I'd flash at one time.
     
    steelyus1, Kreatur3 and NyteRukh like this.
  11. NyteRukh

    NyteRukh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    126
    4
    56
    should i download that MMS Fix for tw roms and flash it so i can get better more consistant 4G speeds?:thinking:
     
  12. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    That's only for TW ROMs.
    The APN fix by MopedRyder should take care of all that with CM11 and other AOSP ROMs. The speed depends on a lot of things. Location, signal strength, number of users pulling data off the tower you are on at the time, time of day, and most of all, the ROM. These nightlies are all experimental. One build may actually have better 4G speeds than the next. It all depends on what the Devs have changed.
     
    NyteRukh likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...