1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Finally installed Slim Kat

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Modman, Apr 29, 2014.

  1. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    I already have Fabio degrasso wifi tether working perfectly on stock. I really don't want to lose my ability to tether. Is there a tethering program that works in slimkat or can I use an add on tethering app that is confirmed to work?
     

    Advertisement

  2. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Evidently you missed my post about posting the same question in 2 different threads.


    Edit: one of the best places to get a question answered about a specific ROM is in the actual ROM thread. ;)

    The Wifi Tether Router app has worked on every ROM I've tried it on.

    Maybe some of the guys here who are running Slim can help you. If not, read through the ROM thread.
     
    Modman likes this.
  3. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    The actual rom thread? Is there a slimkat section? Or do you mean rom section in all things root guide? Sorry if I sound stupid I didn't notice a slimkat rom section. Thanks for answering so quickly . Sorry for the double post. I posted separately then I noticed that that guy that uses slimkat I think rickpcb, post that hotspot works perfectly in one post but did give any details about whether he used a tether app built into slimkat or another wifi tether app.
    Also seems weird that there are no tech blogs when I google saying much about configuring slimkat. Slimroms.net forum had an unanswered post about tethering.
     
  4. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    Yes the all things root guide. Just click on the rom and it will bring you to the thread. Most all are from XDA site. As for the double posting, when asking a question in another thread just wait a bit and they or someone will answer.


    I'm not sure if I am allowed to close threads or not, if another guide or mod can let me know this thread should be closed now being no where to move it to. Thanks!
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  5. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    That makes sense but I'm having a hard time finding slimkat. Does anyone know if 4 G works properly on kit Kat also?
     
  6. rickpcb

    rickpcb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    448
    265
    88
    Male
    St Augustine, FL

    SlimKat is on XDA. Downloads are on the slim web site. And as previously stated more than once, 4g works perfectly... Have you tried the search tool at the top right of the forum as we keep suggesting? Or even a quick Google search for SlimKat d2spr will answer every question you keep asking...
     
    Modman and wetbiker7 like this.
  7. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    4G works perfectly. Tethering works. Which app do you use for tethering? If Exchange would work with this rom I'm gonna be a happy camper. Planning on trying nine exchange and tethering right away after flashing.Friday is gonna be a fun night. I already downloaded all the files in to folders for flashing on my pc. You mean search on phandroid or on xga? I also downloaded xga app onto my phone also. Yep ok so wifi tether works
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2400593&page=118

    Glad I bought it already only thing that could be a deal breakers msexchange needs to work gotta search for that well I'm gonna flash it friday after I make a n android friday when I have time and just try it if not
     
  8. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Just a heads up. If you have access to a pc, I recommend using it to do all of your downloads. I have an S3 folder set up where I keep everything related to my phone. ROMs, kernels, themes, bootanimations, mods, apps, PRLs, modems, recoveries, recovery backups, Titanium backups, etc, etc, etc. Your jaw would probably hit the floor if you saw what all I had in my S3 folder. LMAO. You never know when that stuff might come in handy. :D

    Viewing the Android Forums and XDA websites are much easier from a monitor too. I love using Tapatalk on my S3 but it doesn't allow you to see everything a monitor will. ;)
     
    Modman likes this.
  9. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    I try when I can. I can also use my tablet to remotely access my pc

    May i make a suggestion. You can skip the need for a pc except for the initial recovery flash. You can use quickmount and back all your stuff up to an external usb hard disk. Just order otg cable on Amazon.
     
  10. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Loving this rom so far
    Only thing is it seemed like I was having a hard time
    Keeping a data signal. Is there a 4G fix for slimkat?
    Or is it just that sprint service just sucks. I went over my limit and now I'm being throttled.
     
  11. rickpcb

    rickpcb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    448
    265
    88
    Male
    St Augustine, FL

    It's the same 4g fix we've been talking about the whole time... Read. Between this forum and the SlimKat post on XDA all the info you need is right in front of you. Also keep checking slimroms.net for updates. Check the change logs for the weekly builds to see what's new. What build did you flash?
     
  12. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    You shouldn't suggest it in this thread. You should definitely make a new one in case someone comes along that can't read current threads and so makes new ones for everything already covered.
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  13. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    The 4.4.2 build. Does the APN fix fix 4G?
    Seems like in business areas I get LTE which
    I guess is same as 4G. Does APN fix also fix MMS?
    So far everything working good. Boost sucks some places but I think I had 3g a lot before even and 4 G only certain places. I flashed slimkat gapps and APN fix. Got weird messages from philz about device no longer rooted. Ignored it and enabled root through developer options cause I remembered reading about it. Installed super su ran root checker then everything was fine. Got tethering working through Fabio degrassi wifi-tether-router. My exchange server has been down so unable to test Exchange mail yet.
    Also not type of person not turned on by weekly builds.
    If everything works stable might not flash again till stable version of lemon merengue or what ever is coming next. Unless you or someone else tells me about some knock your socks off feature that I think I can use.
     
  14. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Not sure why the touchstones don't work correctly on automated phone systems.

    Like systems that say push 2 for Spanish etc.
     
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    That's a question that should be asked in the SlimKat ROM thread.

    No sense starting a thread with a question having to do with a ROM. That's what the ROM threads are for dude.
     
    smith058, Kreatur3 and Modman like this.
  16. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Having a hard time finding it.
    Can you give me the correct link.
    Not purposely trying to sound stupid
     
  17. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Modman likes this.
  18. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    You're running roms you can't even find the thread for? Maybe you should get an iPhone? Please, for the love of God, stop making threads already covered elsewhere. Thanks. You're making a lot of threads and clogging up the forum.
     
    kevindroid, wetbiker7 and smith058 like this.
  19. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Dude I am It professional telling me to get an iphone is a personal insult.
    Worse than telling me to eat feces and die.
    Please do no mention iphone here this is phandroid.
    I will try to ask questions in the forum.
     
  20. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    That was the point.

    IPhone...
     
  21. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    In the Dial app there is a dotted button where you can enable a two minute timeout. That fixes the issue with dialing extensions. Don't want to knock the slimkat ROM creator because everything else works great.

    Just want ask Why in heavens sake is this not enabled by default?

    I could have uninstalled a great ROM because
    Of this stupid frustrating issue.
     
  22. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    Maybe you should take your complaint about that rom to its thread. Nothing gets done by complaining about it here. The official thread has been linked for you. Do you now need someone to go to your house and click it for you?
     
  23. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    I merged all of the threads to do with slimcat together.
    We need to try not to make threads for every little thought we get.
    The links to just about everything is in the stickies.
     
  24. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Quite frankly I posted both here and there to no avail.
    Figured it out. Once upon a time phandroid was a one stop shop for info. Now I have to weed through xga and the internet for answers. At least they are out there. But on my older phone all I needed was phandroid. Aka android forums.
     
  25. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    I hear that! But the devs that made all these are from the xda forums and we just use the stuff here, the ones that make the stuff will have the answers. One thing is if you make a thread about lets say, slimcat then ask all your questions in that thread instead of making a new one for every question about the same rom. We all look at every new reply to all the threads so it will be seen. Now an answer might take a while if no one knows the answer.
     
    Modman likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...