1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] galaxy note 3 keyboard installation

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cornelljdavis, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    Last month I ran wicked sensation 4.3 tw ROM which was great like everyone said. However I miss one thing about and thats note 3 keyboard....I liked it a lot. I want to know does anyone know a way to install it onto the g3? Sorry for the long post just wanted to say what was real and that ROM is real good.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Check MyHub on Wicked Sensations. I thought I saw that keyboard available for download.
     
    cornelljdavis likes this.
  3. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    I don't got that ROM anymore that's why I'm asking.
     
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    OK. Try just getting the keyboard apk and installing it on the ROM you are running now.
     
  5. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
  6. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    Thank you. However there is a problem parsing the package....
     
  7. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Good to know. Didn't try it myself, this was just the best looking option that a Google search came up with!
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  8. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    So did you end up getting it? It really is simple to get bro. All you need to do is find the keyboard apk. If you know of a ROM that had it just pull it out of the ROM, put the apk on your SD card, and install it.

    Didn't Wicked Sensations have it as an add on?

    Do you know how to pull the apk from a ROM zip? If not and If you know where it's at, let me know where and I'll get it for you.
     
  9. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,432
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,432
    672
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    Capn069, struckn and wetbiker7 like this.
  10. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    Naw bro I got a parsing package error when I found a apk link. I don't know how to pull the app from a ROM. My guess is use titanium backup and convert it to a regular app and back it up and just install it on the new ROM backinto a system app. If that's not how teach me please or send me a link or something I can learn to do so from. When I was on wicked sensation I didn't fiddle with mods I just wanted to rum 4,3 tw and use my camera while on the phone but using my camera on the feature did not work even though it was one of the features. Anyways even if they did have it in my hub like people have said I wouldn't even thought to look there.
     
  11. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    Thanks bro. I'm sure it's not much difference however I jus like how the auto correct can learn from your text messages and the row of numbers on top of the keyboard.
     
  12. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    OK bro. Here's what's up. To pull an apk from a ROM you must 1st have 7zip, Winrar, or Winzip. Once one of these programs have been installed you will double click on the ROM and it will open. You will see a folder labeled SYSTEM. Double click on it and open it. You will then see a folder labeled APPS. Doubled click and open it. You then locate the apk you are looking for. You will be able you drag the apk out to your desktop with your mouse pointer. Easy peasy bro. :) Let me know if you have any questions.
     
  13. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    Coo....I mean can't I do that with root explorer?
     
  14. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I don't see why now. There are several ways you can do it. I just like doing it on my computer. It's easier.
     
  15. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    Coo....i will try it.
     
  16. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    I can't find the keyboard apk any where in the system app folder
     
  17. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    The name for the keyboard app in most ROMs is usually LatinIME.apk, at least for AOSP ROMs.
     
    Capn069 and wetbiker7 like this.
  18. cornelljdavis

    cornelljdavis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    213
    5
    36
    Male
    It was only the Google keyboard
     

Share This Page

Loading...