1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] [Guide]How to change your MSL and PRL (Not CDMA Workshop)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by marke123, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. sb43

    sb43 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    903
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    903
    337
    113
    Male
    Carpenter
    Front Royal, VA
    anybody got any recommendations for my area?
     

    Advertisement

  2. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    Sadly, I have not.:(:mad:
     
  3. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    I'm running 60686. Its decent. May be good for you.
     
    sb43 likes this.
  4. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    This is great software and everything I put a windows XP laptop together just for this kind of thing. But unfortunatly for me, after all the work of installing programs and learning how to use them, getting my msl# from the phone, etc. I flashed different prl numbers off and on all day, with no sucess at all. My phone works the best with 61009 and it's the one boost updated me to, I finally updated my prl and profile with the phone update tool only to get back to a semi good signal. This post is for information and data gathering only.
     
  5. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    EDIT: Yes all the prl's flashed correctly, I checked them on my phone after every flash. The guide to find msl# and the software to flash prl's is AWESOME!!! I was able to follow along and do everything with no problems, It's just that nothing worked any better for me is all. I read all the articles about what a prl is and what it actually does also, I still had to try anyway!!!
     
  6. cartersball

    cartersball Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    352
    171
    68
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    NC
    Hey Lil, did you try all of these? The link below is for my personal Dropbox PRL stash. 25006 seems to work great for me. Not sure where you are.

    http://db.tt/CMNv9vc9
     
  7. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    Well, Since I am an expert at flashing prl's now, It won hurt to give it another try!!!:smokingsomb:
    But I need to slow down on these cigarettes!!:smokingsomb: I believe they are from Canada!!:smokingsomb:
     
  8. mrmooney

    mrmooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    108
    4
    36
    anyone have sprint 21090 prl
     
  9. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
  10. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    Sorry, but all those numbers I've already tried:(
     
  11. cartersball

    cartersball Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    352
    171
    68
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    NC
    No need to be sorry. I'm sorry I couldn't help. It sounds like you are in a very weak signal area, by the description you gave of only getting 1x data after each flash, maybe another good Boost PRL will get released soon. Have you made any other 3g tweaks? Changed proxy servers? Vocoders? I hope you didn't do what the OP of this thread suggested, that will cause a few issues as well.
     
  12. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    According to the coverage map my area should be saturated with 3G and 4G. I tried some build prop tweaks that helped a Little. But I stayed away from the vocoders.
     
  13. AndroidMutt

    AndroidMutt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Web Developer
    If you are with Sprint, just call them up stating you are having very slow internet connection issues and sometimes you have no internet connection. They will take you to the phone dialier, have you enter ## and some numbers, and then ask you to enter an MSL number. Just write this number down as they tell you what it is and their you have it. No fuss. :)
     
  14. UnknownUser1

    UnknownUser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012

    Jun 19, 2012
    1,268
    144
    143
    Meid calculator and open your phones back cover and write down the needed numbers. Reboot and use the app problem solved
     
  15. mac42

    mac42 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011

    Nov 6, 2011
    143
    62
    73
    Male
    Grand Rapids MI
    Has anyone that has changed their msl had any contact with boost customer service? And what's the point in changing it.

    Isn't the msl like "THE" password to the phone? And if its not the same and your having to deal with support they might be a lil confused why you msl isn't what the have it as? Just a dumb question?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm really sorry that I'm late to this.

    Changing your msl code is a galactically bad idea.

    Why are you doing that?
     
    LilBit likes this.
  17. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    So that you can remember the number easier. Social code or phone number. Something you know off hand. At least that's what I understand..
     
    LilBit and EarlyMon like this.
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    That's not even wrong, it's so wrong.

    MSL ought to be left alone.

    It's tied to the ESN.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  19. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    I did it because the directions to the software required it, I just reversed it, then flashed a whole bunch of different PRL files, none of them gave me a better signal or faster 3g. I changed the prl back to the one boost gave me through the phone update option. That was months ago. My phone has operated fine, I flashed a few different roms since then though. The best setup so far I have is the CTModRom Noobed. I still have a different msl than the one the phone came with. If I knew that changing it was a risk I never would have spent 2 whole days trying all that flashing and stuff. But, It didn't seem to affect the phone,for good or bad.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  20. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    Maybe someone should put a disclaimer in the 1st post of this thread to warn people? I followed the instructions to the letter though, and everything actually turned out fine, except I didn't get any better reception, service, faster speeds or anything really. I pretty much wasted 2 days on the project. I just checked my msl # and it is still the one I changed it to.

    Phone is working the best it ever has with CTMod 3.75 noobed.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yeah, disclaimer is there.

    You did very well.

    The FP said, don't know if 6 digits are required (most definitely is), keep a record of your original (we're human, mistakes happen), and the question about carrier support came up - take your phone in for help, and if they're doing their job and notice the discrepancy, they won't think you changed your MSL. They're more likely going to think that you have a stolen phone with someone else's ESN.

    None of which is an issue for the extremely conscientious who won't take their phone in.

    For those of us known to make mistakes or misplace things, I think that the disclaimer makes sense.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  22. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,308
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    Whew!!! I thought I maybe in some legal trouble!!! My phone is over a year old now, so I prolly wont be taking it in for service!!LOL!! Thank's EarlyMon!! I do have the original, it's just thereverse of the one I changed it to. Lot easier to remember!! Plus I wrote it down. :rolleyes:
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  23. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    I don't know if I'm allowed to ask this but by doing this am I able to take the MSL and or ESN of my old Virgin Mobile phone and put it on my old Sprint phone thereby flashing it to Virgin Mobile? (P.S. Again forgive me if this is against the rules.)
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    That's a transfer. Retire the Virgin Mobile phone for good when done, move its appropriate stickers to the Sprint phone, and today, you're legal, last I checked.

    Sell the Virgin Mobile phone or use its esn again in any way, that's cloning and is illegal.

    Whether this is a complete method, sorry, don't know.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  25. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Firstly thanks for the reply :) secondly no I don't plan on selling the phone if I do the transfer. But like this is my scenario, currently I own a retired Samsung Intercept from Virgin Mobile and a retired Samsung Epic (1st gen) from Sprint. My intent is to take the MSL and ESN (along with the CDMA evdo .prl) from the Intercept using this program to put them on the Epic thereby flashing it to Virgin Mobile. To my understanding from what you're saying it's legal as long as I don't sell the Intercept after the transfer. And this method would work? (Sorry for the extensive comment haha)
     

Share This Page

Loading...