1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] [Guide]How to change your MSL and PRL (Not CDMA Workshop)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by marke123, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36

    Advertisement

  2. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    You can use dfs tools to do it.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  3. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Using the files from Yahoo or taking the stickers (ESN/MSN) from my old phone to the other?
     
  4. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    I'm not sure what the legalities/rules are for this forum, but one would essentially flash the esn and meid from the donor to the phone one would use. One would want to make sure they backed up the old numbers in case of an accident.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  5. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Thanks for the response and this can be done by just using DFS Tools?
     
  6. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    But yes the guide from Yahoo should suffice. Yes, I've flashed a fascinate from Verizon to straight talk using only dfs tools.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  7. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Okay great so your recommendation would be using DFS Tools right? Also the Yahoo Guide flashes the PRL should I be concerned about that while using this method?
     
  8. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    Yes, you'll want to flash a virgin prl.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  9. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    That's the one from the Yahoo Guide right? And DFS Tools can be used to flash it? (Sorry if I'm annoying you)
     
  10. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    Yes, yes sir.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  11. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    BigBossman likes this.
  12. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Thank you so much for all your help I really appreciate it :D (I looked at the guide over at XDA but it's for the Epic 4G so I don't know if that's the original one or not. I have the old one with the keyboard.)
     
  13. chrisjv3393

    chrisjv3393 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    342
    33
    43
    Male
    U.S Army Military Police
    This method worked for me on the zte warp sequent. Thanks
     
  14. EagleLink

    EagleLink Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    Did not work on my ZTE Warp

    Also did not work, there is no variable, at all, in getprop that has the MSL code.

    This worked flawlessly! I must note for everyone else though, DO NOT get your MEID from *#06#.

    Boost mobile changes the MEID in that screen, probably to try and trick us.

    When I looked at my MEID in *#06# (So I didn't have to take the back off) it looked like this (Just an example)

    123456789876543210

    when it should have been

    123456789087654321

    Notice that they took the 10th character and moved it to the end. Now, it could be just my phone, but I doubt it. And I know the MEID hasn't actually been modified in the phone because the MEID on file with Sprint/Boost is the one under the battery, not the one with the numbers rearranged.

    I hope this helps other people looking for their MSL code.
     
  15. jeffbortnichak

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013

    Feb 5, 2013
    37
    2
    16
    how come i cant get this download to work? are you installing dfs to your computer or the phone? i tried the dfs 4.3.1.0 and it will install to my computer but wont open. installation get aborted when i try to intall to my phone and zip it in recovery. i got the idfs 12 to download on my computer but the format is diffrent from the pics and when i try to flash it on my phone installation gets aborted.
     
  16. h20

    h20 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    143
    22
    38
    000xx0x0x000
    Daytona Beach FL
    install on pc
     
  17. jeffbortnichak

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013

    Feb 5, 2013
    37
    2
    16
    when i download dfs on computer and install it i try to open it and it says

    code 740. operation needs elevation? it will not open
     
  18. h20

    h20 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    143
    22
    38
    000xx0x0x000
    Daytona Beach FL
    try to redownload make sue latest Java is installed don't remember but i think it uses java maybe
     
  19. 00ffej

    00ffej Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    85
    22
    18
    No offense but if you can't get dfs running without issues you probably shouldn't be using it. One small error, and your phone is useless.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  20. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,306
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    I would have to agree,:eek: be very carefull!!:D
     
  21. gadgetdaddy

    gadgetdaddy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011

    Oct 17, 2011
    15
    3
    16
    You should be able to get your MSL using DevTerm and while your at it inject your PRL's

    Please hit Thanks if this helped!! :)
     
    ¿kernelpanic? and bitnet like this.
  22. schleima

    schleima Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    40
    6
    16
    THANK YOU SO MUCH to aenoch and wetbiker7!

    I used these wonderful directions to fix the PRL on my LG Marquee (I was roaming for 3 days).

    Cheers!!
     
    LilBit likes this.
  23. schleima

    schleima Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    40
    6
    16
    I too got this to work on my Marquee after having lost all Sprint service.

    Here's some details on how I worked through the sometimes confusing process.
     
    Doc and LilBit like this.

Share This Page

Loading...