1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] help! boost s3 return to stock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jesse1160, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. jesse1160

    jesse1160 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hello everyone, I rooted my boost s3 using twrp and Odin (I am a noob so please don't attack me) and I want to return it to stock so I can update it.

    Please help, I have no idea what to do here and I can't afford to mess up my phone.

    Thank you so much for your help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,391
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,391
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    1) TWRP replaces the recovery firmware, it doesn't root the phone.

    2) Odin is a technician's tool and, like most technician's tools it has no safeguards built into it and relies on the knowledge and the experience of the technician to prevent errors. You can use Odin to do anything to the phone, except damage the actual hardware. But you can totally wipe out all the firmware.

    And it's not the way to root a phone.

    3) "Return to stock" really doesn't mean anything in the way you're using it, because there's nothing to return to. It's not like turning the page of the book back to return to the words on the last page. You made permanent changes to the phone - you can't "unmake" them. You'll have to find a flashable ROM of the stock firmware and flash it. (I'm afraid that any more fooling around trying to fix things, even if you think you're following the directions carefully, will just result in more damage.)
     
  3. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    There are stock ROMs you can flash that are 4.3.. No sense trying to go back to complete stock (recovery and all) to take the update when you can easily flash a 4.3 rooted ROM. Just my opinion. :D
     
  4. jesse1160

    jesse1160 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    All I want to do is get the 4.3 update. Do I need to install a diff 4.2 to do that? When I select install now it restarts to twrp and I can't find the upgrade from there. What should I do?
     
  5. jesse1160

    jesse1160 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thank you so much! Do you have any idea where I can get a boost 4.3 firmware ROM? I appreciate your help so much!
     
  6. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  7. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    What you are saying is not entirely correct. If the gentleman rooted by flashing twrp with Odin and then flashing Supersu with twrp, then he certainly is rooted, which is an acceptable method. Additionally, he did not make permanent changes to his phone. Anything you do short of hard-bricking beyond repair can be undone, except getting rid of the Knox bootloader(for now). OP, if you want the official update, which I advise against, then simply flash the MG2 tar that's floating around on here(or even MD7), using Odin, and you will have undone everything you did. Then just let Samsung update you. My suggestion is you use twrp to flash PhilZ recovery and flash the Knox free 4.3 update for your carrier.
    MG2 Tar
    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...114-mg2-kies-recovery-file-virgin-mobile.html

    MK5 Flashable 4.3 Knox free
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2546505

    Just read the instructions carefully and you'll be fine. Good luck
     
    struckn likes this.
  8. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,391
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,391
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Permanent, as opposed to "just flip the switch and it "reverts to" the older <whatever you flashed>. People don't understand that flashing a recovery or a ROM wipes out the original - there's no "returning to", you have to repeat the same process with what you want to "return" to. (I try to fit my answer to the apparent experience level of the person asking the question. More experienced and knowledgeable readers, such as yourself, may notice a simplification that makes the answer technically correct, but a hex dump of the code to fix his problem would be useless to him.)

    Even that can be, if there's no hardware damage. (Not always with software - it sometimes takes hardware to stuff firmware into a totally hard-bricked device. At very worst, even a 2 byte tight loop can be fixed with a CPU emulator.)

    Yeah, well ... The more stupid the idea, the longer it takes to figure out how to get rid of it. But you CAN flash ROMs to the AT&T and VM GN3s now. And Samsung has admitted that Knox has a security hole you can drive their building through.
     

Share This Page

Loading...