1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Is there a fix for volume in cm?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alpha2k, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Just curious if there was a fix for the sound level or volume level in ROMs such as cm, carbon, etc...

    I've tried numerous eq apps but can't seem to find one that works. DPS doesn't seem to even work even when it comes pre-installed with the ROM.

    I tried viper4 android, and while it works, it's a real hit and miss if it works or not.

    I had it working fine before on this exact room cm11, and it stayed even after rebooting. I decided to try another ROM, the ROM didn't work out, so I went back to this one again. It was so loud last time I set my alarm, and about fell out of bed. Scared me! It was as loud or even louder than stock touchwiz is.

    Now it seems as if it doesn't wanna stick after reboot, and sometimes doesn't even get activated when playing music, when it did before.

    Keep in mind the sound level is so bad that road noise while in a car drowns it out and I miss calls. Also almost didn't hear the alarm this morning.

    Is there another way or app to fix the sound volume level?
     

    Advertisement

  2. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    527
    213
    SoCal
    MOAR Rom has an option when installing...

    Increase volume:
    0% (normal)
    50%
    100%

    I use 100% and I love that option.. Works great for me
     
    struckn likes this.
  3. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    There is also an Xposed module called XVolume30 which allows for more incremental steps when adjusting phone and media volume than what just the ROM allows. I think you can actually define it to allow 45 increments between low and high, the original setup was for 30 incremental steps, hence the name.
     
  4. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Yeah, that's Touchwiz, and everything works in touchwiz.
    This is with Aosp/cm based roms. It's been a known issue for quite some time.
    Some fixed it with viper4android.....and it's nice....when and if it works, as I said it's a hit and miss, very spotty.

    Gave that a try....didn't do a thing, other than give the volume slider more increments. Volume is still unbearably low :(.

    Guess I'll deal with it one more day, but after that if no fix is found, I am back once again on Touchwiz......this has been and is an known issue, I would have thought they would have fixed it by now....it's been here since GB days, so it's not like it was hidden.

    No I don't have the magic answer or fix, if i did I would have fixed it by now, just annoyed is all, I love aosp, but sadly, I guess I'm plagued by it's low volume issue. After all the problems I ran into, finally got where I can use it, and now this.......this is the only issue left. I had thought it was fixed, but reading on forums, it seems it's a hit and miss thing, sometimes it worse, sometimes it doesn't.
     
  5. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Have you looked into something like this?

    *I have not tried this and do not know if it will work!*

    Make sure you make a backup if you plan on trying it. The link is also posted in my All Things Mods thread over on the VM side.
     
  6. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I read that one earlier, I *think* it is only for TW based ROM's. He made one for CM 10.2 as well, it is in a separate thread.
     
  7. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Ahh, I was doing some more reading through that thread and it based on the 4.3 file structure and probably won't work on a 4.4 rom. :banghead:

    I also found the 10.2 thread: HERE

    -----
    GOTCHA! Flashable increase for CM11 d2spr :D

    Still very new though. Might be worth a try.
     
  8. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Thanks for looking...much much appreciated.

    Sadly it looks as if it didn't work. I'd give it a try, but that thread is 2 for 2 it didn't work, so most likely won't work for me either so not gonna even bother unless I see some other people having luck with it.

    On a plus side (if you can call it a plus side) it looks as if I'm not the only one with the issue. Also it seems someone is addressing this issue, that's IS a good thing.

    Just kinda puzzling why they havn't fixed this yet is all.

    When I went to bestbuy to get this phone last week, I had thought about getting the moto g phone, boy am I glad I passed that up. Both the moto X and moto G are plagued with the low volume right off the bat, from stock.
    I don't see how ANYONE hears phone calls or messages at all with volume like this. They must have SUPER sensitive hearing or something, because I've tested the sound with like 20 people or better and they all say the same thing, "How can you hear that and get a phone call?". Perhaps I'm just spoiled on Samsung Touchwiz volume, I dunno, but I'd rather have volume overly loud and turn it down, than not have it loud enough and can't do anything about it.

    I understand the concept of why they might do it, it's so people don't damage the speaker, and they have as I've read, but it's like root, or modding, just put a message saying your not responsible for damages and let the idiots who don't have sense enough to turn volume down suffer, while those of us who can reason things out benefit.
     
  9. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Kinda think I got a bad flash this time.

    Phone dialing is acting weird and timing out. It reboots when it times out, but then on reboot it gets in a mini loop, but eventually boots up fine. It's intermittent when it happens.
    Also this sound thing.... and I had it working before on this ROM.

    Does it sound like a bad flash or just glitches? I never had these issues before, that's why I'm leaning towards its just a bad flash.

    Update:

    Looks like it was a bad flash as I thought. I grabbed the snapshiot latest and installed it, and installed Viprer4android right away before anything else, and sure enough it all works and everything stuck.
    Weird how a bad flash can work, but not......I noticed the sound first then a bit later the call stuff was acting up, so that's what got me thinking it was maybe a bad flash....because I never ahd the issues before.
     

Share This Page

Loading...