1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] KitKat ND8 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jdsingle76, May 7, 2014.

  1. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    There's a reason. People screwing their phones up and then wanting Samsung to replace them.

    There's no doubt about it. Samsung adding Knox is pain in the butt for the guys wanting to run TW ROMs or upgrade to the newest baseband.

    I have a feeling that all manufacturers will end up doing something similar. It's only a matter of time. Samsung went a little far though by adding Knox. They should have just done like Asus and given the owner a choice whether or not to unlock the bootloader instead of intertwining crap within the ROM itself. Yep, that's a little over the top. They could have stopped at the bootloader and been done with it.

    As with the Asus upgrade, people were not able to revert back to the older bootloader at 1st. In time Devs made it possible. It's not an easy process but it can be done. There's a good possibility that S3 owners may be able to do the same in the future. This update is new. Given time, Devs may be able to work their magic. Remember, the Devs have only been working on this for a couple of weeks.


    Edit: it took a few months before Asus Devs found a way to revert to the older bootloader.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
     #147
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,429
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    The whole Knox thing was designed to make Samsung phones secure enough for use in government and corporate environments, a niche once held by Blackberry. I can see how the bootloader brick thing is part of that. They have to ensure that the product is intact and not tampered with to sell this security. It just happens to affect the phone modding community. Hard bricking seems harsh, but it kind of makes sense to prevent unforseen methods from getting around their security. At least the Knox fuse does not prevent rooting, custom recovery or custom Roms. Not yet anyway.

    Not being an apologist for Samsung, more like the Devils Advocate. That being said, I don't have to like it and thank goodness I have the choice to accept the update or not. I choose not to until the development community produces something that makes it worth it. I doubt that the new TW Kitkat will do that for me.
     
  3. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    526
    213
    SoCal
    hard bricking the phone can probably be fixed, shabby's "how-truly-unbrick-your-sgs3" should work. we just need someone that has taken the Knox dive to copy a file (download mode partition or the "unbrick.img" as shabby calls it) and send it to shabby and also have an Odin tar of the stock update made.
    but i dont want to have to use shabby's method, i dont know Linux.

    at the moment i don't see any reason why i would want to get Knoxed up... so i am not going to be of any help.
     
  4. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    I'm thinking I might take the update tonight. Nothing to lose really. Can't think of a reason to want to go back to the older bootloaders and that's all that Knox effects.
     
  5. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    FWIW, that was my thought process too. I can't think of any reason to flash back to an old boot loader. And I wanted to get in and try to help solve the broken radio problem, which we did :).
     
  6. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    I'm not good at trouble shooting anything android but I don't mind being on the newest ota. Especially with an overwhelming response to the plus side of having the new modem. Have you noticed an increase in reception?
     
  7. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    JD do you happen to have a tar copy of philz 6.26.6 or whatever the newest is? I want to take my steps but figured I'd do it all. However the download link for the tar is down. :(
     
  8. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Two things, first, I personally haven't noticed much difference, but most everyone has, but some have actually gone down. All devices vary :). Another thing, once you take the ND8, you're stuck on that bootloader AND modem. I've tried it, and it breaks radio. And I do have a copy, but it's on my computer. I'll have to get it for you tomorrow.
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
  9. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    Flashing Philz through Odin broke your radio? :S No rush man. I just finished downloading the tar. I have a lot on my internal storage so am going to hold off until after work tomorrow to give it a go. Maybe I'll decide to wait. Who knows. I'm nothing if not impulsive haha.
     
  10. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    im on stock nd8. no root, no custom recovery

    im honestly fine staying like this for a while. the update sooooo smooth and stable. everything i actually want in a rom. very well worth it

    i probably will end up rooting once a suitable method comes up but im fine for now. love the update
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
  11. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    No, flashing another modem besides ND8 did. I'll put the philz into drop box in a bit.
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
  12. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Rooting is simple. Flash philz latest and let it rootv for you!
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
  13. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    So the ND8 build will work on the VM 4.3 MK5 build, I'm on a 100% stock MK5 build at the moment.

    Do you just download the zip, rename it update.zip, copy to SD card, boot into stock recovery, and flash ND8 update?
     
  14. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Here's a copy of the latest Philz recovery tar. Enjoy :)


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/psrocxk4x3yqh8f/philz_touch_6.26.6-d2lte.tar.md5
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
  15. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    NO!!! That's the fastest way to brick yourself. In order to flash either the odex or deodex .zip that's now available on XDA, you first have to flash the ND8 tar in Odin. This will install the ND8 Knox bootloader(from which there's no escaping), as well as the ND8 modem(again, from which there's no escaping, as of yet). It's a smooth build, but to answer your question, yes, it does work over MK5, but you have to Odin the tar first. And just so you know, that will wipe all internal data, so back it up on your PC first or move it to SD Card.
     
  16. freesunshine

    freesunshine Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    192
    39
    43
    Male
    PortWetland, OR
    Hey jdsingle76, great to see you back in action! Quick question, is there a difference between rooting it through your method vs just flashing CNexus's rooted stock zip file?
     
  17. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    If you flash the Odin tar(which you must do first anyway, then CNexus's rooted stock, you will have root.
     
  18. freesunshine

    freesunshine Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    192
    39
    43
    Male
    PortWetland, OR
    I guess I should have been more specific about the question. Yes, I meant rooting with CNexus' method: install odin tar, CWM, then flash stock rooted zip file (which I just noticed it was uploaded by you :thumbup:)

    So your method is if you have stock OTA 4.4 update then root it manually right?

    Anyway, since you make it so easy for us to root our phones, I'll just flash your stock rooted file! :D

    Thanks again for your awesome work!
     
  19. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    Guess it's back to stock to get the OTA this weekend.
     
  20. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    Using the tar through Odin I don't believe it matters what rom you're on. It wipes all partitions and replaces them. At least from what I understand about using Odin to flash a tar file.

    When I say all I mean ALL. Including your internal storage. So make sure you back it up prior to using odin. :)
     
  21. freesunshine

    freesunshine Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    192
    39
    43
    Male
    PortWetland, OR
    My understanding is the OTA is only with Sprint device and Boost doesn't even have Kitkat update for our device yet.

    Like Kreatur3 said, you'll have to Odin to get the Kitkat on our device.
     
  22. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    Well cool. Was only going for new modem. But boost isn't out yet, then cool.

    Or will see if just MDM is available.
     
  23. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I would think Boost will be getting the update soon.
    ____________________

    Has anyone heard anything about a release date yet?
     
  24. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    If you find a zip of just the modem don't flash it. Flashing pieces of the ota but not taking the tar through Odin route has bricked phones as well. You've been warned. ;)

    Are you already knoxed? If so flashing pieces will definitely brick your phone. Some people who didn't take the ota for mk5 didn't brick but I wouldn't chance it.

    Boost and virgin have not confirmed it yet. However it will probably come at some point. You can wait or do sprints ota. Will basically be the same thing, same hardware, bit our ota will be full of boost branded shit you'll just remove anyway.
     
    steelyus1 likes this.
  25. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    Odin it is!

    I saw that a different MDM with KK bricked it, but didn't see anything about KK MDM with JB.

    Props for the clarification, Kreatur3!

    So, firmware and MDM need to be a combo? In assuming, is the jist of it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...