1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] [MOD] Universal Boost APN fix for D2LTE builds [MOD]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MopedRyder, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    CURRENT STATUS

    ***Note - your warranty is now void. If your phone dies, its on you.

    This is a continued work in process. This version was built for the universal lte builds most ROM builders have moved to.

    I created and maintain the APN fix for the Virgin Mobile S3 phone. wyelkins stopped by and asked if I could port it to the Boost Mobile platform.

    This should work on any of the new universal d2lte builds. Most roms markers are moving too the d2lte builds. It will work on d2spr builds as well.

    Currently we have working 4G LTE with both MMS send and receive working on CM / AOSP ROMs via Hangouts. This fix is mostly to achieve 4G/LTE connections. Stock MMS probably still wont work. Ill still work on it though.


    This mod should:
    1. Search and edit appropriate lines in build.prop
    2. Reset the telephony databases (first boot will take a few)
    3. copy + correct apns-conf file
    4. Add / update the eri.xml file


    Directions:
    Flash ROM
    Boot up first - reboot recovery
    Flash Fix
    It may take up to 5min to connect
    profit....



    Thanks go to junkie2100 - without his help and settings my fix would not have been possible. Its open source so edit how you want. I ask that you give props to me and junkie2100 please.

    Link for current build:

    CLICK HERE


    Special thanks to:
    junkie2100
    punkmaxx
    struckn
     

    Advertisement

    1337haXXor, Slayer72, cospy and 23 others like this.
  2. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    FAQs

    Question: Does lte work?
    Answer: Based on testing yes.

    Question: Will this work on both "d2lte" and "d2spr" builds?
    Answer: Based on testing yes.

    Question: Will this work on both Galaxy S5 ROMs?
    Answer: Based on initial testing yes.

    Question: Will this work on other phones for Boost fix?
    Answer: Untested. The fix operates via the google universal partition setup. This means its based on partition names in the CM / AOSP ROMs rather than hard partition points.

    Question: Will this work on MK5 or other TW based ROMs?
    Answer: Based on testing yes - Ive tested it on MOAR v9.

    Question: Will mms work on XXX mms app?
    Answer: I only use Hangouts and I tested mms on that. Others may taken some inputs to work.

    Question: Will "Boost" show up as carrier?
    Answer: Based on testing - yes.

    Question: Can I incorporate into my ROM?
    Answer: Of course! Its Open Source. Use / modify as you need. Just give credit.

    Question: If I dirty flash should I redo the APN fix?
    Answer: YES - I suggest you reflash the APN fix with dirty flashes. Dirty flashes replace the build.prop and that will need re-updated.
     
  3. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Mine too
     
    1337haXXor and steelyus1 like this.
  4. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    Wow! Thanks for the quick response on this and the attention to detail.

    As a test I installed CM11 from 0406. This just happened to be a zip that I still had on my SD card. I have been running AICP until earlier today I switched back to LiquidSmooth.

    No data before the zip. One nice thing about CM11 is that you can see the APNs.

    [​IMG]

    After the zip, LTE and 3g work.

    [​IMG]

    I sent an MMS but it failed with a message that APN not found. I have been using Chomp for so long that I have not worried too much about stock MMS. Here are the settings in Chomp, thanks to WetBiker. They are Sprint settings but they work. I don't remember the Boost settings.

    [​IMG]
     
    smith058 and wetbiker7 like this.
  5. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    smith058 likes this.
  6. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Thanks for the feedback. Does the carrier indicate Boost? Also does mms work thru hangouts?
     
  7. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Those settings are in the APN fix I posted. One may still have to enter them into installed SMS apps. It's odd because you have to use Sprint ip and port along with boost mms address.
     
  8. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male
    So is this any different from the one made by junkie we already have is it supposed to fix 4g 3g and mms?
    Because the one I linked on my Dropbox already does this it just doesn't add the mms apn once it resets the telephone database
     
  9. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    Actually, the carrier does indicate Boost now whereas it was showing Sprint. :D I haven't tried Hangouts for SMS/MMS..... ever. I always use Chompsms. I won't be able to actually try the 4G until Monday when I'm in Bakersfield. I'll be sure to post my results as soon as I am in a 4G area though. I'm really stoked and hope I'll get some 4G action!
     
  10. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    I'm going to flash the newest ls tonight so I'll try this fix and let you know about 4g and mms through hangouts. I've never used hangouts for mms but I'm assuming I should just be able to select it as default messenger app and try to send. I'll report back tonight after I've tried it. Probably a couple hours.
     
  11. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    The Dropbox version? If you are referring to the one linked here:
    http://androidforums.com/boost-mobi...-kernels-modems-ect-boost-s3.html#post6155025

    That fix I wrote the script and junkie did the APNs. From his Boost APNs and guidance I was able to do the Virgin Mobile ones. The script in that one sets the build.prop to Sprint. The Dropbox version script was made for the D2SPR builds.

    The fix I have in OP here was created due to the newer D2LTE builds. The script was made for updating the build.prop for those newer builds. Id call this one as basically the next version of the fix. Even though it was made for d2LTE builds it will work fine with d2SPR builds.

    Also I append a different eri.xml file so the carrier shows Boost instead of Sprint.
     
    HiiiPowers likes this.
  12. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    Money, bro! Thanks.

    Will test out when i flash the 9 Apr nightly tonight.
     
  13. sG7

    sG7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    9
    13
    8
    Tested it and works with hangouts,stock messaging and chomp SMS..able to send and receive SMS and MMS. Also have lte. Lock screen and network shows boost mobile. Great job MopedRyder. Thank you!

    Running liquidsmooth version 04-09-2014
     
    kevindroid and smith058 like this.
  14. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    Was just about to report the same thing with the same build. :) Great work MopedRyder. :)

    I'm back in TW because I had a few data drops. Data and wifi. Plus TiBu kept freezing on restoring apps. None of that was from you zip. Just wanted to confirm your zip worked great. Thank you.
     
    kevindroid and smith058 like this.
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Had an issue with Titanium getting stuck on one app. For some reason when I'm doing a batch install it'll get stuck on Tablet Talk. Now I restore that one by itself and all goes well.

    Take a look at the app Titanium is getting stuck on and try doing the same thing I do. Just install it by itself. :thumbup:
     
  16. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    Not to derail the thread buuuuut...HAHA! I always restore one at a time. Never batch. It failed on every app I tried. Ok done derailing. If I need to comment on that again I'll go to the LS thread. :)
     
  17. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    DItto! Works perfect for me also on new LS build.

    Don't have TB issue, but don't use Tablet Talk tho. :)

    Many thanks Moped!!
     
    smith058 likes this.
  18. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    527
    213
    SoCal
    Thanks for the fix MopedRyder!
    Most appreciated!!!!
     
  19. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    Ok I see well we should get wetbiker to take the one I put on my Dropbox down then and link to this one so everyone can just run the updated version
    Since reading the post it fixes mms too thanks MopedRyder
     
    smith058 and wetbiker7 like this.
  20. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Headed over to the ROM thread now and link the APN fix to this thread. Thanks.

    Edit: I must be brain dead. I had already posted the link to this thread (facepalm) . I went ahead and removed your Dropbox link, HiiiPowers. Thanks for hosting the 1st APN fix on your Dropbox account.

    Thanks again, MopedRyder. We appreciate your help bro. :thumbup:
     
    smith058 and MopedRyder like this.
  21. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    My pleasure good to know everyone had 4g that wanted it and now they have 4g and mms
     
    kevindroid, MopedRyder and wyelkins like this.
  22. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Glad it worked out. Ill bookmark this page and when I update the Virgin Mobile fix Ill do the same here. Thanks for testing it all.
     
  23. APOPHiS420

    APOPHiS420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    471
    52
    73
    Male
    Web Designer
    USA
    Just tried this here with the 4/6 version of AOKP d2lte and it worked flwalessly. It says Boost Mobile as my carrier and i had LTE immediately after booting up. I can confirm it working as well as MMS workign perfectly fine. I am in Central Florida as well.

    EDIT: Also just installed the latest d2lte nightly of CM11 and it worked flawlessly there as well.
     
  24. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    I can confirm this working on PAC 4.4.2 for d2lte :) in fact now I get 1x instead of only 3G or LTE :D
     
    skykid2 and Kreatur3 like this.
  25. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    Yeah I ran pac for a few had come back to liquid smooth and as everyone else confirmed it works perfectly 4g and 3g/1x correcting mms so now mms is fixed once you flash it and it says Boost mobile instead of sprint
     

Share This Page

Loading...