1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Need help for rooting before the firmware update start to update automatically.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alpha2k, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Ok phandroid folks, I now am officially in the S3 world now...I got my S3 tonight just got it activated, and....GOOD NEWS!!! the phone has 4.1.2

    So as quickly as I can so as to hinder and get rid of the update nag, I want to root if I am understanding what I've been reading about knox.

    I'm kinda nervous since this is a new phone so while I'm knowledgable of rooting and roms and recoveries, being as this is a new phone and slightly different methods than my S2 is, I am asking just to double check what I have read to make doubly sure I understand things, so please don't mistake my questins for noob questions, more as precaution questions :).


    So first off, can I just root say with framaroot, then install like philz recovery then go from there? That should in itself disable the firmware update nag shouldn't it? If not I will proceed one step further and install a custom rom, and then go from that point.

    Secondly I have gone to download mode and it seems to show as if it's the same screen look as my s2 has, not the knox look I have seen pics of, so that's would say it's knot knoxed yet, which is a good thing.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    1) Yes, or Kingo for rooting.

    2) Yes, in this case Knox is a bad thing. (The fort of that name, OTOH ...)
     
  3. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    So does rooting alone make the update nag go away, or do I need to install a rom?

    or

    According to some threads I've seen to can move 1, or 2 files or freeze them, and it'll take care of the nag screen, but I think that was with the s4, and possibly other phones, but I did hwever find this method http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2249350 and was wondering what people think.

    From what I've read even after root, the OTA nag screen still pops up.
    I have also heard that it will eventually after so many dinals...it will auto update itself anyways anyone know about this?


    I checked more into it, and it looks as if rooting alone does not kill the nag, so I need to get a rom on or else remove the nag with the link I posted.
    I havn't tried either as my phone is at 43% right now so I'll post back when I get it done

    Ok I'm stuck now.

    I got CWM on, but nothing mounts, can't mount system, internal, sdcard, nothing, not a single thing mounts.

    I know the card is good because I can use it with a normal boot IE: in touchwiz, and everything shows just fine, I just can't acess anything via cwm.

    Any ideas would be very greatful becasue I'm now at a standstill and I hope the update doesn't knox me after all this effort I'm putting in.
     
  4. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Don't bother with CWM, it is pretty much worthless on this particular phone. Use Philz Touch or TWRP, I personally recommend Philz. Use Odin to push the .tar file for the latest version, found here:

    Goo.im Downloads - Browsing CWM_Advanced_Edition

    Choose the d2spr folder, this is the Sprint designation for the SGS3, which Boost and VM are able to use as well. Don't ever choose anything besides d2spr, for recoveries, ROM's or kernels, or you will brick!

    Download latest SuperSU as well and put it onto the SD card before pushing your new recovery, version 1.86 can be found here:

    SuperSU v. 1.86

    I know your OP said you are not a noob, just being precautionary, but I am still going to ask questions and do some replies as if you are a noob, just to make sure everyone is on the same page from here on out. For starters, are you familiar with using Odin?

    Also, don't bother with anything like Kingo root, or any "miracle" one-touch, all-in-one method of rooting. You need to know how to do this procedure manually, like anything else root-related, so that you can work through any problems forward and backward instead of having to say "I just pushed a button and now I don't know what's wrong!"
     
    smith058 and wetbiker7 like this.
  5. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    AMEN to that! Some of the best advice I've read in awhile. :thumbup:
     
    struckn likes this.
  6. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93

    That's fine, I never consider it talking down to me, you've been a huge help as I have ask questions alon g the way and am learning still.

    I am indeed familiar with odin, used it quite a few times.
    What I am up against now is I am looking for root methods for this particular phone "Boost Mobile SPH-L710" and so far have come up with nothing, everything followed to the letter I still don't get root.

    So far I have tried CF-Auto-Root + Odin, I have tried cwm + odin, then rebooting to cwm and flashing super user, but can't because nothing mounts.

    So right now I need root so I can at least get that far, then I need to get philz recovery on......but I can't even get root right now, and the most irritating part of it all. I am not sure what I am missing.

    If I sound frustrated it's because I am, at the situation, not you or anyne else, it's just I am very familiar with odin, rooting, roms, etc....but for the life of me this seems to be a harder task than I had imagined, and I don't really think it should be, because I have sucesfully rooted and rom'd the following phones without any issues, it was rather simple to be honest.
    Phones are as follows:
    Prevail, Zte warp, Sequent, and Samsung S2 Epic 4g Touch. The last I have spent weeks upon weeks flashing and re-flashing roms, rooting and un-rooting, different methods of rooting via odin, mobile odin, and also as I said my preferred method via the recovery.

    All 4 I have had multiple roms on, and used odin or mobile odin, and have also used my preferred method as it doesn't trow a triangle or trigger anything, and that is flashing via the recovery.

    Again I wanna say I do appreciate the help I get, otherwise i wouldn't keep coming back :).

    So nw, how to root this badboy. :thinking::thinking::thinking:
     
  7. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    You really are only going to do two things: use Odin to push Philz onto your phone, and then use Philz to flash SuperSU. It's that easy. Do you have the two files I linked to earlier?
     
  8. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Also, if you want to flash a new ROM right off the bat, let me know.
     
  9. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Wow, that easy? HA, who would have thought.....With the s2 I had to root the base rom I was on, say 4.1.2 which injected supersu already, THEN put a recovery on....I guess I was missing the supersu injection part via a recovery....I was always thinking you needed root first THEN a recovery lol.

    Well that explains a lot now....I'm off to get this done, I shall report back.


    YES we have root!!

    Thankyou again for lending a helping hand.


    I was doing a loopy out of order precess I guess, figured it would be similar to the s2, and I was wrong :).

    Now from here it should be easy, and bvtw I love philz recovery, WAY better than cwm.

    Now to try out that link for removing the OTA...least I know the root process now and can if need be (hopefully not) but if need be I can start fresh again.
     
  10. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Main thing is make sure you uncheck the "reboot" box in Odin, or else it will reboot automatically at too early of a stage and the recovery won't be pushed. If done right, it should take two minutes to go to the green "Pass" message (it's always been exactly two minutes and six seconds for me), and then you will want to manually boot into recovery by removing USB, pulling battery, replacing after about ten seconds, then holding volume up, home key and power button all at the same time until after the vibration; let go after the script starts appearing on the screen.

    P.S. As I'm sure you're aware, choose the PDA slot for the location in Odin to place the Philz .tar file.
     
  11. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Yep, that's exactly how I did it too, and yeah it almost always goes in PDA slot....not sure I've ever seen it in another spot, except on RARE occasions, but it involves like kernel stuff if I remember....it's been a LONG while since I messed with the other slots. Kinda funny really because I learned about the un-ticking the auto restart from a video I watched earlier.....said it would reboot to the phone, and that wasn't what was needed.....what was needed it to get to recovery again to flash the superSU to the system. The best way to accomplish this is to un-tick that option of auto reboot, and shut down, then hold power + home button + vol up, and boot back into recovery manually. Other files can be pushed by injecting or pushing the apk files via a browser, then rebooting for it to take affect.


    On a side note, (for those reading this thread) you can't place a zip file there.....most of the zips are meant for recovery flashing only.


    Again thanks for all the help, I'd be stuck without it.

    I always try my best to pass on knowledge, so maybe I can return the favor or pay it forward later down the road and hope I have in the past.


    One last question, is there a way to reset the counter, the one in download mode?
    I don't get a triangle with this phone so am assuming triangle away won't work.....but could be wrong.

    Also does anyone have any suggested AOSP roms for this phone....I prefer aosp over most everything else, but have found that gps doesn't like to work correctly, namely the lock-on time, or the sound is extremely low volume, so I end up going back to touchwiz.
     
    struckn likes this.
  12. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    CM11 has been really awesome for me, I am actually about to flash the Snapshot they just released about an hour ago. Mainly just waiting on Carbon to start dropping their KitKat builds though, hands down my favorite ROM from the JellyBean days oh so long ago ha ha ha! Biker really likes Wicked Sensations if you want a supercharged version of stock, and I can certainly see why he likes it from when I have had it installed on my phone.
     
  13. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Very good.


    Any idea on the counter?
     
  14. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I *think* Triangle Away is still compatible, but couldn't tell you for sure. My binary count is in the twenties, it's not something that I really care about personally so I've never bothered to investigate, just have seen things here and there. Looks like extra precautions need to be taken with Triangle Away no matter what, and anyone with Knox will want to avoid it, definitely not something to use carelessly.
     
  15. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Ok I'll tread carfully and research some before I do anything.

    You don't know how happy I am right now........I'm rooted, with no OTA nag (btw it worked like a charm!) and I haven't even had the phone even 24 hrs yet lol!!!.

    I'm in the process of downloading stock non-rooted 4.1.2 right now (just in case I need to return it for hardware issues.) that's why I was asking about the download mode counter reset, in hopes I could somehow reset it and they would never be the wiser to the rooting.
    Also downloading cm 10.2......I'm ok with 4.4 (cm11), just not liking the whole "cannot set your starting home screen" sorta thing. You can set either right, middle or left, but if you have 6 screens like I do, and want the 4th screen as the main home screen, it can't be done in that scenario, it either sets it to 3 for middle and 6 for right.
    I guess I'm just weird and have a different odd layout, I just use 6 screens, the 4th one being my main screen, meaning 2 on the right, and 3 on the left, with number 4 being center.

    They are really close to breaking knox I think. So far they found out it IS a software thing, and not a hardware thing, because some sprint person reset the counter in back of their office for some person, so it's defiantly a software thing.....now if we could only get ahold of the magic machine we would be set :).
     
  16. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I always use Nova Launcher Prime as my home launcher, so can configure things any way I want for home screens and what not. Never been a big fan of the Trebuchet launcher anyway. Ditto for the new "Google Experience Launcher" since I always map my home key to open Google Now with a long press, and can't stand the persistent Google search bar at top of the screen. I also don't use the dock; mainly just want to maximize my screen real estate and put on there what I want, not what Google wants. Regardless, whatever version of CM you choose, make sure to modify/delete the asserts so it will flash properly. You will also need an APN fix to make SMS/MMS work properly.
     
  17. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Any chance of getting a link or a list of the modem versions/rom versions that go to what is it.
    IE: MG2/MD7/MK5 are all JB, but what versions....I'm kinda anal about keeping stuff simple, so I'm makeing folders then placeing the files in that folder so I'll lable the folder as like ISC then a sub folder having the versions, then the files under that, or in the case of JB I'd have Jb/Mk5 4.3/(file here). So I'm looking for a list of the rom number = JB 4.3, or JB 4.1.2, then place the files under that, so I can look at the list and say ok mk5 is JB 4.3, so I need to place that in this folder.......Md7 is JB 4.1.2 (stock provided when I got the phones) so I place that under JB/4.1.2.

    Just looking for a list so I can sort the version basically

    I know that MK5 is JB 4.3 and MG2/MD7 is JB 4.1.2 that came with the phone......aside from that I'm not sure what's ICS and what's JB.

    I am after this also to flash CM, so as far as I understand it, CM needs an ICS modem, and since I'm not sure what ICS modem to use, because I don't know what versions are ICS vs JB.

    Guess it's the perfectionist in me.


    Update:
    I think I found the correct list, so if this is wrong please correct me.
    4.3 Jelly Bean
    MK3
    MK5

    4.1.2 Jelly Bean
    MG2
    MD4
    MD7 <----came with the phone when bought

    4.1.1 Jelly Bean
    LJ7

    4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich
    LEN

    So if this is the case I need to look for a LEN modem to work with CM10.....unless on this phone a JB modem will work, because on the S2 you had to always use an ICS modem, so I'm curious does the same hold true here? I guess now it's a 2 part question:

    1: Is the above correct?

    2: Will a JB modem work with cm10 and above?
     
  18. scootmcdoot

    scootmcdoot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    131
    20
    38
    Ohio
    Hello. I tried to remove the update nag using the writeup found in the working roms/mods section with no luck. I followed it to a T twice, but both times I was stuck in a bootloop. Thank Heavens I backed up my system prior. Is anyone aware of a flashable zip that works with M.O.A.R. 4.1.2 v6 to take care of this. This update notification is a pain. Thanks.
     
  19. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    I just moved the apk file I downloaded and saved it to my sd for safe keeping, then I copied the apk file to system/apps, it said success, then I rebooted the phone and had no issues and no more mag.

    They also mention a zip file, and I never tried that method, so can't say if the zip works or not, but it sounds like you used the flashable zip way, so that would explain a boot loop better.
    Not sure why you would get a bootloop though, if all your doing is moving a file from one location to another location. The file move was enough and worked fine for me.

    Also if you did the move file way, what explorer did you use? Some have reported that the nag removal file wouldn't move over, and it was because of the explorer they were using such as ES file explorer.

    I've used ES explorer for years until it had an issue once with r/w settings, I'd set it to read and write, and it still would refuse to move over.....so I looked and found root browser and have never looked back. I use it for everything.

    Here is the link for it https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.jrummy.root.browserfree&hl=en I'd recommend this over the others.
     
    scootmcdoot likes this.
  20. scootmcdoot

    scootmcdoot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    131
    20
    38
    Ohio
    Thanks. Update nag is gone. I used your link from xda-devolpers. :thumbup:
     
  21. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    Sweet, glad it helped. Nice to know I can pay it forward and help out :).

    I'd like to publicly thank struckn for the extensive help and patience given to me for getting me rooted and kinda being my mentor as I learn more about android/rom stuff.....I thought I had learned a lot from usieng my s2, and here I am learning even more about stuff hehe.

    Also like to thanks phandroid folks for chiming in and giveing responses and advice on things.
    I know it sounds repetitive, but I just can't seem to thank people enugh for things, if not for this and xda forums, I'd be sunk! So again, thank-you.
     
    struckn likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...