1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Techromancer, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. Techromancer

    Techromancer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014

    Feb 5, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Hi there. I'm new to the whole rooting/flashing thing and will have a lot of questions to ask. Please bare with me as I educate myself on all this.

    To start, I was able to root thanks to a guide on XDA. I am currently running CM 10.2.1, baseband L710VPUBMK5 if any of this matters...

    ---

    First question I have is, what does "Warranty Bit: 1" mean in Download Mode? Is that the same thing as Knox 0x1 or is this a completely different item? Not entirely sure if the update installed KNOX as I've never seen it in my app manager BEFORE I rooted after installing the OTA 4.3.

    Second question is, is there any way to avoid having to download and remove the "asserts" line with CM or is this required no matter what due to my phone model? Also, will flashing a new modem (such as the MK3 one) fix anything?

    If this is a redundant thread/been answered elsewhere, please let me know.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Any Sprint AOSP ROM that comes from XDA will have to have the asserts removed. Struckn has some links posted in the Carbon thread with the asserts already removed. There is a video in my ROM thread in the stickies that shows you exactly how to remove the asserts. It's not hard at all. Go to this thread
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6155020

    Look in the AOSP, CyanogenMod, and AOSP section. That's where the video is showing how to remove the asserts. Only AOSP ROMs need to have them removed. TouchWiz ROMs will flash as is. No need to do anything to them. You may need to do the MMS fix. That is located in my ROM thread too.

    Here is a thread discussing Knox.
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6330350

    As far as the MK3 modem, some ROMs require that you have it in order to run.

    I also recommend flashing the newest version of Philz recovery. It can be found here.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=39433458

    Just chose the Sprint version, download the newest and flash it in recovery. Reboot back into recovery and you'll have the newest version of Philz. :)
     
    struckn likes this.
  3. Techromancer

    Techromancer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014

    Feb 5, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Thanks for the reply, WetBiker. You've been a big help for me.

    I do have some follow-up questions to ask. What kind of rom/setup would you recommend for a newbie to start out with and whatnot? I honestly am having a hard time "deciphering" your sticky with all the links and whatnot and am confused on how to utilize those items correctly, such as updating profile/PRL and flashing a new modem, etc., etc.

    Apologies if I start to get on your nerves with my overthinking. :p
     
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Honestly...... for a beginner I would recommend going with a TouchWiz ROM like Wicked Sensations. All you have to do is follow the instructions in the thread. They are very easy to follow and have links for everything you need.

    I usually would recommend Philz but with Wicked Sensations, TWRP works better.
    Use this version of TWRP. Just place it on your SD card and flash it.
    TWRP 2.6.3.0 - Dev-Host - TWRP-2610_d2spr_naddict.zip - The Ultimate Free File Hosting / File Sharing Service

    This is the link to the thread for Wicked Sensations. Scroll down to the INSTRUCTIONS and follow them to the letter.

    If you have any questions, please read through the thread because most all of the answers can be found there. I am very familiar with this ROM so if you have a question and can't find the answer then I'll be more than happy to help you out.

    Wicked Sensations ROM-
    [ROM][TW4.3][MK3] ヅ Wicked Sensations Rom v0.4✭myHUB✭Clock Mod✭Awesomeness✭1/26/2014 - xda-developers
     
  5. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    854
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    Welcome to the forums!
    Don't worry everyone here is friendly and will help out to the best of their knowledge, and if not will try to point you in the right direction as you already see this happening.
     
  6. Techromancer

    Techromancer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014

    Feb 5, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Hey again, sorry to resurrect this old thread; I thought it would be better than making a whole new one. That, and it's also a newbie question.

    Alright, so I'm having trouble setting up voicemail with CM11 (wanted to use this 'cause it's popular and well-documented) and have tried two methods: Google Voice and Visual Voicemail. With G Voice, I can't get it to work right because the "provision code is not valid" which I assume is because the code is for Sprint and not Boost Mobile. Visual Voicemail won't work either. I also get a weird static noise when using it. o_O
     
  7. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    I got a text from Boost to go back and set up my voice mail because it has been upgraded as of yesterday.

    I did it this morning but Visual Voice Mail still did not work. I am running AICP.

    I restored a backup of MOAR 8. It initialized the VM app and everything worked. I backed this up with Titanium. It was a system app.

    I restored my backup of AICP and restored the VM app and data. Even though it is system, it restored. I normally do not do this especially between TW and AOKP.

    Voice mail works now. I also set it to send me an email for each VM.

    I think that the VM app used to work for me on a few 4.4.2 Roms, but I have had problems with it recently.
     
    smith058 likes this.
  8. Techromancer

    Techromancer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014

    Feb 5, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    So I gotta restore back to stock, set up VM again, then restore back to CM11 just for voicemail? Sheesh, that sounds more trouble than it's worth. D:
     
  9. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    It might have taken 15 minutes. I keep nandroid backups, so it is not a big deal to do.

    Also, I am not saying that what I did is the only way to get it fixed. I had the hunch that all the stuff I had done to try and fixed it had it so screwed up that I needed to go back to TW. It might be easier in your case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...