1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] [ROM] HaloBean 9 FINAL (SkinnyHALO Included)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Skinnyjeans21, Jul 5, 2013.

?

New Name?

  1. Halo ROM (Original Name)

    28.3%
  2. Ice Cream Halo ROM

    8.3%
  3. Halo Jelly ROM

    66.7%
  1. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    Actually I was gonna ask just that-- about slimkat... you're gonna have to help me out with rooting it :p
     

    Advertisement

  2. rickpcb

    rickpcb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    448
    265
    88
    Male
    St Augustine, FL
    No problem ;)
     
    Skinnyjeans21 likes this.
  3. sb43

    sb43 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    903
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    903
    337
    113
    Male
    Carpenter
    Front Royal, VA
    You've been a great asset and friend to all of us, and many thanks to you (and everyone) for all of you knowledge, help, and support!
    I just activated the "old girl" for my wife. I hope something exciting with one of the AOKP roms will happen, to get her into "our world" now. (they only need a couple tweaks). :) But the wife isn't as patient, and tolerable as we are. YA KNOW WAD I MEAN!
     
    Skinnyjeans21 likes this.
  4. Zayny

    Zayny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013

    Apr 5, 2013
    38
    13
    18
    Male
    Student
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Honestly glad to be back with this rom, missed it. Very efficient hardly a lag, or glitch.
     
    Skinnyjeans21 likes this.
  5. Zayny

    Zayny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013

    Apr 5, 2013
    38
    13
    18
    Male
    Student
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Question, is there a way to change DPI with this ROM? Like an app I could use, or is it safe to edit the build.prop? I tried using this app and my launcher stopped working and had to revert it.
     
  6. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    You can edit the build.prop and do it but it'd mess with the Play Store amongst other apps... Or you could use a font size changer.
     
  7. Gloomfrost

    Gloomfrost Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014

    Apr 8, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Okay I made a whole account just to say I tried all the roms on this forum and I like this one the most :)
    It's the only one where everything works for me EXCEPT:
    Is there any way to turn Wifi on while in airplane mode? The Warp I have is not connected to a mobile network (and won't be) so I'm trying to find the most optimal route, and obviously turning off the phone radio will save me a good amount of battery...
     
  8. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    YES THERE IS A WAY!!!

    there are apps on the Play Store that allow you to do that, just search airplane mode WiFi and pick your favorite :)

    And welcome to Android Forums! :D
     
  9. Gloomfrost

    Gloomfrost Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014

    Apr 8, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Had to go through quite a few - found one that worked - "Plane Mode Tweaker".

    Btw - do you have any idea why Lucky Patcher won't install? It pops up with the package installer but the 'Install' button just doesn't work, can only click cancel. It's not greyed out or anything and I have 'untrusted apps' checkmarked in the settings.

    Great work btw!
     
  10. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    I've never had that issue with lucky patcher, maybe the Google play service that blocks "malicious" apps is stopping it from installing. Try rebooting your phone and installing, that may also be an issue.
     
  11. Zayny

    Zayny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013

    Apr 5, 2013
    38
    13
    18
    Male
    Student
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    I did and it worked perfectly fine still :) Set it to 200. :)
     
    Skinnyjeans21 likes this.
  12. Zayny

    Zayny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013

    Apr 5, 2013
    38
    13
    18
    Male
    Student
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Just bought a Samsung Galaxy S3 for 317 dollars @ Boostmobile, and it had me like
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    The S3 is probably the best phone on Boost right now :)

    Even better, we just got data fixes for the 4.4.2 AOSP roms so everything works flawlessly in AOSP roms :D

    And btw... I got mine for $280, after tax :p I gots me $45 off using RetailMeNot :)




    Guys, as far as SkinnyHalo, I don't know when I will be able to complete it. I'm doing other projects (as in, projects for school) and I'm also doing something for DM47021 for a surprise... ;)
    I'll finish it, but it'll take time.
     
    Zayny and Dslack420 like this.
  14. Dslack420

    Dslack420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012

    Dec 5, 2012
    308
    118
    68
    Male
    troy,ohio
    Am inticipating anything new to flash to my ole warp this moto g is sweet tho lol
     
  15. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    Same with the S3, stuck P.A.C. on it with SlimKat's gapps package, so when I switch the settings to P.A.C. In Black my gapps turn black too :D
     
  16. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #176
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    I would love to know how u got phone for 280 after tax.....I cant find any discount cupons around
     
  17. bob-st

    bob-st Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    372
    95
    53
    Amazon dot com has the SGS3 today for $280 with free shipping and no tax in most states.
     
  18. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    I paid $280 after tax and overnight shipping :D

    EDIT: @iram, I got on RetailMeNot.com and typed in "Boost S3" and found a coupon for $45 off, then ordered my S3 from the Boost website and got overnight shipping for $5 :)
     
  19. Dslack420

    Dslack420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012

    Dec 5, 2012
    308
    118
    68
    Male
    troy,ohio
    Nice my g was only 100 and its pretty bad ass im jist on stock deo rom from superr runs like a dream lol cuzn has s3 w broke sreen i might buy and replace but doubt will activate for a while hehe
     
  20. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    This S3 is actually pretty tough, and its comparable to the Warp. I got Commuter Series OtterBoxes on both phones, and I've dropped both from about 4-5 feet high onto hard concrete... not a scratch on either one. I'm not too worried about any cracked or broken screens anytime soon on either phone.
     
  21. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    Hey guys, I wanted to apologize for being out of the scene lately. College and high school are tough, and it doesn't help that I've been diagnosed with extremely high blood pressure (170 bpm while sitting down half asleep isn't EVER good, and for the record... I'm 6"2', 140 lbs so I'm pretty skinny hence--Skinnyjeans21 :p)

    On a brighter note, my computer is going to come along nicely since I found a job for an environmental services company, and after I build a new rig and get my bloodwork done I'll be back in action. Not much to do for the SGS3 anyways, so boring... the Warp is totally where it's at :)
     
  22. mercury0x000d

    mercury0x000d The ultra-modern operator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,665
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Hey, no problem man! You know the mantra: Real life first, dev work second! :)
     
    klownprince420 and Skinnyjeans21 like this.
  23. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #176
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    I tried Holobean 9 for a day and while I did find it very interesting and in some cases ran smother than WOEM. I could not get wifi tethering or usb tethering to work. This is very important to me due to lack of continuous main service. Eventually a local open wifi will disapear and the only internet I'll have is via phone. Made backup of Holo and needed to switch back to WOEM..So far this has been only ROM I have found that runs almost as well maybe slightly better than original stock and has wifi tether as well as usb tether working.

    -----------------------------------------
    A little off topic .....$600 for Galaxy S5 !!!! WOW....boy do I wish I had the money for that
     
  24. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    Yeah I was never able to figure out when how or why wifi tethering or even regular tethering broke so I was never able to properly fix it in the rom :/ on top of that my Warp is deactivated so I'd be going in blind with fixes...

    In about 3-4 weeks though I should be able to get started on a new rig so I can have more power to do what I wanna do for Android, so I should be able to fix tethering soon if I decide to rework the rom or just upload a small fix.
     
  25. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #176
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Thanks Due to my situation a must need is wifi and/or usb tether so must use WOEM for the time being.

    I really would like to upgrade to S5 but at 600 no way. Even the S3 seems to much for what is now a older phone. Even when I got the Warp I knew it was sort of like getting XP when WIN8 was around.

    I understand when on contract plan that's what they say subsidizes phone..but its not as if we can just take a Boost Phone over to other carriers besides at low monthly plan would stay with them for years anyway. The S5 should be 300.
    Cant believe boost limits to buy only s S5 at 600.....Who would buy them?
     

Share This Page

Loading...