1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Roms?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HiiiPowers, Jun 15, 2013.

  1. nymetzfan05

    nymetzfan05 Newbie
    Rank:
     #575
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    27
    11
    18
    Female
    I have a Sprint S3 flashed to Boost (prior to Boost getting their own) and I use Sprint roms. Never had the data issue per se (signal in my area is not the greatest anyway) but I have had to do the mms fix. Wicked was delightful with lots of customization (kuban updater is great!). After running that for awhile I recently changed to The People's Rom and am really enjoying it. Tons of customization here also with Morphology and Aroma installer. Haven't even scratched the surface yet! What I really like about those two roms is the hotspot. That is a must for me and works flawlessly on both

    Kudos to the devs and all the other folks involved with these roms!! :)
     

    Advertisement

    kevindroid likes this.
  2. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    For some reason my Sprint wifi hotspot will not work. BUT....... the wifi tether app that Smith posted works like a charm!! I messed around with it last night and after quite a few attempts, decided to go Smith's route. PROFIT! ;)

    Nice knowing I'll have net access with my TF300T tablet while out and about. Smith's method saved the day! :D
     
    smith058 likes this.
  3. unotlikeme

    unotlikeme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    277
    90
    53
    Male
    Carpentry Demolition Contractor
    Connecticut
    Been running wicked since you posted that biker and im lovin it for some reason the multi-window wouldnt work with moar rom. dont know why! I reinstalled twice no go. wicked is def spot on. running the anakonda theme this is a sexy rom! :D
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Excellent man. I'm still running the original blue because it's one of my favorite colors. You're right too, this ROM is a nice one for sure. I've been testing it out for a few days now and the only thing I've found not to work for me is the Sprint wifi hotshot. Smith's workaround works flawlessly. Everything else, blue tooth, multi Window, calls while using Internet, etc, all seem to be working flawlessly.

    THE Kuban Updater is a SWEET utility too. Have you seen what all it can do? Absolutely amazing! I have tested the basics of this ROM but once i really start digging around and seeing what all it's capable of, I've only touched the surface.

    I have a few other ROMs that Capn069 has Oked as working but I just can't bring myself to step away from this one right yet. Too many things I have yet to try as far as customization.

    Looks like I may be sticking with Wicked Sensations for awhile to come. :D

    EDIT : Guys, I just wanted to give you a huge heads up in case you haven't visited XDA and their Sprint S3 theme/app section. There are some smoking hot themes over there for the Wicked Sensations ROM. I mean a BUNCH of them! This ROM just keeps getting better and better fellas! The purple theme thread is insane! The add ons are MANY!

    There are a lot of other mods especially built for the Wicked Sensations ROM too. Too many to list here. I highly recommend cruising over there and checking them out if you are into theming like I am. I'm stoked. :D
     
  5. unotlikeme

    unotlikeme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    277
    90
    53
    Male
    Carpentry Demolition Contractor
    Connecticut
    still not done customizing my s3 either so many option to choose from in the kuban updater! ill change one thing and then decide what i changed would look better with sum dif. MIND BLOWN! :hello2: :pepsi:
     
  6. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    Let me ask ya guys something, I haven't had any success with this yet.

    Anyone on or previously ran aosp and actually got wifi tether working properly? I've got all my settings right it seems but apparently I don't.

    It will connect and all, I just have no connectivity :/
     
  7. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Just curious. If you are running AOSP ROMS how did you get your data and everything to work. I thought they weren't working.

    As for the none AOSP ROMS, I just followed Mike's wifi guide here in this section. Worked perfectly on Touch Whiz ROMS.

    I haven't flashed any of the AOSP ROMS at all. Sure would be nice to find a version of PacMan, Paranoid Android, or AOKP for our phones. :thumbup:
     
  8. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    Oh my apologies I wasn't aware of the no data issue, I didn't get an answer over in the sprint section.
     
  9. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    I'm using the moar ROM my hotspot works OK. I'm just having a problem with mms


    solved: the active samsung keyboard creates a space after mm. switched keyboard apns editted just fine. this moar rom is alot to play with also.
     
  10. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    Wait I'm on moar and want to fix my mms I can receive but not send so what did you do to fix it
     
  11. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
  12. jstinger9489

    jstinger9489 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Male
    Telecommunications Tower Technician
    Louisville, Ky
    Either I missed someone saying they have tried it, or I'm the first, but the CM 10.2 for Sprint GS3 has been working pretty good for me. I've been running it for about a week now. MMS, LTE, everything running smoothly. Only problems I have had are HOT BOOTS, and if I turn on WiFi, I lose all data connection.
     
    kevindroid likes this.
  13. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
  14. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    Thanks biker mine also works with the 7 at the end. This was what we did with the s2. That keypad got me. This section has picked up with your arrival. Thanks again
     
  15. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    Did you edit anything to get data working because I'm going to switch to cm 10.2
     
  16. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    No problem bro and it's nice to finally be in here. This phone is awesome and I'm glad I finally ended up getting one.

    I would have to say one of the best things about coming to this phone was coming in here and seeing you, Capn069, Wyelkins and a few others I know from other phone sections. It's always nice seeing people you've known for awhile when coming to a new section. It makes the transition from one device to another so much easier. :)
     
    kevindroid likes this.
  17. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    Have any of you tried unzipping the rom and adding the apns so its cooked into the rom before you flash it?
     
  18. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    Loving these Wicked Sensations!

    Definitely worth taking a look at.
     
  19. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore

    to edit after the flash is pretty easy. dandroid has an edit its a piggyback flash after reboot
     
  20. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    You guys give me far too much credit. i really didnt do much on the prevail. you guys will have plenty of support and love using sprint roms, i tried my hand with fixing cm for yall but this virgin mobile/boost/sprint nonsense threw me for a loop.

    you gusy have a self made odin tar, i can help make a debrick img so if you flash an international rom etc and your phone no longer gets to download mode you can be saved.
     
  21. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    You are far too modest Mr. Penguin.You are the reason I rooted my phone.You helped me when I boot looped.Lol.

    And we did not have ODIN then either.And no CWM. It was pretty scary but we all had faith in you and ShabbyMod.
     
  22. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    527
    213
    SoCal
    Come on shabby, give us another shot... don't give up that easy!!!
    that would be awesome... please do!!!:D:D:D
    if needed i made a copy of every partition on this phone.
     
  23. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    its above my level of knowhow, giving it another smack wont fix it im afraid :/ actually i need mmcblk0 dumped which contains all the partitions combined into one.

    adb shell or terminal emulator:
    su
    dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 of=/sdcard/unbrick.img bs=1024 count=71680

    that will dd the first 6 partitions, once i have that image and i know what bootloader you have etc ill make teh unbricking guide :)
     
    smith058 likes this.
  24. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    Thank you for your time and effort. We didn't give you any credit you earned it!!!!!!
     
  25. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    527
    213
    SoCal
    @ Shabby:

    unbrick.img
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\adt-bundle-windows-x86_64-20130522\adt-bundle-windows-x86_64-20130522\sdk\pla
    tform-tools>adb shell
    root@android:/ # su
    su
    root@android:/ # dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 of=/sdcard/unbrick.img bs=1024 count=7
    1680
    card/unbrick.img bs=1024 count=71680 <
    71680+0 records in
    71680+0 records out
    73400320 bytes transferred in 11.845 secs (6196734 bytes/sec)
    root@android:/ #

    if you dont mind, would you share how you put together this "debrick img" into a working whatever the end output is... i would like to have such knowledge :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...