1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Software Update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lovey08, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    I got this software update on my phone and was wondering if I should do so?

    Did anybody get this and updated their phones?

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    No but since your rooted why don't you make a nandroid backup and share it
     
  3. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Sure I'll try to do that before I update.
     
  4. Stlouizsin

    Stlouizsin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    126
    19
    38
    If you're using a sprint rom, I think that is why. After accepting the update it'll take you to recovery and that's it.
     
  5. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Nope I'm using just the stock Boost ROM that came with the phone. It's been 2 days now and I'm still looking for as why I got the update. And as of now have still not updated my phone.
     
  6. unotlikeme

    unotlikeme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    277
    90
    53
    Male
    Carpentry Demolition Contractor
    Connecticut
    If you backed up already then update!
     
  7. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Today i went ahead and tried to update my phone.

    But after pressing "Install Now"

    My Phone rebooted

    Started the Update Process

    And the dreaded "Red ! Triangle" pop-uped

    And went to bootloader

    And just went ahead and rebooted my phone and nothing happened...

    Was i the only one who got that? Anybody else got the update? I've only had my phone for about 3 weeks now.
     
  8. Stlouizsin

    Stlouizsin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    126
    19
    38
    I got the update, but I think we can't update if we're rooted.
     
  9. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    If you're rooted you should never take an ota, best case is it won't update because of the custom recovery, worst case is a soft brick or even if it did work you'll probably lose root because of the ota patching the known exploits. If rooted you should always wait for the community to make a safe flashable zip with all of the good parts included and the other nonsense removed so you're still rooted after the flash. :D
    OB
     
  10. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Haha glad I'm not the only one. Yup I learned that one just after trying to update.





    Haha yeah I just remembered that you should not update when rooted lol. And it was I good thing it didn't turn out to brick my phone or lose my root.
     
  11. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    I didn't know you where going to try and update it rooted I would have told you it wasn't going to let you lol

    You would have needed to go back to the stock image and unroot to receive it lol should have told you
     
  12. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Haha it's all good nothing bad happened anyway lol hopefully I won't make the same mistake nextime lol I don't want to end up with a very expensive brick lol but on the good side if anything did happen I have the best buy geek insurance or something like that I was being cautious with my new phone lol
     
  13. jackbquick123

    jackbquick123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011

    Oct 1, 2011
    212
    19
    38
    I got the enhancement update and everything went OK but I'm stock boost. I haven't seen anything different so far but haven't looked close yet. It's jb 4.1.2 ant still have the same problems with SwiftKey and voice mail duplicate icons
     
  14. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    Smh well there's that I thought they would fix something lol
     
  15. fatalfury

    fatalfury Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    154
    19
    58
    Male
    Cell Phone Tech at Omar Wireless in Rialto Ca
    San Bernardino CA
    Anyone have the update file ?
     
  16. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Are you rooted? The reason mine didn't get updated because I was rooted, and now the update keeps popping up and it's annoying. Is there a way to turn that off?





    Don't have the actual file I don't even know where to get it in my phone
     
  17. Mcboots

    Mcboots Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012

    Aug 20, 2012
    52
    7
    16
    Mine updated last night and I have no idea what it added or fixed haha
     
  18. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Is your phone rooted?
     
  19. Mcboots

    Mcboots Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012

    Aug 20, 2012
    52
    7
    16
    nah I'm waiting til we get a dev on this board and a few custom roms.
     
  20. 666wicked666

    666wicked666 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    30
    5
    16
    Ft.Laud FL
    My phone came out of the box with 4.1.2 and I to am getting the update notification I assumed it would not update being rooted went through that with previous phone but I guess my question would be has anyone un-rooted and took the update and then re-rooted or will the current root method even work once updated ...I made that mistake 2 phones ago where I took the an update a day before I found a root method for that phone only to find out it would not work with the update and had to wait weeks before they developed the fix and I was able to get rooted
     
  21. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I used Autostarts to stop the notifications. I wanted to read more into this update before I bothered with going back to stock.

    Likely it just fixes some little network issue/bug with the phone.
     
  22. lovey08

    lovey08 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    163
    9
    36
    Male
    Health Services (Future Nurse)
    New Jersey
    Lately I haven't gotten the pop up for the update, but could you give the steps on using startups for disabling the notification. Just so when it shows up nextime. Thanks!
     
  23. marke123

    marke123 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011

    Nov 5, 2011
    88
    29
    23
    I too got a stock S3 with Android 4.1.2 on it a few days ago. I rooted with motochopper, and that's it. I didn't add any custom ROM or recovery stuff. Totally stock except for the root and few apps from the store ( including OTA Rootkeeper ) plus Trev's hotspot app that I installed via SD card.

    My phone reboots about once a day by itself. I thought maybe if I take the OTA the reboots would stop. Who knows.

    Question is, if I take the OTA will that remove my root? Anyone know?

    After taking the OTA what's the Android version gonna be? ( I don't know what's in the update ).
     
  24. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    527
    213
    SoCal
    it does look like the update will remove root and patch the exploit... with all my other phones and tablets ive had perfect success with voodoo rootkeeper. but in the description in the market rootkeeper does not work for Galaxy S and S2... so will it work for S3? i dont know... as for me i will not update until i get a working odin because my phone can not use cwm. anyone that has a cwm backup should not worry at all because they can always flash back
     
  25. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #77
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,437
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,437
    679
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    I updated. Before the update I didn't have a single problem, and yes I did a factory reset after I updated. So far 1 reboot by itself while talking on the phone to a customer (not happy at all about that) and 1 touchwiz crash so far. I wouldn't worry about the update at this point. If you're rooted you can stop the update notification if it's getting on your nerves.
     

Share This Page

Loading...