1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] The Sad truth, a little update on the status of things.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dm47021, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. Dm47021

    Dm47021 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,472
    2,114
    323
    Male
    tech.
    coloma mi
    I know everyone is wondering what the status of ICS, or even aosp for the warp is, if it will happen, when and so on.

    Sadly, i just dont think its going happen. we have tried our best. we just dont have what we need AKA Zte Ril Source and some other things.
    The reason we dont have ics or jellybean already is Zte's fault. This phone uses Cheap DDR memory. We have had a 3x Kernel working for a while. the problem. our 2.6 kernels do not see most of the ram with ics or jb, Nor does the 3x kernel, this is because ics/jb devices are DDR2/3 memory.
    it just doesnt read the memory right. and we just dont have the coding knowledge to overhaul the code like that. we havent given up. still trying to find help. i just figure it has been in the dark long enough and you should know why.
    the best we can do for now is to make a crazy hybrid rom. Some closed source and aosp apps.

    iam sorry guys. but this is what it is
     

    Advertisement

  2. kraziejedi

    kraziejedi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    51
    37
    23
    Male
    Tech Supprot for a Fruit... lol
    POO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    LilBit likes this.
  3. mercury0x000d

    mercury0x000d The ultra-modern operator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,665
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Hey, at least you're not giving up, and you've given it your best. What more can we ask for?

    Sorry I haven't been more help to your efforts... I wish I knew more about the Linux world.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  4. mercury0x000d

    mercury0x000d The ultra-modern operator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,665
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Okay, so I was thinking...

    Of course I'm not calling anyone wrong here, but it just doesn't make sense to me. In the PC world (I know this isn't quite a PC we're dealing with here, lol) I know it doesn't matter what kind of memory you have in the box - you write all the code the same. The differences in hardware are handled by the memory controller. Now, I believe Snapdragon has a memory controller included on-chip, and therefore shouldn't care what kind of memory it's attached to. A further illustration of this point can be found in the case of the Warp versus the Sequent. Both run the MSM8655, and both therefore have the same memory controller. Yet the one runs ICS, the other GB.

    The Linux kernel should see all memory just the same, shouldn't it? I can see where not having all the source is a huge issue, but I just don't get how the memory type could be affecting the code.

    Like I said, I'm not starting an argument here, I'm just trying to understand things better, and maybe help out if I can.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  5. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    A hybrid rom can spark the motavation for others on the warp. I say release one and let the snow ball roll.. ill do what i can to help as well :)





     
    LilBit likes this.
  6. croy2007

    croy2007 Resident Punisher
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012

    Jul 24, 2012
    520
    373
    113
    Disabled
    Central TN, USA
    If I can do anything to help just PM me.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  7. PsyMega

    PsyMega Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    779
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    779
    345
    113
    Male
    Popper Slave @ Amusement Attractions Carnival Buis
    Middle of No Where
    This is the reason I got the sequent, I felt this thread coming ( or something similar ) and I didn't want to be around with a dead device wondering what's next. And DM, your right I don't know exactly what a hybrid rom is but I am down for whatever if it keeps a community from dying!
     
    aaanadie and LilBit like this.
  8. Dm47021

    Dm47021 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,472
    2,114
    323
    Male
    tech.
    coloma mi
    I have to agree. It defies all logic. Example. 2.6.35.7 kernel works fine in gingerbread.. we set up for ics and the memory is missing. We port the sequent kernel... same result.. so thought it was the rom... port the sequent rom.... same result... I have built gingerbread aosp ... memory is fine.. we tried caf ics ... same result.. something is funny
     
    mercury0x000d and LilBit like this.
  9. Manodedios

    Manodedios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    322
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012

    Sep 12, 2012
    322
    52
    53
    Virginia
    Coming from the PC world...memory makes a huge difference. The sequent does NOT use the same ram. Likely due to the same reason. It has slightly more but the big diff. is that its faster... likely to the same issues cheap zte opted for the better ram to make ICS run.

    If the sequent goes on sale again soon for the 99$ price I may jump but if not, once I get my tax return comes I'll likely upgrade to a better phone. I love my warp. Its my first android but eventually we will all be upgrading.
     
    LilBit likes this.
  10. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,306
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    So, What it boils down to then is the warp doesn't have the hardware to run ics or jb.:thinking:
     
  11. Dm47021

    Dm47021 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,472
    2,114
    323
    Male
    tech.
    coloma mi
    Yeah, ive looked at the code many times. the only thing i can figure out is it is because ddr2 is dual channel and ddr is single channel, still it shouldnt make a difference. but zte hard coded something into the board file.

    I will post it on here so those of you how know C can look at it, maybe even figure it out.

    do a search for #ifdef CONFIG_ZTE_PLATFORM
    and you will likely see the memory hack,

    board-zte-arthur.c
     
    LilBit likes this.
  12. downthemachine

    downthemachine Developer Incognito
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    2,940
    1,727
    333
    Mobile Electronics Installer/Shop Manager
    Minnesota
    I racked my brain for a month on the ram, dm wouldn't let go and continued looking for ever lol.

    It is what is
     
    Smoothkaos, Manodedios and LilBit like this.
  13. LilBit

    LilBit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    5,865
    3,306
    533
    Female
    U.S.A.
    :banghead::banghead:
     
  14. downthemachine

    downthemachine Developer Incognito
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    2,940
    1,727
    333
    Mobile Electronics Installer/Shop Manager
    Minnesota
    As dm said, its the phone. That's the conclusion that we came to. Now though we said its probably not gonna happen, both dm and I usually just don't give up. So maybe someday. Anyways, there are other things in the works.
    Soon :p
     
  15. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
    I'm not ready to give up... just picked up a kyocera rise c5156 it to has the snapdragon 1ghz and ics and what seems to be 512 mb of ddr... I just just picked it up... I'm trying to root it.... or at least pull the system from it.... there is a lady singing but I cant see her and I'm not sure shes fat... :p
     
  16. Dm47021

    Dm47021 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,472
    2,114
    323
    Male
    tech.
    coloma mi
    You can probably root with this tool.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1886460
     
  17. Dm47021

    Dm47021 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,472
    2,114
    323
    Male
    tech.
    coloma mi
    BTW, we still hate eachother.... the Feud continues lol......inside joke
     
    downthemachine likes this.
  18. Dm47021

    Dm47021 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,472
    2,114
    323
    Male
    tech.
    coloma mi
    Well, it can run ics and jb very nicely. but something just isnt right.
    we have determined ZTE are master Hackers. The code for the memory is very hacky, to boil it down into simple terms, ZTE hacked the kernel to run on Cheap DDR Memory, Where ICS/JB are meant for Higher End Device with DDR2/DDR3
    if anyone out there has knowledge enough to help, feel free to contact Me or Downthemachine.
     
    MrBobo likes this.
  19. Skinnyjeans21

    Skinnyjeans21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    2,617
    1,796
    333
    Male
    High School Senior and Professional Sleeper
    Houston, TX
    I know this will probably sound very absurd but.... why not just ask ZTE how they did it or ask for the working source??? :eek: its worth a shot :p
     
  20. drewhill77

    drewhill77 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    662
    206
    93
    Truck Driver (Local/Regional)
    Indianapolis, IN

    We have working source...
     
  21. Manodedios

    Manodedios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    322
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012

    Sep 12, 2012
    322
    52
    53
    Virginia
    Just as example for you...so far I've seen zte release source on the warp and sequent.... neither was working and took Devs time to fix the crap code zte intentionally made nonfunctional
    Does that answer your question?
     
  22. drewhill77

    drewhill77 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    662
    206
    93
    Truck Driver (Local/Regional)
    Indianapolis, IN

    That was true for the initial release of the source and we were using modded blade/fury source...but the source currently provided by zte is compilable as is and I believe is the base for both custom kernels.
     
  23. Manodedios

    Manodedios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    322
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012

    Sep 12, 2012
    322
    52
    53
    Virginia
    My point is not really that they finally provided working source but the unlikely scenario where zte gets there head out there arse and actually helps the end user
     
  24. drewhill77

    drewhill77 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    662
    206
    93
    Truck Driver (Local/Regional)
    Indianapolis, IN

    Well the problem isn't zte but boost and more specifically the contract preventing them from providing non-approved updates for our phone. Not to mention the funky hybridized caf source code zte used lol...I did see a rom for another phone with an msm cpu that had a hybrid caf/aosp/cm source...
     
  25. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
    I was thinking about that and what about public mobile....the phone was just released a few months ago...
     

Share This Page

Loading...