1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Boost Mobile] Working ROMS/MODS/KERNELS/MODEMS/ECT for the Boost S3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wetbiker7, Sep 22, 2013.

  1. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    If you're talking about weak AOSP ROM signal and it being addressed, it's just one of the inherent issues with AOSP based ROMS. Bro, it's been that way for 4 years now that I know of. I noticed it with CM7 on my Prevail. If it were something simple, it would've been taken care of by now. ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    AOSP Roms don't lie about your signal strength.

    Many stock roms do to make the carrier look better. Its really as simple as that in some cases
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  3. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    I've remember seeing that a while ago probably also read it somewhere but I've noticed in some cases Asop roms don't hold signals at all (at least the newer builds) in weak areas they disconnect and keep reconnecting and searching for the network all the time especially if I'm not connected to WiFi it wasn't an noticeable issue on the earlier builds of LS and omni but now it always happens while tw roms don't do this they lie a lot telling me I have almost 2 sometimes 3bars and 3g while I know I have 1 bar and I'm on 1x lol but they stay connected to the network
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Kouma, Bloodawn, and I talked about this a few years ago when I was new to Android and they broke it down for me how AOSP based ROMS actually do provide a more accurate signal display.

    The fact still remains that AOSP based ROMS do not pick up signal as well as stock based ROMS. I've flashed AOSP based ROMS and had no signal at all. I mean the big red X. No signal. I would then flash a stock based ROM and be able to make calls. I've had this happen with my Prevail, Marquee, and S3.

    Thankfully new towers are being added and the older ones are being upgraded daily. They are working on the one in my area again. It looks like they've done something to help boost the signal again which is nice to see. :)
     
  5. alpha2k

    alpha2k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    930
    114
    93
    I wouldn't say either one lies or is deceiving at all, Just a simple fact, anything aside from TW roms simply just don't have the signal strength. I've tried almost every rom out for both the s2 and this s3 and everything always had a lower bar/signal than TW did. Not sure exactly or what TW does different than others do not it works whatever it is.

    The fact that even the cm team can't replicate the signal the same as TW does says it's deeper rooted than they can even fix. And this is coming from a big team to, they have even expanded this last yr adding a few more people, makers of very popular big roms are in the cm team now and they still haven't fixed it like TW is.

    I just ended up chalking it up to the fact that some things non TW just aren't as good as TW itself is, while they do work they just don't work as good.
     
  6. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male
    Yeah you'll are both right I just broke it down to both roms have positives and negatives it just all depends on what you want and how much your willing to sacrifice

    For example even on Android 4.4 tw wicked x my battery will drain in about 4 maybe 5 hrs if I don't underclock it and use a different launcher because tw is a battery annihilator lol but its okay I just use my battery case and keep the phone undercooked and use the Google now launcher
    This doesn't mean the rom isn't any good and vice versa for Asop roms they have bugs and signals usually not picking up as good and maybe it's just me but the camera also seems to be lacking compared to tw camera
     
  7. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Hey everyone. I just found something a few of you may find helpful.

    Do you have an extended battery?

    Does it seem like it's not holding a charge or lasting as long as it used to?

    I did.

    I have a 7000mAh Zerolemon. After switching to Kit Kat, I noticed that my battery wasn't lasting as long as it did in the past. Well, I found out why. My phone registered a full 100% charge. I went into data/system / and deleted batterystats.bin. I then rebooted my phone and found that it was now registering 80% for the battery. I've left it on the charger and is now up to 90% and still charging.

    My phone was registering a 100% charge when in fact its true charge was only 80%. I was losing 20% of my battery. Sucks huh? Yep. I thought so too. Lol

    I just found this out and wanted to share it with everyone. All you need to do is let your phone charge until it reads 100%. Then, go in and delete the batterystats.bin and reboot. :D
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    This "issue" has been around for years, and its not just on Samsung devices.

    CM isn't trying to replicate touchwizs signal strength, they're trying to display it accurately. On some touchwiz Roms you'll even see signal strength indicator fixes listed in the OP to show you true strength.

    Theres documented cases all over. Sprint in particular is bad about this. On stock based ROMs on many devices the signal strength displayed is actually the voice strength, not the data strength. There's even open source AOSP code for the nexus 5 detailing lying about being on 1x vs 3g, as well as cases lying about signal strength.



    http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/1...r-on-your-sprint-nexus-5-may-be-lying-to-you/

    http://s4gru.com/index.php?/topic/2...to-determine-your-actual-lte-signal-strength/


    Flashing a Rom does not change the radios, only how they interact or display information from them. It therefore follows that a ROM by itself can't change the strength of the signal its receiving from a tower.
     
    steelyus1 likes this.
  9. unotlikeme

    unotlikeme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    277
    90
    53
    Male
    Carpentry Demolition Contractor
    Connecticut
    I noticed this with my new s3 my battery dies so quickly thanks for the fix biker waiting for 100% now to clear those stats and see whats up.

    Thats some valuable info right there you should add it to the MISCELLANEOUS section!
     
    Rxpert83 and wetbiker7 like this.
  10. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    10-4. I'll get it added to the miscellaneous section.

    I knew something was up. It blew my mind to find out I was actually losing a full 20%. I'm fully charged now. It'll be interesting to see how much time I get on this charge. :)

    ___________________

    UPDATE!!

    UPDATED THE MISCELLANEOUS SECTION WITH INFO ON HOW TO RESET YOUR BATTERYSTATS.BIN.
     
    unotlikeme and Rxpert83 like this.
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    That is strange :thinking:

    Isn't the batterystats.bin supposed to be wiped on its own each time the phone reaches a full charge?

    I wonder if you might see the same results if you charged it while powered down.
     
  12. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I tried it powered down and it said my battery was fully charged. I turned it on and the battery immediately registered 70%.

    Somehow something isn't working the way it should. The test above was done with Wicked-X.

    I flashed the Singularity ROM and it registered 100%. I cleared battery stats, rebooted and the battery registered 80%.

    I will continue to keep and eye on it and report.
     
    steelyus1 and unotlikeme like this.
  13. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,779
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,779
    3,759
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    If your using a ZL 7k battery it's a known issue that's been brought up several times around here and xda.

    Only flaw ZL has.
     
    steelyus1 likes this.
  14. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    Sorry been on vacay driving so not able to chime in while reading the threads.


    Dragon slayer is right, same issue with my ZL 7K. Will have to find the thread, but read on the ZL forum that its an issue with many models.

    Its the batt and not the ROMs.:D
     
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I
    The funny thing is that I didn't start having trouble until I flashed the Kit Kat update. Lol

    I've been switching back and forth between my stock batteries and the ZL and I haven't really noticed it until now. Hmmmmmm.

    I wonder if a battery calibration would work? Yeah, I know. Some people say that BS. I'm pretty sure most battery calibration apps just delete the battery stats. LMAO. Who knows. I do have a battery app which allows me to choose the mAh of my battery. I may try it.
     
    steelyus1 likes this.
  16. smith058

    smith058 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1,357
    527
    213
    SoCal
    Every time you flash a rom or restore a rom you should reset your battery stats file...

    When you made a backup of your rom your battery was at a different charge than when you restored that same rom. Same goes for when a Dev releases a rom it was saved at a different charge than when you flashed it...

    Best way to go is to always backup/restore/flash on a 100% charge or else after a flash completely charge then delete the file then run the battery completely dead then charge more than 100% again. First option is much easier and will keep it close enough to accurate.


    Unless Rxpert83 is right and it does actually automatically delete the file, I never heard that myself. But I have noticed batteries not lasting as long after some flashes and restores with all my phones all the way back to the prevail. I learned this trick on the transformer, there are also apps to reset the stats too.
     
    kevindroid and wetbiker7 like this.
  17. steelyus1

    steelyus1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014

    Apr 9, 2014
    103
    37
    43
    Male
    Network Engineer
    Austin, TX
    My stock batt does fine. And my ZL has been doing it since the 4.3 update.

    Never had a calibration do anything for me personally. But hey, means it won't hurt to try. Lol

    Hopefully its just the 4.3+ firmware that is the issue. Kinda like this batt.
     
  18. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Thanks for the input guys.

    Also..... I just did a little research and I was correct. Most battery calibration apps just delete the batterystats.bin. Lol. Pressing one tab to calibrate is easier than navigating to the actual bin to do it. That's for sure. LOL. :D

    I need to cycle my battery a few times too. I say I started having this issue when I flashed the Kit Kat update. Well, that's when I started swapping from the ZL to stock batteries a lot too. It may just need a good old battery cycling.

    This will take awhile but I'll report back with my findings.
     
    kevindroid and steelyus1 like this.
  19. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    My comments were based on those expressed by google engineer Diane Hackborn here:
    https://plus.google.com/105051985738280261832/posts/FV3LVtdVxPT

    In that post, she says batterystats.bin is reset every time you charge your phone to completion, and the phone does not get battery % remaining from that file. Its basically used for the app percentages used in the battery usage screen, and that's it.

    It also means for most cases wiping battery stats (with an app or manually) is useless ;). Its wiped each time the phone charges above 90%.
    --------------------------------------------------------
    Everything following ive been adding on as Edits from the comments of that post:

    And why trust her on all of this?
    Basically, battery % comes from the battery itself in "smart" batteries or from the kernel calculating it.


    - -----_------------------------------------------------

    So what does all of this mean? Its likely either the zero lemon is reporting its own charge levels wrong, or the kernel is calculating the charge wrong because its expecting a different sized battery than is actually there.

    Remember - battery percentages are nothing but estimates. Estimates are always based on a set of assumptions. If any of those assumptions are wrong - the estimate is wrong.
     
    mydian, smith058 and steelyus1 like this.
  20. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I'm not saying she's wrong or anything. I'm just going on what I am seeing with my phone.

    My phone reported it had reached a full charge yesterday. I wipe the bin and rebooted. My battery then displayed an 80 % charge. I put it back on the charger and let it finish charging.

    I've still got at least another day or so before I'll charge it again. I'm hoping it will allow a full charge this time. We'll see.
     
    steelyus1 and Rxpert83 like this.
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I'm not disagreeing with what you're seeing, my intent was just providing the background for why Im confused by that seemingly having an effect. :)
     
    wetbiker7 and steelyus1 like this.
  22. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I'm somewhat familiar with information similar to what you provided regarding the batterystats.bin. That's why I'm confused too. The chances of it happening on 2 separate ROMS are very slim. That's why I am leaning towards an issue with the update itself. It's possible that it's having trouble gaging the larger extended batteries.

    Here's the thing. I not only waited until my phone registered 100% in the status bar , I waited until the phone actually gave me the battery's full charge notification in the pull down. That's when I wiped the bin, rebooted and it was showing 80%.
     
  23. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    UPDATE!!

    The Conquest: Singularity ROM has been updated to v3.0.

    If any of you are looking for a TW ROM that has an AOSP twist, this is a ROM you may want to check out. It comes with an Aroma installer which allows you to choose whether or not you want AOSP apps or TW apps.

    I have ran this ROM and it runs great.

    Comadose and Xposed Framework work well with it too.
     
  24. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    Mine did that too a while back. I got a zerolemon charger and a 2700 ZL spare battery. I use the big one till dead, then charge and then put in small one, which will last 2 days. Then put big one in (and charge little one), it will almost last a week, even with heavy use here and there. So I can't say as I have not plugged my phone in to charge in about 4 months.
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  25. HiiiPowers

    HiiiPowers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012

    Sep 24, 2012
    678
    214
    93
    Male

    I saw Asop twist downloading now lol
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...