1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Boost One SV Wi-Fi issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheOdomProject, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Ello, Android Forums! So for quite a while now, I've had an issue with the wifi on my device, and can't find a fix! My phone connects no problem to ad-hoc networks, such as hotspots from other phones, but will not connect to any wireless routers! I've tried all sorts of factory resets, different roms, even restoring it to stock without root, all to no avail. Has anyone had any issues like this before? Some help would be appreciated, as is this phone is scrap.
     

    Advertisement

  2. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    hi, TheOdomProject,

    you may use the official RUU for your device.

    what is your device's code name?

    what carrier?
     
  3. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    I have the Boost Mobile version, k2_CL
     
  4. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    here is the official RUU


    K2_CL RUU

    if you need the fastboot rom.zip
    because your running a Linux distro let me know if not just double click the RUU.exe while your device is plugged in via USB.
     
    TheOdomProject likes this.
  5. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Alright, thank you, I'll give it a go n report back, its downloading now.
     
  6. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    sure thing, good luck
     
  7. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Dude, nice! tried everything else, that seems to have worked! now to see if i can do a custom rom again n it still work xD
     
  8. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    great to hear, just reflash custom recovery and root away!
     
  9. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    You wouldn't happen to have a twrp image, would you? None of simonsikle's links seam to work anymore
     
  10. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    twrp2.img

    here you go
     
    TheOdomProject likes this.
  11. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    thanks again! i couldnt find it ANYWHERE!
     
  12. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    this is the build I use, works flawlessly.....
     
  13. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Problem's back, restoring with the RUU only fixes it for 10 minutes or so. Hmm starting to look like a paper weight
     
  14. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    ok, make sure you uncheck the stupid connection optimize option....it will pick whatever data is "better" even if you want Wi-Fi, if it "feels" as if your 4g connection is better, it will automatically change
     
  15. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    always do, ive tried every single setting available wireless related, wifi optimization on/off, airplane mode on with wifi, mobile data on or off, everything. ive had this problem for 2 months now, I've had a lot of time to test different settings xD
     
  16. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    can you verify that the 2 "gold" pins built into the back cover are making contact and/or not broken or dirty......
     
  17. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Huh... they were pretty clean, but after cleaning them off anyway, n givin it a reboot it connected right up. I'll have to see if its bein intermittent or not, but interesting suggestion!
     
  18. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    keep me posted!
     
  19. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Nope, dead.
     
  20. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    hmm, nothing else comes to me of the top of my head.....

    are you still using stock boot.img?
     
  21. TheOdomProject

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    not sure ive ever changed the boot.img. i flashed that twrp2 image to recovery, then used that ruu again when it stopped working again
     
  22. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    using the RUU will put the device back to stock everything.

    try only using RUU to make device stock again without changing anything else and during the setup wizard choose to disable the connection optimizer and test Wi-Fi like this.

    if it still borks out on you, possible hardware issue, but test this way first....

    no root, just good ol factory ROM, boot, recovery......

    so we can determine hardware vs software issue
     
  23. Kreatur3

    Kreatur3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    353
    139
    68
    Unrelated but was wondering if running the RUU clears int sd. Figured it did but wanted to confirm.
     
  24. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    nope
     
    Kreatur3 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...