1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Boost throttle lets remove it!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SelfElevated2, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Well guys and girls it's time to remove boosts ability to throttle us. I'm on a mission. Anyone else that wants to look into this is welcome to throw in imput. Could there be a file to remove with root explorer? Maybe just change it's permissions? Ideas to throw around?
     

    Advertisement

    D'Sharp likes this.
  2. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    Well I have removed the files in the /data/system/throttle and changed the folder's permissions to r and x only, and also removed proxies in the DATA/others/multimedia menu. I haven't hit 2.5gig in a month yet. I am getting good 3g speed 1767kbps last time I checked. (haven't tested 4g yet as the only 4G spot around me is on the other side of town next to a Hospital). As I have read, you will get better data speeds if you switch to a repacked kernel instead of the AGAT source built, but I can't confirm that.
     
    D'Sharp and LilBit like this.
  3. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Yea im not to 2.5 either.. im at 1gb.. im working on 2.5 so I can test things. I definitely use way more than 2.5 a week so shouldn't be a problem. Ill give your method a go as soon as I hit 2.5. Yea im using the agat jb repack on fk23 goodness rom. Ill document curent speeds now and after 2.5 with screenshots from the same place as well
     
  4. greg schmeg

    greg schmeg Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012

    Oct 8, 2012
    531
    157
    93
    Male
    Orlando FL
    We're such pirates. Lmao I love it.
     
  5. mhannah3333

    mhannah3333 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    306
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    306
    105
    68
    nashville tn
    Has anyone reached the data limit yet?
     
  6. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    I haven't but then I am on WiFi a lot (poor signal at home)
     
  7. dhabell

    dhabell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    227
    12
    38
    attorney
    Jax, FL
    Im not even close. 438MB
     
  8. j61101

    j61101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    111
    13
    38
    There has been a company wide (Boost) throttle on all data past 2GB on the 17th. Im assuming that is not a local file but that boost is counting and slowing you down.
     
  9. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #129
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    I don't usually go near that, since most of my time I'm on wifi usually... 3G speeds at home just suck.

    I wasn't intentionally trying to get a 4G phone, but this one ended up being it for me. depending on my spot when I'm in Orlando, 4G through speedtest app is about as fast as my home wifi using FiOS. That's nothing to sneeze at, for sure.

    Posting to keep eyes peeled and see if anything develops. :)
     
  10. mhannah3333

    mhannah3333 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    306
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    306
    105
    68
    nashville tn
    I'm at about 7gb so far this month and I'm not throttled yet.. I removed multimedia proxies and changed to sprint apn and removed contents of /data/data/system/throttle. Also set permissions of throttle folder to "r--------". Currently running pacman 19.3 with justunbean inverted gapps
     
  11. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    I know it's tough to be exact, but how much of that 7gb would you divide into 3g vs 4g?

    The reason I ask: when I bought my first boost 4g phone in November 12, the boost rep told me I would have 2.5gb of 4G data to use up. AFTER I used that I would be throttled to 3G speeds. (I could live with that)

    I know that is very different than the text we all got a month or so ago which just seemed to indicate after reaching the data limit (whether it be through 3g OR 4g) you will throttle way down, but I'm still not 100% clear, especially after what the rep told me a few months ago.

    I haven't removed any settings yet but have been laid up all month after surgery so have been purely wifi and unable to really test any of this.
     
  12. exgenmeikoj

    exgenmeikoj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Wrong thread
    I posted in here by mistake
     
  13. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Yea I don't know if we can actually remove the throttle because as someone said its prolly not done over the phone. That's why I just let this post go. But I too removed proxies and am on sprints apn. Haven't seen throttling yet.
     
  14. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    Well who all has gotten past 2.5 gig in a month? I know I haven't
     
  15. guyphs

    guyphs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    269
    116
    68
    I don't know that they're actually throttling yet. My message said they would begin offering the throttled plans on the 20th, meaning that unless the end of your previous billing cycle fell before that date, you still have the remainder of your billing cycle on unlimited
     
  16. prmax

    prmax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    135
    21
    38
    Male
    IT Manager
    Florida
    How do you determine how much data you are using?
     
  17. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    Settings>Data Usage.
     
    prmax likes this.
  18. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Lol I use wifi everywhere so I don't know if I will even hit 2.5gb.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    I'm in the same boat lol. I am on Wi-Fi most of the time and even make phone calls on it with my Google number using Groove IP
     
  20. prmax

    prmax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    135
    21
    38
    Male
    IT Manager
    Florida
    After a week with my S2 I am at 21MB. I always try to connect via wifi if I can so I will probably never get close to 2.5GB.
     
  21. Krowbarr

    Krowbarr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    179
    36
    43
    Male
    Oneonta, New York
    Okay, so I'm over 4 gigs now, and my new month doesn't begin until the 19th. No throttling yet. I haven't made any attempt yet to remove it either...
     

    Attached Files:

    SelfElevated2 likes this.
  22. jlcarrell78

    jlcarrell78 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012

    Oct 14, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Male
    taxi driver
    wilmington nc
    i am WAY over 2.5Gb im more like 200Gb+ all on 3g and have not seen any throttling
     
  23. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    in one month? Talk about drawing attention to yourself. I read one post in the Prevail forum about someone that got a warning from Boost about tethering, and he was high on data usage too.
     
  24. boricuakiller

    boricuakiller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    1,157
    73
    128
    Male
    muisic producer at bad seed family
    puerto rico
    i dont thinks is possible to stop boost from tracking your internet
     
  25. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    Sure you can, just go WiFi lol. Yeah they can count data that is not hard for them to setup. I personally think it would be a bad idea for them to throttle at 2.5gig, that could turn customers away.
     

Share This Page

Loading...