1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root boot animations

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by InsaneDDay, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Thanks, any idea how to set this in a flashable zip? Well my rom to be exact? I need it to be set to work the minute it boots for first time. Ive tried editing my updater script but it error 6's on me
     

    Advertisement

  2. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Here's what I do with my themes, it may work for your rom. After I have the flashable zip, I open it with 7zip, but I don't extract it. Then I drag and drop the new bootanimation to the correct location. Next I close 7zip, then I use the zipsigner utility from XDA to resign the zip. Profit! Give it a shot, worst case scenario is you're still in the same boat you're in now.
     
  3. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Thats a really good idea. I was able to get a "patch" for it with UOT. Im working on a theme now :D
     
  4. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Cool, can't wait to see some screenies! My wife won't let me root her Wildfire yet, she's only had it for two days now, but I can see the writing on the wall. It's only a matter of time. When that time comes I plan on using your ROM, unless Cyanogen is ready for the WS by then.... ;)
     
  5. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Now that i have updated my sense rom im working on CM ;) anyways, ill try to get screen shots up when i can
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  6. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Thanks, I'll be watching for it!
     
  7. scubaman

    scubaman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    With the original boot animation (Sprint_bootanimation.zip) I am able to use a different sound. When I replace the boot animation though I loose the sound. For downanimation both animation and sound work. Does anyone have full control over all aspects of this? I understand the structure of the bootanimation zip, but I have no idea what triggers the sound to play. Perhaps they key it off a filename when they trasnition from part0 to part1?

    Got it! It keys off the folder Sprint. Rename from part0, part1 to android, Sprint (update desc.txt of course) and it triggers the sound.
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  8. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I wouldn't have gone looking for it myself, but good to know.
     
  9. scubaman

    scubaman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    Well, getting rid of the annoying 'Virgin Mobile' was the most important thing, but then it nagged me that it didn't quite behave as expected :)
     
  10. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Also if you want I found where sprint screwed with all this.of course if you remove their changes it is what all vanilla HTC devices do.

    Sent from my HTC_A510c using Tapatalk
     
  11. scubaman

    scubaman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    so... where? I've not looked for it but it's nice to know
     
  12. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    I was totally reworking my rom (literally from the boot.img up) and found the reference in /system/customize/cid/default.xml
    Remove the lines refering to boot animations and you will go to stock htc settings. Also check out my new bugless rom. Its killer speed and everything. Managed to get hardware acceleration and overclocking. Apps2sd with a gui. Best so far and best, no bugs. Working wifi mms and added tuns of features. ANd de-virginmobiled it lol
     
  13. scubaman

    scubaman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    thx!
    And where exactly would I find said ROM? I'd be happy to give it a whirl - I wasn't having any luck with your stock ROM as you may recall ;-) I saw your post over on xda saying 'updated rom enjoy' but where?
     
  14. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Check here. I updated my op on this forum. It's titled tutorials

    Sent from my HTC_A510c using Tapatalk
     
  15. scubaman

    scubaman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    Too funny :eek: Can I make a suggestion? When you edit an old post, and update a link, could you put a date next to that? "latest version updated 2/21/12"
     
  16. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Need noted and implimented lol let me know of any and all thoughts on the.Rom

    Sent from my HTC_A510c using Tapatalk
     
  17. scubaman

    scubaman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    Just a quick note that I installed the ROM and this one booted and all is well at this point! Unfortunately I am buried in a computer rebuild that is not going well so can't spend a lot of time on it. Anyway - thanks!
     
  18. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Thanks for the feed back

    Sent from my HTC_A510c using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...