1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Boot looping :/

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gagamonstar, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. gagamonstar

    gagamonstar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Today i s-offed my evo v and, i changed the H-boot to 1.5. The problem is now it will not boot any rom. I was lucky it ran a back up i had. Does anyone have any ideal on whats happening?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sushiseru

    sushiseru Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    HA. I just had this problem last night.

    I used the wire trick, S-off'ed, and attempted to install the Negalite ROM.

    Phone booted, and then would not stop looping. If you can boot into the Bootloader, and then Recovery (I used the PG86IMG.zip with Touch Recovery b/c it is the ish).

    Here is what I did:

    1. Followed the steps here AFTER the S-OFF'ing.
    http://androidforums.com/evo-v-4g-a...thread-virgin-mobile-htc-evo-v-4g-aka-3d.html

    a. I used the PG86IMG with Touch Recovery, because it is honestly easier than attempting to touch those tiny poor excuses of buttons they call power, and volume.
    (This one:
    TWRP touch recovery ( please see TeamWin Projects - TWRP 2.3 - HTC Evo 3D (CDMA) | TeamWin )
    VM_OTA-1.14_Hboot-jb1.50_twrp-233_PG86IMG.zip - 16.35 MB )

    b. Since you are already S-OFF, simply follow the directions on that page.

    2. Pick your ROM. Boot to recovery, and install the ROM -- I choose Harmonia due to it common-use, and wipe the cache and a few times. The first time you wipe the cache it won't mount properly, but it will the second time. Wipe the dalvik too. Don't let the ROM wipe it for you!

    3. Install the ROM.

    For me, I installed Harmonia right on top of Negalite r109, obvious issued occurred, but the PHONE BOOTED. Then I just installed Negalite, and used the Recovery ROM to wipe.
     
  3. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    What Rom are you trying to run?
     
  4. gagamonstar

    gagamonstar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    what did you do?????
     
  5. gagamonstar

    gagamonstar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    DIrty Unicorn
     
  6. sushiseru

    sushiseru Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Sorry! Steps posted. I don't know if they will help yuo!
     
  7. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    Are you wiping everything before you flash?
    Are you using 4ext ?
    Are you on hboot jbear 1.50.5050?
     
  8. gagamonstar

    gagamonstar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Im using TWRP. and yes im wipping everything
     
  9. gagamonstar

    gagamonstar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    i see the steps now ( computer acting up and didnt show them at first). thats the fourm i used in the first place. You think i should just repeat the the hboot update?
     
  10. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    No need to repeat the hboot flash if you're successfully on 1.50.50, just a personal preference but I definitely recommend 4EXT recovery with this device. :D
    OB
     
  11. gagamonstar

    gagamonstar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT WORKED! i switched to 4ext and it worked! its amazing! thank you thank you thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:smokingsomb:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...