1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root bootloader after brick?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sixthspeed, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. sixthspeed

    sixthspeed Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    26
    2
    16
    So I'm trying to unbrick my OV and I'm having the same problem stated in this thread: Safely and Easily unbrick your LG Optimus V - xda-developers

    I'm trying to go through the fixes but I'm stuck on step 5 where I use "adb reboot bootloader" and instead of bringing me to the blue bootloader screen, it keeps rebooting and going through the "formatting..." messages.

    I'm pretty sure I've got the timing of it right because at first, it would give me a "device not found" error. However, I tried more often and the command seems to go through as it returns a blank line in my command prompt, but all the phone does is reboot and I'm back to the "formatting.." Is there something wrong with my bootloader?
     

    Advertisement

  2. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Sounds like it might be locked. I don't know a fix, but bigsupersquid might.
     
  3. sixthspeed

    sixthspeed Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    26
    2
    16
    Yes, I'm thinking the same thing. I saw this thread:

    [HOW TO] Fastboot on LGP500 - xda-developers

    but the recovery mode time window I have is way too short. I'm also thinking that maybe since I can't even boot into recovery, I can't use bootloader?
     
  4. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    the p500 software has the wrong kernel and mtd partition layout, can't use it.

    if your v came stock with pv5 firmware (all the 2.2.2 froyo v's) then the bootloader is locked and you can't get to it.

    you can try the solution i plowed through here (the part you might be able to use starts around post 26)
     
    sixthspeed likes this.
  5. sixthspeed

    sixthspeed Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    26
    2
    16
    That did the trick! You are a genius bigsupersquid. Thanks so much!
     
    bigsupersquid likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...