1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root bootloader...err...hboot...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Triprock, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Triprock

    Triprock Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    14
    0
    35
    NYC
    ok, so today I was messing around (with my EVO 4G) and wanted to see this hboot in the bootloader, or the bootloader in the hboot *shrugs shoulders* and I held down the down volume button along with the power button. I got into it and looked around, I didn't do anything. Then I wanted to get out of it and reboot the phone and I think (if I can remember) I chose the option 'power down' or something to that effect. Well, the phone shut down and when I booted it up normally, it went into a Safe Mode thing. What is that? Is it normal? and, whats the correct choice to get out and power down the phone?
    Thanks in advance :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    not sure what the safe mode thing is. i just tried that and it just powered off my phone. i usually hit reboot when i'm in hboot(bootloader). what rom are you on?
     
    Triprock likes this.
  3. Cadillac

    Cadillac Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Well, by the sounds of his inexperience of the bootloader, I'd say that he's not running any custom ROM and that he's not rooted. (right?) I would suggest going into bootloader again and see if you see any options about a Safe Mode. If there is none, try using that power down option again and see if it reverts what you did the first time.
     
    Triprock likes this.
  4. Triprock

    Triprock Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    14
    0
    35
    NYC
    No rom :mad: yet

    My hboot says 2.16 so I'm as stock as they come.

    Yes you are right. I have no experience at all, I OTA'd last weekend to 2.3.3 then I stumbled on this forum and YouTube about rooting. All I want to do is root with WiFi but I've been told I shouldn't have updated and I have to wait for the new exploit (if that's what you call it)
    I've been reading up for days about rooting but I think I'm getting more confused as I read :(
    Is there any way I can go back? From 2.3.3?
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nope unfortunately you will have to wait. keep checking back here though, as you will know when an exploit is found cuz this place will blow up!
     
  6. Triprock

    Triprock Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    14
    0
    35
    NYC
    LMAO

    But on a sad note, I wouldn't know what to frikkin do with the new rom if it hit me in the face :(

    I'm still doing my reading...trying to learn...
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Triprock likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...