1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Bootloader not scanning for PC36IMG.zip

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sneek5, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. Sneek5

    Sneek5 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    9
    1
    26
    California
    Hello everyone. I recently tried to flash Cyanogen 7, and not having much experience, I ended up getting stuck in recovery and/or bootloader. This has happened to me before, and back then I fixed it by putting the stock 3.30 in PC36IMG.zip format onto my SD card fixing the problem easily. But I did the same thing this time, but when I go into bootloader it doesn't do the "Scanning for boot images" thing. It just goes directly into the bootloader menu without the red text appearing. So therefore I can't flash the PC36IMG. How do i fix this?
    I really need help with this one :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,873
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,873
    17,824
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    if you can get to recovery, you can restore a backup that is if you made one. what recovery are you using? what zip file do you have exactly?
     
  3. Sneek5

    Sneek5 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    9
    1
    26
    California
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Are you trying to get it to scan in Hboot or Fastboot? I don't believe fastboot scans for the PC36IMG file. Did you get there through the reboot menu or vol-down and power?
     
  5. Sneek5

    Sneek5 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    9
    1
    26
    California
    I am doing the standard vol-down and power to get into hboot.
     
  6. Sneek5

    Sneek5 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    9
    1
    26
    California
    Thanks for the help all, but I put my old 8gb SD card that came with the phone back in (I was using a 32gb) and it worked perfectly!
     
    novox77 likes this.
  7. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,964
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,964
    3,257
    413
    I was about to post that the bootloader scans for files on the SD card, and if the SD card was quirky, it might not even try to do the scan. Glad to see you found the source of the issue. I wonder if there's some way you can get the 32gb card working with the bootloader... have you attempted formatting it (FAT32)?
     
  8. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Yep, that's one of the major causes, like novox said. As to your recovery issue, are you still unable to restore? That almost sounds like you tried to rename a backup, but used characters you shouldn't have. Is that the case?
     
  9. Sneek5

    Sneek5 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    9
    1
    26
    California
    I have formatted the SD card as FAT32 multiple times due to the fact that this SD card has been giving me trouble in every way. It's very sensitive to becoming "Damaged" or "Mounted as ReadOnly". It seems to hate whenever I try to put things on it, like music, or sometimes even just connecting to my computer "Damages" it. It doesn't really bother me that it doesn't work with boot loader, but I need my music.

    And akazabam, I am still unable to restore any of my backups. And no I haven't renamed the backup at all.

    I'm happy that this forum is so helpful, and has you guys on it.
     
  10. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    It sounds like you might have a bad sdcard, there. It could explain everything from PC36IMG.zip files not being found to you nandroid backups not restoring, and especially the other issues you just mentioned. What card is it, and where did you get it?
     
    Sneek5 likes this.
  11. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,964
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,964
    3,257
    413
    I'm actually in the market for a 32gb card, and I need to do a lot more research, because I recall reading a lot last summer about people who had issues with non-stock SD cards in their Evo, especially with cards that were somewhat cheap to obtain. Apparently quality varies widely, or there are certain cards that just don't play nice with the Evo...
     
  12. Havoc40

    Havoc40 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    117
    5
    36
    I'm curious about this information as well on the 32gb cards. I want to start using A2SD as well as putting on my music and all my pictures from my last phone. I'd rather bite the bullet now on a good card, then have a malfunction later.
     
  13. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    To be honest, there are some places where you can get away with being a little cheap, and others where you can't. An sdcard is one place where you're just going to have to shell out the money unless you can find a *legitimate* good deal. You can run into so many issues varying from poor quality to flat out being scammed. If you want to know you're getting a good card, buy a name brand card from a well known retailer. Ebay cards might seem like a good deal, but you never know what you're actually going to get, even if it's a name brand card. Also, if you're going to use a2sd, you'll need to spend the extra money to get a faster card. The real issue there is that just because a card is rated at a particular class, doesn't mean that it will work that well under actual usage. This is especially apparent in poor quality cards. You're just going to have to spend the time reading reviews about various cards, and how they operate under real usage.
     
    Sneek5 likes this.
  14. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,964
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,964
    3,257
    413
    [OFF TOPIC]
    digital A/V cables is an example where you should definitely go the cheap route. Don't ever get suckered into those Monster cables. A typical HDMI cable should cost you around $3. Contrast that with a $70 Monster HDMI cable. I'm posting this here cause I don't want people to be ripped off so blatantly.

    Here's the explanation why you'd be ripped off:
    The purpose of the digital cable is to transfer the digital signal (via electricity, which is inherently analog) from one device to another. A digital signal means that it's just a stream of 1s and 0s. There is no in between. A given bit is either interpreted as 1, 0, or indeterminable There's no such thing as a weak 1 or weak 0. Any cheapo cable will have the conductivity and shielding required to allow the electricity to preserve the data stream. Therefore, your signal is either perfect all the time, or it's crappy. There's no in-between. Your shitty-ass cable either works, or it doesn't. Now, you could get a cable made out of pure gold. Will it work great? Yes. Will you ever lose/corrupt the signal? No. Is it overkill? Yes.

    For the price on 1 cheap cable, you can buy 20+ more replacements for the same cost as the "high quality" cable. And I've yet to have any cheapo $1-3 cables fail on me. They are about 5 years old now.
    [/OFF TOPIC]


    So... back to SD cards... basically what I'm getting is: don't spare the expense since price seems to correlate with quality. Stick with a reputable brand and read what people say/review. Anyone have any recommendations of cards proven to work well with the Evo?
     
  15. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    That is very true, and holds true for almost all cables. Electricity is electricity. That being said, don't go *too* cheap. Power cables that keep falling out are not fun... :p

    Anyway, isn't there a going list of cards that are known to work somewhere? I thought we had one around here somewhere. If not, maybe we should build one. I'm using this card, which is on the high end of both quality and price for a 16 GB card, but it works very, very well - extremely fast, and I haven't had any issues with it. I can't speak to the 32GB version, but I'm sure it's a great card, as well. Of course, it's expensive, but if you need that much storage, and you want to use a2sd at any point, this is the way to go. I'm sure you could cut the cost down a lot by going with something not a class 10.
     
    novox77 likes this.
  16. Havoc40

    Havoc40 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    117
    5
    36
    Thanks for the info, I was looking at those class 10 Patriot cards. Now to decide if I really need 32gb or not.
     
  17. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,964
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,964
    3,257
    413
    BTW akazabam... is that your comment in Amazon for the 16GB card? :)
     
  18. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Nope, not me :). That is freaky, though, as I have an Evo (duh) and I bought it on newegg, not amazon... I swear, though, that's not me, lol.
     
  19. Sneek5

    Sneek5 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    9
    1
    26
    California
    Sorry for the late response, the SD card I have is a Sandisk that I got off of Ebay for $50. If it is bad, well I'll be pretty confused as to why the guy (who appears to sell 32gb MicroSDHC cards exclusively) has 100% positive feedback...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...