1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root bootloop after flashing cm10 rom.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tonko, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. tonko

    tonko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Hi guys,

    I've been using Android phone about 2 weeks now but am in the serious situation now.
    After flashing CM10 rom, it keeps bootloop.
    it keeps looping htc logo first and then cyanogenmod logo animation very shortly.

    what I have done is that,

    first i did root following this thread
    "Complete Newbie's Guide to rooting and flashing Evo V 4G ROMs/Kernels using fastboot"

    and then,
    flashed 'CM10 rom' which is 'cm-10-20120920-UNOFFICAL-shooter.zip'

    I believe I did miss some steps, but I don't know what it is.
    right now just wanna use my cell phone.

    I did try to go back to factory default, so restore Partitions([x]system,[x]data,[x]boot,[x]wimax)from Nandroid Menu on 'teamwin recovery', but it keeps same showing me htc logo and then virgin mobile logo animation very shortly. I did download and then flashed 'JmzStock_VM_Shooter_Odex.zip'. But it's same bootloop. I did wipe cache, Dalvik Cache and Everyting (Data Factory Reset).

    I don't know what to do, somebody please help me to use my cell phone.
    I don't care whatever version is, just want cell phone service back to make calls and texts.

    here is some information from my boot screen.

    "*** UNLOCKED ***
    SHOOTER XC SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT-1.57.0000
    eMMC-boot
    Apr 20 2012, 17: 39: 22"

    Thanks guys.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    You can't flash cm10 while s-on you gotta be s-off for all cm10 roms. All of them will boot loop if you're s-on. And after that you have to flash a lower hboot. You fan flash mobsterz ROM tho.
     
  3. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,376
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,376
    8,657
    1,053
    Drafter
    I think your problem is that you are on Hboot 1.57. Pretty sure Hboot 1.5 or below is required.

    I can see that you are s-on which means you can't lower your hboot as s-off is required to be able to do that.

    Also being s-on, you can't flash a rom with a kernel. Unless you flash through fastboot by booting a recovery or unless you use 4ext recovery with the smart flash feature enabled.

    To get booted back up, take the boot.img out of the jmz rom you flashed. Place it in the folder that contains adb and fastboot on your pc.

    Open a command window in that directory like when you rooted. eg: C:\sdk-tools
    Connect your phone and use command adb reboot bootloader
    Once in fastboot usb mode use command fastboot flash boot boot.img

    That will flash the kernel to the JMZ rom you flashed and get you booted back up.
    Once booted up we can move on to installing 4ext recovery so that you can actually flash roms with kernels and avoid bootloops.

    However, in the case of flashing this rom if it requires a different hboot (which I think it does) you will still get bootloops if you try to flash it because of an incompatible hboot. But with 4ext recovery, you would be able to successfully flash back to the stock rom or restore your backup.
     
    tonko likes this.
  4. tonko

    tonko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks Brian706! You're like a light shinning in the darkness to me!!
    I'll try what you suggested and then post it back later.

    Thanks thIsgUy20 too.
     
  5. tonko

    tonko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Hi Brian706,

    let me ask you something.

    Can I s-off while my phone can't be booted?
     
  6. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,376
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,376
    8,657
    1,053
    Drafter
    Nope. You have to be rooted and running a stock rom to get s-off. You can find more info and instructions here:
    Unlimited.IO

    You have to perform a "wire trick" which you use to cause a short and gain s-off. It's easier than it sounds though :p

    Here's a video as well about the wire trick:
    How to Get S-Off on HTC Evo 3D using Wire Trick! – [Juopunutbear S-OFF] | HTC Evo 4G Hacks!
     
    tonko likes this.
  7. tonko

    tonko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks a lot!
     
  8. tonko

    tonko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    my phone is back now!! thanks Brian706 you're my hero!

    I'm gonna try s-off little later because I'm so afraid of doing something to my phone now.
     
  9. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,376
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,376
    8,657
    1,053
    Drafter
    No problem, glad you're back up and running!! :)

    Take your time. Read and understand, ask questions before starting.

    S-off is a little like life in the sense that with greater freedom, comes greater responsibility. Here is a good little read about s-off and why you need to be a little more careful after you are:
    What is s-off?
    Please be careful

    Not to make it sound scary, just trying to point you toward some info ;)
     
    tonko likes this.
  10. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,376
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,376
    8,657
    1,053
    Drafter
    As long as you are still rooted (you should be) you can download 4ext recovery control trial from the play store and flash the recovery through the app. It will just replace TWRP.

    I'd suggest making a new nandroid backup after installing because a TWRP backup won't be compatible with 4ext.
     
    tonko likes this.
  11. tonko

    tonko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Many Thanks Brian706 !!
    I'll let you know soon after trying s-off.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...