1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root BootStrapper Folder Management

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by B1acku1a, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. B1acku1a

    B1acku1a Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hello all. I am new to rooting/ROM installing. Having fun, these forums have been super super helpful. Thanks.

    I have the Droid 3 Boostrapper installed and have made backups of my system. Can I modify the names of the folders under the /clockworkmod/backup/ folder to better suit my needs? I'd like to be able to easily tell the difference between my rooted stock backup and my Liberty3 ROM backup. Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Yes you can.

    Make sure you put no spaces in or any funky characters. Otherwise, when you try to do a restore, you get a whole lot of nothing.

    Since I had this problem before, I'm always careful about renaming them. This is how my backups look.

    2012.01.05.liberty3
    2011.12.26.norom

    etc...
     
    B1acku1a likes this.
  3. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    Cableguynoe hit the nail on the head. Renaming them has caused me so many headaches. Spaces in particular, from my experience, cause MD5 sums mismatches and the restore fails. Just use periods as spaces and alpha-numeric characters.

    Just a side note here, if you ever have OTA Root Keeper installed and have protected root, go into the app and remove the SuperUser backup from the root of the phone otherwise a nandroid restore will fail. I'm not sure why, nor is the OTA RK app developer, as it's CWM related, but it will cause issues in the event that you ever have root protected.
     
    B1acku1a likes this.
  4. B1acku1a

    B1acku1a Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the responses. No periods or spaces will work just fine for me.
     
  5. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    If you want to break up the names, periods ARE okay. Spaces aren't.
     

Share This Page

Loading...